Introducing Building Blocks

Welcome back for my second group post with Papertrey Ink. Today we are featuring the new Building Block stamp set and coordinating dies designed by Nichole Heady.
PTI~Building BlocksThis set is so fun with it’s endless ways to customize and stack the sentiments. On this card I used the dies to create three windows for the stacked sentiments. I also stamped the diagonal stripes for a sunny ombre look against the Tropical Teal cardstock. The flowers were die cut using the new Button Stack dies.
PTI~Building BlocksFor this next card I used one of the solid blocks and stamped it about a thousand times in a spectrum of loveliness. Then I trimmed out a gap to adhere a strip of gold foil cardstock underneath it.
PTI~Building BlocksLook at the beautiful colors and coverage that you get with these inks….what’s not to love? I also wanted to mention how much I adore the typewriter font that is used for these sentiments.
PTI~Building BlocksLaura-Embellishments

I have the opportunity to provide you with your eighth “building block” for the card you can create today for Papertrey Ink’s latest challenge.
Each Design Team member has a basic “building block” options for card making to share with you.  The intent is for you to visit each blog and collect all of the building blocks necessary to create a beautiful card.
Each team member, including myself, has six numbered selections for a specific category.  Roll a die or use a random number generator to select which item number you will need to work with from their list.  If you do not have the supplies for the item you end up with, feel free to roll again.  Collect nine item selections total, one from each team member, and get to work creating your masterpiece!”
AshleyBetsyCristinaDanielleDawnErinHeatherMelissa
Thanks so much for stopping by!

teal window card:
cardstock: stamper’s select white, tropical teal, simply chartreuse, orange zest
ink: true black, orange zest, summer sunrise, harvest gold
stamps: building blocks
dies: button stack dies, building blocks

enamel dots: my mind’s eye

rainbow card:
cardstock: stamper’s select white, gold foil cardstock-DCWV
ink: scarlet jewel, pure poppy, raspberry fizz, hibiscus burst, berry sorbet, melon berry
orange zest, summer sunrise, harvest gold, lemon tart, limeade ice, simply chartreuse, new leaf
aqua mist, hawaiian shore, blueberry sky, winter wisteria, plum pudding, autumn rose, ture black
stamps: building blocks

38 thoughts on “Introducing Building Blocks

  1. Laura…we need a new title for your…queen of color and dies…not very catchy so I’ll keep thinking because your cards always knock my socks off!

  2. These are fabulous Laura! I love them both but I think the first one with the clever negative die-cutting is my favourite. Awesome!!

  3. Lovely cards, Laura; and you’re funny once again – “about a thousand times” – hee hee; you always put a smile on my face and give me a chuckle! Thanks! xo

  4. OK, more negative die cutting (happy) but whoa – the rainbow colors with gold. Fabby. And uh, you gave me a “2″ – rhinestones. That oughta be interesting…

  5. I LOOOOOOOOOOOOVE BOTH of your cards Laura!!! :) The first for the way you used these dies, CUTTING OUT LITTLE WINDOWS! SO COOL! AND the second, did you use VELLUM? I LOOOOOOOOOVE the LOOK!!!!!!!!!! ELEGANT!!!! :)

  6. These are both so beautiful! Love the rich colors and clever design of the first one, but the second one totally stole my heart! Ah such amazing stamping…then a negative gold strip, yes, love everything about it :)

  7. I don’t know how you do it, but every card and project you create is “Over-the-top Gorgeous”, Laura! I love how you played with your stamps and dies on both cards today…so clever to create 3 windows for your sentiment, and the gold strip between your pattern is brilliant! I’m sold on everything…now, I just need a part-time job to pay for it :-)

  8. Cut-outs with the patterned building blocks and sentiments on your first card ~ very striking. Your second card used just about every color ink with fabulous results, but have to admit the strip of gold filling the “gap” is an awesome design. Fabulous work, Laura!

  9. The Building Block set is made for talented stampers like YOU! You knocked it out of the park, Laura! LOVE everything you made for this release (well, every release)!

  10. Gorgeous cards, Laura! I love Building Blocks, I’m imagining all sorts of CAS wonders creating themselves when this set comes to live at my place. I am just sad that the buttons dies sold out before I placed my order, because I love them, too! ;-)

  11. Laura! I have not been able to stop thinking about these two gorgeous cards! I usually have just a few minutes at the start of the day to get through all of the DT blogs and I rarely have time to comment. But when I woke us this morning still thinking about these cards, I just had to let you know! Could you share any tips for how you get such good ink coverage on the solid building blocks stamps? Also for this first card did you just snip off one of the blocks on the die to get that cut?

    Thanks so much!
    Allison T.

Leave a Reply

