Introducing Feather Finery

Today I’m joining Papertrey Ink for a group post featuring the new Feather Finery stamp set. The design team was challenged to find a piece of inspiration on Pinterest or some other source and use that as the jumping point for two projects. I saw this stunning watercolor artwork on and the rest is history. Isn’t is gorgeous?4-x-6-feathersI couldn’t wait to try some watercoloring with these beautiful feather images.PTI~Feather FineryI embossed the feather in clear and then washed over it with some gradient watercolors. I had to make my card slightly taller than normal to accommodate the sentiment which is from the new Four Square stamp set.
PTI~Feather FineryNext, I wanted to see what it would look like to watercolor with the bird image in the Feather Finery set with more color variation like in the inspiration piece.
PTI~Feather FineryI embossed the birds in clear and washed over them with various colors. By the way, the watercolors that I used are from Michael’s and they are about as cheap as watercolors can get, but they do just fine by me.
PTI~Feather FineryFor my last card, I embossed the feather in white on the card base and on three separate strips of cardstock.
PTI~Feather FineryI layered the strips together added a sentiment from the Heart-2-Heart #4 stamp set.
PTI~Feather FineryBe sure and check out what the rest of the design team created, and thanks so much for stopping by!
Nichole Heady
Heather Nichols
Ashley Newell
Danielle Flanders
Melissa Phillips
Erin Lincoln
Cristina Kowalczyk
Dawn McVey
Betsy Veldman

cardstock: stamper’s select white, true black, blueberry sky, limeade ice, aqua mist, hawaiian shores
ink: true black, versamark
stamps: Feather Finery, Four Square, Heart-2-Heart #4
embossing powder: Hero Arts
sequins: Neat & Tangled
watercolors: Michael’s

49 thoughts on “Introducing Feather Finery

  1. I LOVE the way you used watercolors with clear embossing! The colors you chose are gorgeous and the effect is so lovely! Very pretty with the bird images. These are my favorite cards of all the January PTI release. Really unique and playful. I’m inspired!

  2. Every one is absolutely gorgeous. I’m going to have to try that stamping on various strips and put them together. That look is fantastic!.

  3. I know Nichole is thanking her lucky stars that she added you to the team. Your first two cards have a feel of art pieces in a gallery. Wonderful job with your not-so-fancy set of watercolors. That makes it even more charming!

  4. All of these cards are wonderful but the layered one is gorgeous. That feather stamp is now on my wish list.
    Donna K U

  5. Beautiful cards! Loving the watercolors! That second card is my favorite, it reminds me of an installation at an art gallery.

  6. I totally agree with Kelly about the first two card are much like the cards from the museum art gallery/shop!! LOVE them! And that last one is full of gorgeous details with your super mad skills!

  7. Once agin, perfectly lovely. Don’t you love feathers…was totally inspired to get out my watercolors. The “birds” are awesome (loving that sentiment). Your last card knocked me out…that technique you do is incredible.

  8. WOW!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! ALLLLLL your projects are WONDERFUL!!!!!!!!!! LOOOOOOOOVE the blocks of color, the water color & the layering!!!!!!!!!! ALL of them are STUNNING!!!!!!!!!!:)

  9. Your watercolor cards are absolutely stunning, Laura! I forget to use clear embossing powder sometimes, and it looks so pretty against your background! Your last card is so elegant…I love all the layers and the blueberry sky card base was such a great choice! And I thought I didn’t ‘need’ another feather stamp set…how wrong I was!!!

  10. Pingback: Video: Pop Up Stamping… & BIG GIVEAWAY! | Jennifer McGuire Ink

Leave a Reply

