Simon Says Stamp~Spring release blog hop

SSS_2014springBlogHopHello, there! I’m so exciting to be joining Simon Says Stamp for their spring release blog hop! If you are following the hop, then you should have arrived here from the lovely and talented Kathy Racoosin’s blog. You can always go to the Simon Says Stamp blog to start the hop. There are so many fabulous new products to show you. I just know that you are going to fall madly in love with them. The entire spring release can be found HERE.
SSS~Spring 2014 releaseFor my first card, I used the new Wide Stripes Background stamp, which I inked up with several Simon Says Stamp inks. I used the new Big You die for the sentiment as well as the Striped Greetings stamp set. All of these new products are linked below and are available right now…you don’t have to wait, woot!
SSS~Spring 2014 releaseFor this next card, I used the Large Polka Dots stencil and clear embossing powder, and then blended in some of the new and delicious inks. I adore these new pastel colors.
SSS~Spring 2014 releaseThe Balloon dies were nestled in with a vellum strip that was stamped with the Hello You stamp set. You can see how well the new line of cardstock coordinates with the new inks.
SSS~Spring 2014 releaseHere’s a video to show you how I created my projects.

Simon Says Stamp will be giving away a goody bag to one commenter on every blog in the hop. That’s 17 different chances to win!
Your next stop on the hop is the amazing Nichol Magouirk. Thanks so much for hopping by!

Supplies that I used:

New stamps:

New dies:

New stencils:

New ink & cardstock:

928 thoughts on “Simon Says Stamp~Spring release blog hop

  1. I love your first card using the ‘you’ die cut, it’s really stunning in an understated way. Thanks for the opportunity to win!

  2. Thanks for the morning smile…listening to you commentate makes for a great morning :). I love both your cards…the second one is especially delicious looking! Those colors…I mean come on…. Crazy gorgeous! Thanks for sharing 🙂

  3. I just absolutely adore the colors in the first card. Perfect spring/summer colors, and much needed on a day like today when everything is snowed in and frozen. Thank you for sharing! 🙂

  4. Love everything big and bold about your first card, Laura! And the soft colours on the second card. I love those balloon dies. This release is fantastic.

  5. Thank you for sharing a video and a Product list! I love stamping on vellum but never get crisp results, so I will buy the same ones you used. Gorgeous!

  6. Hi Laura, you made me hungry for butter mints! Love them, but love your cards and your singing better:) Thanks for a great video! You are my sunshine, too!

  7. Your cards are awesome, Laura! They always make go, why can’t I think of stuff like that?

    And the new release looks really great! Thanks, SSS!

  8. Ha – those broad stripes and the font of that “you” – those are the first two products that caught my eye in Debby’s post with all the product images! FABULOUS. You sweet balloon card has such a surreal feel..

  9. Both cards are equally beautiful, Laura! And I agree with you, the pastel colors are just gorgeous! Great video, loved watching it and hearing you sing:D!!

  10. Only one word in response to these cards and your video, because you’ve rendered me speechless with awe: LOVE. LOVE x 1000000000!
    c

  11. I was hoping we’d see you use the wide stripes – such an awesome card! And your balloons look amazing – such YUMMY colors! Fabulous cards, Laura! ♥

  12. Adore your cards. I SO love the colors. Love the background on the Happy Birthday card. and the colors of the you card. Thank you so much for the video. Everything you make is so beautiful and I love you’re ideas and what the video teaches me. Thank you so much.

  13. Wow! Your cards are great. Just love, love, love the balloon card and the colors are so amazing! Beautiful job. Thanks for sharing, Laura!

  14. I already placed my order, but I should have waited until after seeing everythng on the hop!!! Your projects are beautiful!

  15. What a TREAT to see your video today. I love both cards! The first one is simply FABULOUS with the die cut! The 2nd one is just dreamy and gorgeous! PS: YES, Canada!…today is going to be another GREAT hockey game! For your family, it’s a win win (wink)!

  16. This release is going to use up all my craft allowance! I just love it all. I really like the ways that you’ve used the new products.

  17. Yeh! Another great Laura Bassen video! Great cards for Simon’s latest release! Oh, and, I just have to say…”Canadian husband”… yet another reason to love Laura Bassen;-)

  18. WOW Laura your cards are so cute and amazing. As I watched you create your first card I watched in awe of what you were doing and how you were doing it….just amazed as it all came into it’s creation for both cards you really showcased how clever and creative you are and your video was so fun to watch and sure packed with inspiration.

  19. I am really loving all the balloons! Great cards. Love these blog hops, so much inspiration. Thanks to you, SSS, and all the blog participants.

  20. I LOVE the background you created for your balloon birthday card! I think may have to increase my craft budget for this new release! Your cards were awesome as usual. 🙂

  21. Love your cards, and the new releases are amazing. So excited to get my hands on some of them and play! nlundeen at catt dot com

  22. Both cards are fantastic, love the new colors. Your videos are the best and I always finish watching them with a smile on my face.

  23. That balloon card is perfection! The colour combo and the way you nestled and layered everything together! It was awesome!

  24. The balloon card is my favorite…love the blending of the inks. Thanks for sharing how you made the cards…and for the chance to win!

  25. Love your video. You have a great voice and I love hearing your chatter! =) Beautiful cards! Especially like the balloons! Thanks for sharing!!

  26. Once again, you have completely wow’d us with your gorgeous cards, Laura! I love your die cut technique on the first one, and how you played with all those pretty new colors on the 2nd one! Thanks so much for another great video…I always enjoy them…and thank you for inspiring us with your talents!

  27. Great cards – love them both but especially love the colors on the balloon card. So soft and pretty.

    I’m multi-tasking and watching the men’s hockey game while I hop. Great game so far. Go USA!!!

  28. Never ceases to amaze me how simple you make these stellar creations look. While I’m up to my elbows in adhesive, you just blithely put them together and make them look spectacular. Both are awesome.

  29. Sigh, these are all GORGEOUS! It is so cool how your word die cuts are striped to blend into the background, and I love the string you used on your balloon dies (gotta try those new inks sometime!!)

  30. Every card I see using the balloon dies and stamps, I’m like a kid in a candy store! Gotta have it. Beautiful cards, love the balloon card!

  31. What great cards. I love the simplicity of the You card and how all those new colors mingle together on the balloon card. Thanks!

  32. I just love your creations! The striped card is remarkable in it’s simplicity and full personality. Thanks for the inspiration!

  33. Fantastic happy cards, Laura. Love the technique you used for the first card and the second card with lovely soft colors and cute balloons is super fun. Thanks for sharing it. 🙂

  34. Perfection. Love the colors, love the stripes and dots, love the simplicity yet boldness of each card. You are a master!

  35. I always love listening to your videos, you give great tips using the products in different ways. Love the new colors coming out.
    Lynne M

  36. I love what you create. Your videos always make me smile. Thank you dearly for sharing! Great use of the new releases. SO EXCITING!!!

  37. Love these, and thanks for the tip on using the wooden background stamp to press down. I’m definitely going to try that! Gorgeous blending on the second card too!

  38. I love your cards and I love how you made the “you” die cut match your colors on the first card, very cool. Love the colors in your second card. Love watching your videos, I learn so much plus you put a smile on my face especially when your husband and daughter are in them.

  39. Laura I don’t know what I love more your cards/techniques or your wonderful and funny banter that goes on during your videos not only are you a creative soul but you are so darn funny and we all need to smile more ( especially yesterday when I was crying right along with Team USA
    Ladies hockey team) any way I digress thanks for sharing all your wonderful talent with us and I hope you have a wonderful weekend!

  40. The cards are great and I like the way you did the you on the first card. Super neat. O my word the inks r to die for on the second card. Love the softness of the colors. TFS

  41. love the technique on the background of the balloon card-probably because like you I love these colors too! As always you deliver with new ideas and fun videos.

  42. I love blog hops, especially when they are showcasing new product and how to use it. Really like the polka dot stencil. Thanks for the chance to win.

  43. Hi Laura, I really like the new colors especially the ones used on your balloon card and those balloon dies are a must have. Thanks for sharing.
    Regards,
    Joe-Anne

  44. I´m in love with the new colors an these balloon dies are great (imagine me makeing 30 birthday invitations for my sons next birthday)!

  45. I love the bold stripes and the colours! so fun! I need to get that big you die! I love it! Thanks for Sharing!

  46. I love your style! And your videos are awesome. I especially love the balloon card with the blended inks. Thanks for sharing!

  47. I love the way you blended the new colors together. It does look like the wedding mints. Haven’t seen those around in a long time. The wide stripes would make a great masculine card.

  48. Wow I absolutely love love love the cluster of ballons card. Fantastic! Just a side note I absolutely love your videos, I know you don’t do them often but you really do have an amazing energy about you and you just seem to ooze positivity. TFS!!

  49. Love the bold stripes on the first card and the blending, popping YOU, and the colour blending on your balloon card is lovely. Those ink colours are great!

  50. Fabulous cards! Love the colorful stripes with the giant “you” die cut! And who doesn’t like polka dots! The ink and paper colors look yummy! Thanks for sharing!

  51. Another couple of perfect cards. Love the soft colours of the second card. I wonder if Simon Says are aware of just how lucky they are to have such talented people to showcase their products. Have gone from looking at the release and thinking mmmmm to now trying to work out how I will budget for them all.:)

  52. These are lovely, Laura. Your video was so easy to follow & fun, as always. This is a fantastic release- Thanks for a chance to win.

  53. The You card was cool but the birthday card was amazing! I love the colors- and the balloon dies. Those are definitely on my wish list!

  54. There are so many great new word dies! I can’t wait to use them. Using one as a focal point seems like the perfect idea. Thanks for sharing.

  55. So many innovative products in larger sizes and coordinating sets–the creative possibilities are mind boggling. Fresh, striking card designs, Laura.

  56. The way that you integrated the sentiment on the wide stripes card is giving me lots of ideas – thanks for the inspiration!

  57. 2 beautiful cards for spring! Thanks for the tip on using the wood block stamp for pressure. I had a “duh” moment. Why haven’t I thought of that?

  58. Both cards are fabulous, my favorite is the second, those colors go great together and love your fun background, love how you nested the sentiment between the 2 balloons, so much inspiration in one place! Thank you!

  59. you are always such an inspiration…. this new release is great! Thanks for showing us how to make the card and the chance to win ~ pick me, pick me!

  60. Two terrific cards! The new colors are great … loved the softness of the balloon card. Your videos are always great to watch. TFS …
    Anita J

  61. You have no idea how much I enjoyed your video, not only I loved the card creating process, but your singing and commentaries about the Hockey games… love it!!!!

  62. Love both cards, Laura! So pretty—but then, I always love your cards & videos! Can’t wait to try some of these new items myself!

  63. Love the Happy Birthday Card.. with the small Vellum banner.. Looks beautiful.. Thanks for the video.. and the chance to win the awesome SSS hamper

  64. Great cards! Like the bold stripes and big die cut “you.” Love the blended bkgrd and balloons on the b.d. card. 🙂

  65. Wow Laura! 2 totally different, but equally beautiful cards. I love the ‘blend & pop’ look. The striped stamp & you die have gone straight to the top of my wish list. Theresa x

  66. Yes , that was a nail biter of a hockey game ! I love the cards – the first is so vibrant and bold and the second is soft and serene . TFS

  67. Love your cards. The colors are gorgeous. Watching your videos are always enjoyable. You look like you are having so much fun.

  68. Great cards as usual Laura and loved the video. THank you for showing us how you cut and stamp a die so melts into the background.

  69. Love the cards,. I’m looking forward to trying embossing on vellum and maybe venturing into acetate. Sounds like fun.

  70. Awesome awesome awesome. I love that “you” die and you use of stencils and yes the colors do look like butter mints. Lol

  71. love your creations but these 2 are spectacular the soft water colors and the word embedded on the card awesome girl you are great

  72. Wow, love both cards.. have to get this new balloon die..I am learning so much in this blog hop so many talented people.. thanks

  73. Such beautiful colors! Love the solid balloons on the polka dot background and the bright stripes just reach out and grab you, very fun.

  74. I agree! The new stamp colors DO look like butter mints! YUM!! Love how you used the big you die to mirror the background – Stunning!

  75. Both cards are lovely, but I like the balloon card the best because of the colors. The colors are yummy as you said!

  76. the color combo on the balloon card is awesome! and i love popping up the “you” die on the wide stripes card! very cool!
    sandyh

  77. Both of your cards were great! Love that you showed us 2 totally different cards. I love the “you” card and am definitely going to try that technique. The balloon card is adorable and the colors do remind me of the mints at showers. Your videos are always so much fun to watch – love the humor that you throw into them. Awesome!!!

  78. Lovin’ those stripes. You are right, your second card reminds me of food too, cotton candy. YUM! Love how you nestled your balloons with the sentiment. Very nicely done!

  79. I just love your card… great use of the new stamp sets. I was very disappointed with the results of the hockey team, but the US Women were wonderful and came out with a medal!

  80. Oh my! I am in love with the striped card! Before I watched your video, my mind was racing at how to accomplish that look. I’m going to have to get that Wide Stripes Background stamp!

  81. Super awesome cards! I love your cards and your videos! You make card making seem so real with your craft corner set up and your family around you 😀

  82. DYING over the new colors in this release – they’re the exact colors of my daughter’s nursery! Wish these would have been around when I was pregnant. But I can definitely do some fun things with them now 😉

  83. The wide strip stamp did not catch my attention to begin with but I so love what you did with it… so on the wishlist it goes 🙂

  84. What beautiful cards. I love embossing and I haven’t used my clear for awhile. I will try your technique soon. Thanks for the giveaway.

  85. Great cards. I love the popped letters on the first and that gorgeous blended background on the second. I love all the new SSS colours, especially the blues.

  86. I agree – beautiful colors – wonderful cards – will be back to watch the video – thanks for sharing

    Barb Housner

  87. Hi Laura!
    OMG! I LOVE Your BEAUTIFUL cards….the colors are gorgeous! Thank you for sharing your awesome ideas and for the video tutorial…Have a great day! 🙂

  88. Loving your watercolor balloon card! There’s not many cards you make that I don’t like actually. 🙂 the new release is awesome and I can’t wait to get my hands on the big balloons dies!

  89. Your cards are so cute. I especially like the YOU card and the colors you chose. Thanks for the share and a chance to win some cool new stuff!

  90. Aren’t these the most wonderful, yummy colors? You just can’t go wrong when everything you’re working with is so cheerful!

  91. Both of these cards are fab, but the happy bday card is amazing! I LOVE how well the inks and papers coordinate for a project like this! Thanks for sharing!

  92. Gorgeous, gorgeous cards, Laura. I love the crazy combination of colours on your Big You striped card, and the second one is so soft and sweet, with all the circular elements. Lots of fun new goodies at SSS!

  93. I love both of your cards, especially with those new ink colors. You are so inspiring! I want all those new goodies you showcased!

  94. Laura, you should sing more often in your videos. You have a beautiful voice!
    The cards are beautiful The balloons are so versatile and so is the big stripe stamp.
    Thank you,
    Michal

  95. Love both your cards Laura. The colors of the 2nd. one is just so dreamy. Thanks for the wonderful video, its always a pleasure to watch them.

  96. Gorgeous cards, Laura! I really love the colour blending on the second card – and speaking of colour – love the new additions to the SSS collection of inks and cardstock. Yummy!

  97. Absolutely fell in love with your pastel balloon card. How very pretty. The new inks and matching cardstock are just beautiful.

  98. What pretty cards! I love the colored stripes on the first and the watercolors on the second, thanks for the inspiration.

  99. Those ink colors are yummy! Thanks for showing them in all their glory. I love seeing products at work before I buy them.

  100. In the spirit of the Olympics, they should change the name of this from a blog hop to a blog marathon. WOW!!! WOW!!! Love all the new products and the colors are really delish!!! Thanks for the chance to win!!!

  101. I love your cards, they’re both so cute and creative! Thanks for the video, it always helps seeing how you create the cards.

  102. WOW wow WOW

    Your tutorial has made your AWESOME cards look like even I could make them Laura!!!
    LOVE the colours, the FABULOUS stamping, emboss resist, layered die cut sentiment – they add WOW to your ELEGANT designs – THANK YOU for sharing your tutorial and creative inspiration 🙂

  103. Fabulous cards! I love the big you die and the way you used it on the first card. Those vibrant colors are amazing. Thank you for another great, super-fun video and thanks so much for the chance to win!

  104. I LOVE those wide stripes on your “you” card! I’m so mad right now I could just spit because I ordered Thursday evening and this stamp wasn’t even on my radar until I saw your card Friday! Ughh……just means another order soon! You are an enabler! hehe xx

  105. Beautiful cards!! Favourite has to be the balloons. The card and ink go so well together and the polka for blended effect looks stunning. 😍

  106. “Everything reminds me of food” You are so funny! Everything reminds me of food too 🙂 Great cards. I can’t wait to try the balloon one. Super cute!

  107. Thank you so much for doing a video on your cards. I loved how you used the new wide stripe stamp to make your “you” card.

  108. It’s amazing how many looks everyone is getting with the dot stencil-I love your blended background! Great card design. 🙂

  109. Love watching your videos! The first card is so simple but so “wow!”!

    And wasn’t the hockey game SO SO SO exciting???