It’s a Surprise Baby Shower

Surprise, Surprise! Today we’re hosting a surprise shower/challenge for our fellow Runway gals, Sarah & Cristina, to celebrate the births of each of their precious newborn babies! To make it even more fun, we are doing two cards. One for Sarah’s baby girl, and another for Cristina’s baby boy. Each card has it’s own inspiration photo. So, let’s get to it. Here’s the first inspiration photo:

Isn’t this the cutest little baby girl? I fell in love with her soft sheer skirt, so I tried to make my own by gathering some organza ribbon and wrapping it around a cream onesie. I used one of the dies from the Tiny Fashions set by Clear & Simple Stamps. The sentiment is computer generated. I wanted to personalize it for Sarah’s baby girl. I’ve seen a few pictures of sweet baby Evelyn and she is so perfect in every way with her plump little rosy cheeks. So very happy for you, Sarah!

Now onto the next card. Here’s the inspiration photo for the baby boy’s card:

Can you handle that adorable expression? I love his hip little jacket. I played off of the pattern and added a bit of red since there’s a little bit of red peeking through on his T-shirt. I used the same onesie die and computer generated sentiment to personalize it for Cristina’s baby. I can only image the joy that fills the Kowalcyzk’s home right now as they cuddle with their long awaited blessing. I am so happy for you, Cristina!

There will be two prizes given. Each one will receive a $15 gift certificate of their choice. The winners will be announced on the Tuesday, July 31st.  Participants only need to make one card, inspired by one of the photos, but if you make 2, then you will have 2 entries! I hope you will join us in celebrating and wish Sarah and Cristina all the best on their wonderful new additions!

Make sure and check out what Aga and Jen have made, too!

21 thoughts on “It’s a Surprise Baby Shower

  1. Cute cards! Looking at the cards made me smile…just like looking at babies. People feel safe smiling at babies. Everywhere you go in public, you will see people smile at babies. I try to smile at adults too. Strangers are usually surprised but they will smile shyly back…but only for a moment. Perhaps that initial reaction is a leftover from their time as a baby when everyone smiled at them.

  2. These are just so sweet, Laura! I especially love the little bowtie on the boy onesie! Thanks so much for planning this baby shower with me!! 🙂

  3. Amazing!! Love how you were inspired!! The baby girl card is darling with the organza ribbons and the baby boy card is lovely with the plaid and red bow! Congrats to Sarah and Cristina!

  4. Oh, Laura, these are darling! I love the ribbon skirt and tiny bow tie. And I just have to say that you always choose such great fonts for your computer generated sentiments.

  5. Awwwwww….what. adorable cards! I’ve been working on a onesie myself as a cut out pattern for a baby shower we’re going to in August, so it’s great to get more ideas.

  6. You sneakster! I so love this. In fact, I hope that’s something similar to what he’ll wear for Christmas Mass. Ha! Thank you guys soooooooo much for doing this! Mwah!!

  7. Hi Amy,Thanks for your sweet comment!  The fonts are called: Little Days & Futura Pro LT Light.  You can just google the font name and find a source to download them for free.Thanks so much!-Laura 

  8. I just finished my cards for the baby shower and went to look at the design teams cards. Scary how close are cards are. I am sorry I didn’t even look at yours till I was done. I would not have copied your cards.

  9. Pingback: Welcome Baby’s…. video tutorial for Scrapbook Boutique! | Lostinpaper

Leave a Reply

