Virginia’s View Challenge #1

watercoloringHave you seen the new challenge in town hosted by the one and only Virginia Lu? I think she might have just hit the jack pot with this first theme. It’s hot hot hot and I couldn’t wait to play along!
Virginia's View Challenge #1I created my background by masking off stripes using post-it tape and painting with watercolors. The lines on my notebook paper helped to give me even spacing.
Virginia's View Challenge #1I used a sentiment from the new Stripe Greetings stamp set and Mom die by Simon Says Stamp.
Virginia's View Challenge #1While I had all my watercolors out, I tried playing with some of the new Harlequin & Hourglass stencils by SSS. The make some really fun patterns.
Virginia's View Challenge #1I love this new Mom die. I don’t send enough cards to my Mom. When I was in college, my Mom would send me a card once a week. She’s the one who got me into stamping. My kids adore her. They call her Gaga because the oldest couldn’t pronounce grandma when he was younger and it just stuck. Her friends kid her and call her Lady Gaga. Whatever the name, Mom’s make all the difference, don’t they?
Virginia's View Challenge #1Make sure and head over to Virginia’s new challenge and see all the amazing watercolored creations. I hope you’ll play along, too! Thanks so much for stopping by! Have a great day♥

29 thoughts on “Virginia’s View Challenge #1

  1. I love those stripes – what a wonderful idea. I guess I am going to have to hunt down my watercolors and play a bit. Thanks for the tip about masking, too. I’ve tried to do stripes freehand before and ended up with a crooked mess. This is a much better way to do them.

  2. Love those rainbow stripes on your card, Laura! And, how clever you are to use your notebook to line them up!
    What a fun name for your mom…I love it!!!

  3. You amaze me!! Love the shaded of water-colors…just delicious! And of course how you grouped the elements is just lovely in every way. I call that “hot mess” approach…and yours is every bit “sexy”! (Sorry for sounding inappropriate! ). So happy that you share your big talent with us , Laura! xo

  4. Love your watercolor playing, Laura! That striped card is fabulous! You probably won’t believe this but all my mom’s grandkids called her Gaga too. I let out a little gasp when I read that in your post. As the kids got older they started to call her Gags for short. She loved that! Just wanted to share that with you. ❤️

  5. Beautiful card love how you changed up the colours of the stripes. That story about your mum is so funny love that kids say things and they just stick so cute. 🙂
    Kate xx

  6. Sweet. U just gave me an awesome idea for my mother n laws birthday card I need to send. Love the striped background. Only I think I may do it with inks. But I do like my distress inks. Thank you for sharing and I love your card too and the others you did were neat too.

  7. What fun watercoloring & I love the contrast of the Mom in black. Fun story about your Mom. My son’s great grandmother was called Gaga. I’m sure your Lady Gaga will love the pretty card. Thanks.

  8. Those stripes are so “you” and your Momma is gonna love it!
    Love your other backgrounds, too. I’m inspired…..;)

Leave a Reply

