Paper Smooches September Blog Hop

It’s Pep Rally week and we are here today to share a sampling of the Paper Smooches October release with you!  FOUR newstamps and EIGHT new dies will be available to purchase at 12:01am, Eastern time…on October 1st.  You will find them HERE

To add extra fun to our blog hop…we are offering up a prize!

The way we choose our winners and the prize has changed:

  • FOUR winners will be chosen at RANDOM from any of the design team blogs and the PS Blog
  • The prize – a $25. gift code to choose what you like at the PS online store.
  • Just leave a comment on any of the eight design team blogs listed below or the PS blog for your chance to win!  (you do not need to comment on all blogs to qualify)
  • You have until midnight MT on Sunday, September 29th to leave a comment.
  • Please check the Paper Smooches blog on Monday, September 30th to see if you are one of the FOUR lucky winners.

The perks to our change:

  • You will have more time to comment
  • You can choose dies as a part of your prize (or anything else in our store of course)
  • You don’t have to check all 8 blogs to see if you won, you just need to check the PS blog.

Good luck 😉

Emily Leiphart
Heidi Van Laar
Kalyn Kepner
Karolyn Loncon
Kim Kesti
Laura Bassen
Laurie Schmidlin
Teri Anderson

To increase your chances of winning:

  • Leave a comment on this blog post
  • Tell us that you Facebooked about our blog hop
  • Tell us that you Tweeted about our hop
  • Tell us that you posted on your blog about our blog hop

(which means that you have up to four chances to win on each blog)
For my card, I used the new Merry Motifs stamp set.
Paper Smooches I clear embossed the ornaments and then blended in the ink. I used a tiny circle punch on the tops of the ornaments to string them up.
Paper SmoochesAfterwards, I decided to see what it would look like if I added some glossy accents to the ornaments. Not sure which version I prefer. The glossy accents made the ornaments warp a little, which annoys the heck out of me.
Paper SmoochesThanks so much for hopping by today!

206 thoughts on “Paper Smooches September Blog Hop

  1. oh wow!! swoon alert! your card is stunning!! and i agree, it’s hard to choose which version i like better – it’s such an amazing design with the perfect colors and shading that either way is gorgeous!! i am in LOVE!

  2. I feel your ambivalence about the +/- glossy accents ornaments (beautiful card design, BTW!). The gleam on the glossy ones is great, but your soft colouring on the “flat” ones adds perfect highlights, too. Thanks for permission to CASE this card, for the upcoming season!

  3. Laura, I love the subtle sentiment in white on the gray. The ornaments are beautiful- I think I like the original way best, but the other is wonderful, too!

  4. I appreciate how you take a photo before you add the glossy accents just in case you don’t like it … I do that too! It helps me be more fearless : ) Love your arrangement of ornaments and sentiment together!

  5. I love the soft colors of the first card! But the glossy accents give it a great vibrancy and festive ornament look! I guess what I’m trying to say is I like both versions! 🙂

  6. Love you card design, Laura! And the colours you used are so pretty! I think I like the one without the glossy accents better, since the way you added the inks is just so perfect and beautiful on its own. And I love the white embossed sentiment!

  7. I cannot tell you how beautiful this card is! You have outdone yourself! Those ornaments are so will colored! I can’t wait for the full reveal!

  8. Laura,

    I love both versions. This is such a sweet design and I think one that would not be too hard to mass produce. Really adorable. By the way, I just finished watching your video on the Insider Card class and you just cracked me up! Your card was beautiful and entertained me as well. Thanks!

    Elaine Allen

  9. This is a beautiful card. Personally I love the shine of the glossy accents on your ornaments, even if they did curl a little!!

  10. As always, Laura…your design is amazing and your shading is really gorgeous! LOVE this card!!!
    I think I like the first one (without glossy accents) better…I think your shading stands out better, but they’re both really pretty 🙂

  11. Your ink blending is gorgeous as always! I can’t decided which version I like better – they’re both beautiful, but I am a little more partial to the shiny ornaments. Oooooh… shiny.

  12. Oh wow!! I absolutely love your card!!! The ornaments are so pretty!! I love how you colored them!! I like the glossy accents on them but I’m like you I cant stand warping!! Thanks so much for sharing!!

  13. I love the blog hops. They are always so much fun! Thanks for sharing your talent and creativity with us! I love the classic lines and white space in this card!

  14. Gorgeous card. Love the traditional look with the bright colours. I like the idea of the glossy accents, but the warping would frustrate me too. So I prefer the first one. Thanks for sharing both with us and for the inspiration.

  15. LOVE! I think I like the unglossied ornaments better, the shading seems to stand out a little more, but what a gorgeous elegant design!

  16. I love the shine of the glossy accents, but Im with you, warped paper kinda bugs… however in this photo, you can’t really tell! Im really loving the shaded ink of the ornaments. How did you do that again? Im assuming before you embossed it? I love it. so fabulous and I LOVE the white embossed sentiment on the grey. need to try that!

    p.s. have i told you lately how much I adore your blog and crafting style. I wanna be you when I grow up :0)

  17. AMAZING! Those glossy ornaments, the golden thread…just wow!! and love that the card base is gray…and then the sentiment white!

  18. Laura, LOVE the ornaments! How were you able to blend the ink AFTER it was clear embossed?
    Great choice of color for the card base!

  19. Beautiful card and coloring. I think I like the version without glossy accents but I’m sure it’s gorgeous with them in IRL

  20. I’m in love with how you strung them – looks like there’s 10 lb. of pressure on those strings. I think with Glossy Accents they look more like Christmas lights than ornaments.

  21. This is such a beautiful card! I think I prefer it without the glossy accents because it makes the ornaments look more crisp. Beautiful job!

  22. Your choice of jewel tones on that neutral background was…oh boy, something shiny!..great. I think adding the ..Oh boy, something shiny!..Glossy Accents to the bulbs was brilliant. I like shiny things.

  23. I like the ornaments both ways but there MIST be some way to prevent the warping. Maybe sticking them on to a post-it while they dried would work.

  24. This is SOOOOO pretty Laura! I love the blended look of color on the ornaments and the glossy accents are the perfect touch to make them so lifelike. The CAS design & layout is so fresh and appealing – I love it!

Leave a Reply

