washi bubbles

I’m just under the wire, but I wanted to get in on all the fun over at CAS-ual Fridays! There’s so much buzz with all the fabulous new design members, how can a challenge junky resist? I love all the new changes, with the facebook girl fridays and fun prizes, too. Here’s my clean and simple birthday card.

I was so incredibly inspired by this card by Jen Rzasa and how she punched out washi tape into the shape of a heart. I had to give it a try. I took a little picture to show you better how I did it. I kept to the Embellish washi tape challenge colors, too. Double duty up in here:)

After a few trial and error attempts, I did learn one REALLY helpful tip. I put my washi tape on sticker sheets, you know, the waxy/shiny paper that stickers can easily be removed from. It was much easier to remove the washi tape after punching it out. So there’s another thing to save in you crafty hoarding, old address label sheet:) (just kidding, don’t hoard, it’s not good, just keep one sheet, that’ll do)

Thanks so much for stopping by! Have a beautiful day!

cardstock: PTI
stamps: doodlebug designs-hampton art
ink: versafine onyx black
washi tape: target, K & Company (smash tape)
26 thoughts on “washi bubbles

  1. Cracking up about hoarding…I just cleaned out my stash and feel like I already need to do it again. Have a bit of a shopping problem! But…back to your card…holy, moly, I LOVE it! So glad you could play with us at CAS-ual Fridays!

  2. I have been playing with the same Washi tape as well… (don’t have yellow/orange though). These circles are just the cutest! So glad that you join the fun with us at CAS-ual Fridays! You rock…I think you know that already!

  3. I’m so happy that my little card inspired you to make this masterpiece! Such a good idea to use a sticker sheet too…I was trying my patience when I attempted to get my heart off of the cardstock I punched it with. I wish I had thought of this!

  4. This is simply delightful!! Love all your patterned circles and their placement with relationship to your sentiment…CAS perfection:)!! Thanks for celebrating with us at CAS-ual Fridays this week:)!!

  5. Seriously, how do you think of these things?!? I haven’t even considered using address labels. But of course, they are … STICKY! I’m thinking they would be perfect for die cutting letters. I hate gluing all the angles, and have never owned a xyron. Plus you can stamp on it beforehand. Hmmmm … thanks for the inspiration!

  6. I subscribe to your blog via e-mail and I just adore the card! Also, BIG THANKS to you for figuring out that helpful little hint!!! Keep on inspiring us…

    TK

  7. I love it! Gotta admit, I’ve been intimidated by washi tape but I looove this idea and your helpful tip too :) Thanks for celebrating with us at CAS-ual Fridays!

  8. Congrats on your VIP Club win, Laura! SOOO happy for you as you’ve a FAB prize from SSS! Happy weekend…BTW check out the Piano Guy’s latest video. It’s not as epic, but it’s good :)

  9. This is awesome Laura…you know exactly where to put those dots to make a perfect card. Congrats on being a favourite at CAS-ual Fridays.

Leave a Reply

