10 minute craft dash

CD_12Hello all! Today I’m joining with some of the Paper Smooches DT as we play along with the 10 minute craft dash.

10 minute craft dashFirst off, let me start by saying that, clearly, I am not cut out for a timed challenge. I had to stop the timer three times.
Here’s how it went down:
1. Start the timer.
2. Panic.
3. Stop the timer because Emma needed a pacifer for her baby doll.
4. Turn the timer back on and panic.
5. Grab a handful of dies, matching carstock and a pile of stamp sets.
6. Stop the timer because someone yelled,”Mom, someone stepped on my glasses!” Wonderful, just wonderful.
7. Turn the timer back on. By this time, I’m getting hot so I take off my huge sweater coat that I wear every single day. It’s so sad.
8. Get half way done with my card and realize, “Hey, this isn’t so bad. I’ve got plenty of time.”
9. Stop the timer because I have to go to the bathroom. I only go 50 times a day. It’s no big deal.
10. Finish my card and realize that I hate it.
11. Start over. By this time I’m pretty much shaking under the pressure, but I’m determined to make it work.
12. Stop the timer.
13. Finished right under the wire. Whew, I’m so glad it’s over.

10 minute craft dashSo here’s what I came up with. It’s not my best, but it’s not my worst either. I used the Hickory Leaf die with a sentiment from Chit Chat.I hope you’ll join in the challenge.
Check out the 10 minute craft dash for all the details. There’s a $20 gift certificate from Paper Smooches for the lucky winner!

CD_12_prize

25 thoughts on “10 minute craft dash

  1. Had I not read your {hilarious} break-down of events, I never would have known this had such a story! Your card turned out beautifully, Laura! I am loving that leaf die- it’s such a neat shape!

    I’m so thrilled you were able to join in this 10 Minute Craft Dash with some of the other PS gals.

  2. After all that said, I think this is a darling card. I don’t even think I could get my paper picked out in 10 mins. LOL. Thanks for sharing your great story.

  3. Laura, I am still laughing! Oh, that was so fun to read! 🙂 Giggled through the whole thing – (I’m thinking it was because I could easily relate to most of it – ha!) I do love your end result – such a sweet card!

  4. He he…you are so funny. Loved reading how this card came about! 😀
    Your card is really good! Love the simple design, and the colors are great too! This challenge sounds interesting. I am thinking I should give it a try, and it is a guaranteed 10 minute card, so no time wasted there 🙂

  5. Yeah, Paulina created an animal… it’s a love/hate kinda thing. Ya know it’s good for ya but it’s probably taking minutes off your life when you’re doing it. Your result is a real sweetie pie.

  6. LOL! Laura, you’ve given me a huge smile to start my day! You cracked me up with your story. 🙂 Your card is so cute, and perfectly CAS, and slightly different to your usual work, so I think you should definitely do this again, panic and all. 😉

  7. These challenges sound far too stressful to me!! Think I’ll leave it to capable professionals like you Laura who totally rock this!! Can’t believe you managed such an awesome card within ten minutes, and that’s after starting it over too!!

  8. Ha!! That was hilarious!! I make sure my kids are plopped in front of Disney Jr. before I start these challenges.. luckily, Mickey can hold their attention for at least the 10 minutes I need!

    I LOVE your card – the washi just makes it for me. Simple, but striking and so gorgeous. I am so glad you got to play with us, and now that you know it wasn’t SO awful (panic is like free cardio, right?), maybe you’ll even do it again? *wink*

  9. You crack me up! This card is gorgeous but I’m so glad to hear your crafting time goes a bit like mine does 🙂 I should set a timer for every project I do and that way I’ll really know how long it takes me to get something done – lol!!

  10. LOL I swear that’s exactly what was going on in my craft room while I was trying to create my project – minus the whole pacifier, smashed glasses, peeing thing! LOL The panic was definitely present in my craft room, too! Cute, cute, cute end result, Laura – I ADORE it!!

  11. I love your card but Laura your play by play had tears coming to my eyes from laughing. I could totally relate to all of it… crafting while the kids are awake is an adventure in itself! HA! thanks for the laughs today.

  12. Ha! I guess doing this challenge as a mum adds that extra fun element when it comes to this challenge! ;D
    Love your card – that touch of washi tape has me swooning!
    Hugs!
    x

  13. My heart was racing just reading through your steps! I love how your card turned out by just using the negative of the leaf die. Genius!

Leave a Reply

