Kelly Purkey~Happy Birthday

Hello there! Today I’m just sharing a fun birthday card using a new Kelly Purkey stamp set.Kelly Purkey~Happy BirthdayI started with a navy cardbase from PTI and embossed the sentiment in white. I also embossed the sentiment again on various scrap papers. Some of these papers are so old, I don’t even know where they came from, but the neon colors are from Target. Then, using a 3/4″, 1/2″ and 1/4″ circle punches, I punched out certain areas and pieced them over the sentiment. It kinda looks like bubbles or confetti.
Kelly Purkey~Happy BirthdayAre you celebrating anything today? We’ve got some birthdays over in these parts. My little Charlie is turning 8 years old today and Bailey is turning 10 years old tomorrow. Can’t believe it.IMG_8118This is the fastest December has ever gone in the history of Decembers. If I survive it, it will be a miracle:)

32 thoughts on “Kelly Purkey~Happy Birthday

  1. Quite merry and bright, kinda like a wonderful family photo which was in my mailbox today! Vielen dank. AS for the years passing faster, my Dad has a theory. The older we get the faster they go. Ugh. All the best for 2014!

  2. I love this card. So simple yet bright and cheery. Two birthdays right after Christmas? I’d be struggling, too. Happy Birthday to the kids and Happy New Year to you.

  3. Time really has flown by this year – wish there was a way to slow it down! That photo of Charlie and Bailey is adorable! Love your card too, Laura – fun twist on your awesome technique and perfect for a happy occasion!

  4. It does look like confetti! Cool card! Your kids are so cute – don’t they grow up fast? My girls have birthdays just a few days apart at the beginning of December; I always joke that while the holiday season gets 2x more crazy at least we get it all over with in a short time. 🙂

  5. I really like this card, it’s an idea I will want to play with. Love the photo of your kids, it conveys the love between them.

  6. Wow, what a stunner!! Love how you used punchouts of the scraps for your confetti! It’s my birthday on the 8th January, so I suppose I’m on countdown to that!

  7. Happy, happy birthday to Bailey and Charlie! Time certainly is flying isn’t it. Love your fun card Laura and hope you are getting a touch of relaxation!

  8. Amazing card, Laura – this technique looks so much fun (on my “to try list” 🙂

    Sending Happy Birthday wishes to your beautiful children – love the photo.

  9. This is such a simple technique with such great effect that I can’t wait to try it!

    Happy Birthday to your youngsters. You think time has gone fast so far? Don’t blink! Before you know it they’ll be driving — blink again and they’ll be bringing their babies home to visit. It’s a wild ride!

  10. Love this technique with the scrap circles! And birthdays a day apart would make me crazy! Good luck finishing out the month/year!

  11. You are so clever, Laura! I love how you ‘double stamped’ the letters and circles on this fun card! Since you created this technique, and you’ve used it on other cards and projects, I think it’s time for you to give it a name 😉

    Happy Birthday to Charlie and Bailey! May all their birthday wishes come true!!!

  12. Darn…you’re so clever. Love the neon on the navy, so “in your face”. As far as this being a speedy 12th month…you got that right. I may need till March to catch up. Happy b-days to your kiddos.

  13. What a great card…love the embossed technique. Happy birthday to Charlie and Bailey! My kids are also two years apart and their bdays fall two days apart…any tips on celebrating that keeps you sane?

  14. Beautifully simple but festive card. Great stamping idea. I have a 12-20 baby, so I know it’s hard to do birthdays and Christmas together. And you have two! But the week between Christmas and New Years is a great time for birthday parties. I’m amazed you can be so creative, and, as always, and make such perfectly executed cards, in the midst of holiday revelry. I look forward to the long quiet days of January to regroup, once the dust settles.

  15. Very cute! We’re having birthdays here too. Tomorrow is my youngest son’s, and the 31st is my husband’s. Next week is my mom’s.

  16. I love the boldness of the design. Gorgeous! That’s crazy how you layered the punches and made it look that fabulous. Your kids are so cute. And, as a matter of fact, my daughter turned 8 on the 28th. How weird is that (since we also share a birthday)? LOL! If your husband’s birthday is April 15th, I’m going to be creeped out. hee hee

Leave a Reply

