Happy 2014 and some faves

I know it’s already the 3rd of January, but Happy New Year anyways:) I hope you had a wonderful time celebrating with your loved ones. I created this card using one of Kelly Purkey’s new dies and her metallic sequins.Kelly Purkey~twentyfourteen dieI’m slowly coming out of my holiday fog, but I thought I’d share some of my favorite things with you. If you were here, in your sweat pants, of course, this is what I’d be showing you, while I force feed you holiday chocolates and my kids fight for your attention. So, first up is this amazing little label maker. I found this baby on clearance at my local Staples store. How did I live without before? Have you seen Jennifer McGuire’s storage videos for stamps, dies and inks? Gahhh…She’s my hero.
labelerI’ve only just begun, but look at this heavenly sight. I’m on my way, people! No more mumbling and shaking my fist at my ink pads.
ink labelingAnd next, looky, looky at this next little number….a custom stamp for the back of my cards. I ordered this from the amazing Bossy Joscie. I’ve been wanting a stamp like this for a long time. I love the font combination, and I thought her prices were pretty fabulous, too. Look at her cool logo on her tag. Love that.
cutstom stampI finally got some embossing paste. The gold and the translucent have been on my wish list for quite a while. Speaking of embossing paste…have you seen the new Stenciled class coming up? It’s gonna be a doozy, I tell ya!
embossing pasteMy daughter, Alex, got me these lip balms for Christmas. She knows me so well. I have a thing for lip balms, lip sticks, french fries, blankets, babies and stamps. These lip balms are sooooo cool! The aqua one is mint and the red one is summer fruit. You can see the whole collection here. I want them all. I love them so.
lip balmMy mom gave me this awesome salt cellar for Christmas. I leave my salt out for cooking. I’m always throwing a handful in my pasta water. She gave it to me with a bag of pink Himalayan salt. Who knew pink salt could make you so happy? I love it!
pink saltI thought I’d leave you with something sweet…my beloved chocolate truffles. They are the reason I get up in the morning. Not that I eat them in the morning, but I do think about them in the morning, and in the afternoon and in the evening. They are so dang good, for heaven’s sake!
chocolate trufflesThanks for hanging out with me while I babble your ear off! Looking forward to a new year, full of exciting and new favorite things! Ciao, Bella♥

45 thoughts on “Happy 2014 and some faves

  1. Lovely card Laura! Happy 2014! I could see through your post… the happiness you get in the sweet lil things in life! !I guess that is what life is all about… 🙂 Wish you and your family many more beautiful years to come:)

  2. Happy 2014! Love your favorites 😀 Aren’t those truffles to DIE for?? I just spotted something new to me at Target: Sea Salt truffles! They’re pretty dang good. I’ve also been eyeing that gold embossing paste from Wendy Vecchi. *drool*

  3. I love all the goodies on your post today! My son has a HUGE thing for those EOS chap stick balls, too – he got a bunch of them in his stocking from Santa 😉 Gorgeous New Years card, and Happy 2014 to you, too!

  4. What a fun post, Laura! As much as I was excited to see your ink drawer, and your ink drawer organized (holy smokes!), it was also nice to see some non-stamp goodies. What a thoughtful gift from your mom! Great photography too! Happy New Year : )

  5. Thanks for sharing such fun things. Watch out – your friends will make fun of you when they see you have everything labeled. My friends do – they think I am super organized but I have them fooled. 🙂 Thanks for the link for the address stamp. I need one and I love the font.

  6. Such a fun New Year’s card, Laura! The gold foil cardstock is perfect with the sequins and of course your CAS design is fabulous!

    Thanks so much for sharing your faves with us! I think it’s time for me to get myself a new custom stamp for my cards 🙂

  7. It’s always so much fun to visit your blog. Awesome posts, exquisite photography, and always, always wonderful creations. Hope your new year is chock full of wonders.

  8. I love your babble Laura, keep it up, you are one of the most natural people, you let us see you as you are and I admire that.Have a wonderful new year and please continue to keep us entertained.

  9. You are so adorable Laura!!! Now I want the gold embossing paste too!! And the label maker! The salt, eos balm and truffles I have already 🙂

  10. Super-amazing card – so so in love with that sprinkling of sequins and the gold embossed die cut!! Such a wonderdful array of goodies too, crafting and non-crafting alike! Pink salt?! Love!!

  11. I adore how you used the sequins on your fabulous card! And what a fun post – loved seeing all your faves from Christmas. Hubby gave me the same label maker and I’m loving it too! Happy New Year, Laura!!! ♥♥♥

  12. Besides the gorgeous cards (love the sequins), I am quite taken with the green salt cellar. I want one just like that. Love the pink salt.

  13. Ok, I’m totally with you on the Lindt truffles – hubby got me a giant one filled with em!!! Love your card – need some tips on photographing gold embossing though – sheesh!!
    Happy Hogmanay (as we Scots say!).

  14. Gorgeous card (love those sequins) and thanks for the site share for the custom stamp. Have been searching for just the right one for my cards and that one is perfect.

  15. Happy New Year! I love your post and your card is just beautiful, so festive and perfect for the new year. I love all your favorites too, thank you for sharing!

  16. Thanks for sharing your favorite things. That salt cellar is such a nice gift. My granddaughter had one of those lip balms and I thought it was a silly putty egg (I’m so out of things.) I love the card – but then I always love your cards.

  17. I love your favorite goodies – I have tried that lip balm too and loved it! I want that pink salt and am going to look for it. Do another video with your little munchkin – they are so much fun. Happy New Year to you and yours and I am so happy that I found your blog! Hugs!!!

  18. Happy New Year – looks like you’ve had a lovely Christmas and have some great goodies there. I am a chocoholic as well, and I will admit, I stoop to having some for breakfast on occasion!!
    I look forward to your beautiful creations this year.

  19. This blog post was so fun to read, Laura! First of all, your card is beautiful! I love how you labeled your inks, so organized! The custom stamp is really pretty, the design is great. I’m going to check out the Bossy Joscie website. Those chocolate truffles look delicious.. Have you ever tried out Belgian chocolate? You’ll be head over heels about it, I’m sure! 🙂 Happy New Year to you and your family!

  20. Happy happy new year…your card is incredible! I love all those sequins! And…all your gifts are fantastic! I’d love to be there in my sweat pants with you! 🙂

  21. Happy 2014, Laura! And what a perfect card to ring in the new year! Your new lip balm is one of my faves along with the classic Burt’s Bees tin… I discovered it when I went to the US in July and I’m so happy I brought back a little stash with me! My fave is the sweet mint one 😀

  22. First things first -what a luxurious card. A 2014 die? Now that’s pure luxury! As for the Christmas fog… not lifting til Wed when the kiddos go back to school. So happy for you and your label maker. I’m waiting for Aldi to get them this year. And you definitely know your chocolates!

  23. Happy New Year, Laura! Love your card and fun, fun post.
    I smiled from ear to ear when I saw the EOS lip balms. My daughter is slightly obsessed with them and has all of them except the lemon one and she has been searching high and low for it. Guess she is going to have to order it online. 😉 My fave is the mint one. Thank you for sharing!

  24. Happy New Year. I always love your cards. The pink salt is amazing, I use it frequently. I love to roast baby red potatoes with it. I use a few tablespoons of olive oil, some minced garlic and the salt in a bowl. Add potatoes to coat. Dump onto a baking sheet with aluminum foil and pop in the oven at 425 for 30 minutes or so. Wonderful.

  25. Great post Laura, love the Kelly Purkey dies. I agree about the chocolates, best ever. I can’t agree about the sweat pants, it’s 38deg in Aust.

  26. You are awesome. That is all. (Ooh and I have a whole box of Lindt chocolates still from Christmas…I’m rationing them out but struggling LOL!) 🙂

  27. thanks for sharing your stamp, I’m so glad you love it! xox I love love love the gold die cut and sequins, so so happy. I also love the salt container, I have my kosher salt in a blue ball mason jar, it makes me smile 🙂 I also love those chocolates…. I was addicted to the eos lip balms but then I figured out it wasn’t good for my sensitive skin and went back to my MaryKay lip balm.

  28. Thanks for sharing your ideas. I was in an automotive store last week re-watching your video about your favorite things (on my cell phone) so I could remember the name of the “rag” you use to clean your stamps. I’m sure the guys in the store thought I was batty! But, got what I wanted — thanks for the tip! Happy new year!

  29. LOVE the favorite things that you shared! I can identify with the majority of the items…LOVE them! Wish you a VERY happy healthy 2014! May your awesomeness continue to SHINE BIG in the card making world! PS: thanks for the CUTEST Family Photo Card that came in the mail while I was away… You’ve won that honor in the Lu Household!

Leave a Reply

