SSS~Mothers & Fathers 2014 Release Blog Hop

SSS_2014MothersFathersBloghop
Hello there! Today I’m joining Simon Says Stamp in a hop as they showcase their new late spring release. If you are following the hop than you should have arrived from the lovely Kathy Racoosin’s blog.SSS~full card dadThe projects I created are featuring the new Full Card Dad die and Full Card Mom die.
SSS~full card dadI used some Tim Holz watercolor paper and watercolors to create the background for each card.
SSS~full card momThese were so quick to pull together. I love the font mixtures on these dies.
SSS~full card momHere’s a quick video to show you how easy it was to make these cards.

Giveaway Alert!! Leave me a comment by April 10th for your chance to win 2 brand new, not-yet released ink pads and coordinating packs of cardstock from the new collection! A complete winners list will be posted on the Simon blog on Friday April 11, 2014.
The next stop on the hop is amazing Stephanie Klauck. You can check out the Simon Says Stamp blog for the complete blog hop list. Thanks so much for stopping by!

Here’s what I used on my projects:

Here’s the entire release:

505 thoughts on “SSS~Mothers & Fathers 2014 Release Blog Hop

  1. Fabulous! The WC backgrounds are amazing, and I really love that the “Mother” plate has MUM on it – yay 🙂

  2. I think it’s time I got some watercolors….they’re everywhere & the look is so pretty. Love your backgrounds.

  3. As always your cards are gorgeous! I love the watercolor backgrounds. You do such a beautiful job with the watercolor backgrounds.

  4. These cards are AMAZING! Love that watercolored background and well Laura, I will need those watercolors now! 🙂 Ha! Thanks for sharing! Hugs!

  5. Beautiful watercolor backgrounds! Hope you pick a cake that everyone can agree on this mother’s day!!

  6. Gorgeous colors. I especially love the colors in the Father’s day card. With a punch of pink or purple, they would work great for a Mother’s Day card too.

    Thanks so much for sharing! 🙂

  7. LOVE your watercolor cards! I have a watercolor set just like this I got on Amazon that hasn’t even been opened. Whoops. Need to change that!

  8. Love your watercolor backgrounds. Mine never seem to be so successful. Maybe I need those watercolor cakes. They look great and it’s very tempting. Thanks for sharing.

  9. LOVE these cards, Laura! The Mom & Dad full card dies are FABULOUS!! This will be my first year not making a Mom’s Day card for my Mom–she lost her fight with ovarian cancer in February, so I need to make sure I make my Dad a kick-*** card for Dad’s Day! I think I need to get that Dad Full Card Die, now–for sure 🙂 Thanks for sharing!! Every card you make is an inspiration 🙂 XOXO-Shari

  10. Water coloring has been getting more and more popular!!! It looks like I’m gonna have to get some soon! Love the techniques!!!

  11. I just love the watercolor cards the colors are just fantastic! Must get my watercolor paints out of their storage area.

  12. Your watercolor backgrounds are AWESOME. You make it look so easy. Thanks for sharing and love your videos!!!

  13. Laura, I love watching your videos. The watercolor looks so beautiful and so simple. I just got a set of them and am going to give it a try.

  14. Gorgeous cards, Laura! I love your watercolored backgrounds…the colors are so pretty! Thanks so much for the video, too! It was fun to hear about your life in the ‘Black Forrest’ ~ LOL!

  15. Your videos are always a hoot!
    Thank you for showing the watercolor technique. You make it look very simple.
    You always make me smile.

  16. I really like both cards. The watercolor background works wonderfully with the Mom and Dad dies. Thanks for sharing! Thanks for the chance to win!

  17. It’s such a treat to see your video, Laura! The watercolor background really is awesome with this new die (well, you make it look amazing!)! How neat is that Mother’s Day carries all the special meaning and birthday memories for your family! Thanks for sharing!

  18. I had to watch this twice because the first time, I was so engrossed in your MD story! 🙂
    Love this technique so much! Fun, fun cards!

  19. I try to not miss any of your videos, your stories just make me giggle and sometimes outright laugh! Thanks for sharing your beautiful cards!

  20. Love your cards and those cool new dies!!! Thanks for the chance to win some of the new inks and paper!!! How cool that would be!!!

  21. I absolutely love your videos. You make me smile and laugh out loud at some of your comments. I love the cards and I think I could use watercolors. I will have to check them out.

  22. Laura, I love, love , love your cards. So simple and beautiful. I totally want that watercolor set. My wishlist at Simon Says is getting soooo long. I prefer cheesecake! heeheheee….Thank you for sharing!!!!

  23. Love how your watercolors turned out for both cards! Great ombre effect.
    And how fun it must be to share your Mother’s Day birth story! 🙂

  24. Beautiful watercolor backgrounds on both cards. Lovely cards. Thanks so much for the video. Love it.

  25. your card all adorable..I am your new fan and both are adorable..love the soft background you made and nice arrangement too…love these cards..hugs, Monika

  26. Your cards are beautiful the stark white die cut on top of the water colors is so striking just awesome!

  27. Fabulous cards, Laura, love the watercoloured background with a clean and simple die cut at the front. Very eye-catching!

  28. A perfect combo — your gorgeous watercolor papers with these fantastic dies. Easy,but it packs a HUGE punch.

  29. Great water color background. Must drag out my watercolors and give it a go. Thanks Laura, love your work.

  30. Both your cards are beautiful. Love the watercolour technique and your video, you always make me laugh. Great job. Thanks for sharing and for the chance to win.

  31. Your cards are beautiful, I love the watercolor background and the colors that you used. Thanks for the inspiration.

  32. Beautiful watercolors for his and hers cards! You make it looks so easy to watercolor. Thanks for sharing.

  33. My best friend’s oldest son was also born on Mother’s Day. Love the free and easy water colored backgrounds of your cards. Thanks

  34. Love both of your cards and the watercolor backgrounds you used! So colorful—perfect for each gender! Perfect choice! TFS!

  35. Laura your cards are gorgeous as always, the full card dies are fab but your water colouring is scrumptious, it is my favourite technique at the moment x

  36. Fabulous, colorful cards! Love the watercolor BG and I always get a giggle out of your videos!

  37. Your cards are so beautiful and your videos make me laugh! I’m always excited to see a new video show up!!

  38. As always Lauren your cards are wonderful. I love these simple ideas for these cards. Love the watercolor background.

  39. Two great cards…simple but very so very effective! I loved the video with the clear instructions and the fun commentary about life in your home. Thanks so much for the great teaching and entertainment, too!

  40. Love watercolor and your backgrounds for your cards. They are both beautiful and the die cuts were perfect against them. I loved your remembrance that you shared with us!

  41. Love!!! I have these same watercolors and love how you make it look so easy and keep it SOOO real!!

  42. You make it look so easy, love both cards! And as usual I keep smiling watching your videos, you are so funny! TFS

  43. I like anything water coloured! You make it look as though even I could do it! ( I promise to keep trying…. LOL)

  44. Oh my goodness…I’m sitting here with my jaw on the floor after watching your video..My hubby wanted to name our oldest Boaz (from the Bible of course) but we didn’t end up using it. I’ve never heard anyone else use it! That’s awesome 🙂

  45. First, I love your videos because they’re lighthearted and entertaining, but also really educational. Thanks for the tips on watercoloring–love the effect behind the diecuts. It also makes me feel a little better to hear you say it takes a long time to make a card. It takes me forever and day. If people only knew. I keep telling myself it’s ephemera so it doesn’t have to be perfect or knock anyone’s socks off, but then, sadly, it is ephemera, so it could well be thrown away in spite of all the time that went into it. Sigh. Gotta focus on the process and not worry about the final product. This looks fun!

  46. Wow…I am so excited about this watercoloring background. I love your designs and have signed up to follow your blog. So glad I found you on this blog hop!

  47. I love the dies in this release. I also love how you watercoloured the background behind the die cut.

  48. Love the water colouring. It always looks so fantastic and it seems so easy I need to try it. Love your stories too 🙂

  49. After seeing these fantastic cards you’ve made, I must give this technique a try! Those amazing colored backgrounds are the perfect background for these wonderful dies done in white! L.O.V.E.

  50. GORGEOUS pair of cards Laura!!!
    The Full Card Dies are AWESOME and when combined with your water colouring they sure make for FAST & BEAUTIFUL creations, I would never have guessed how quick & easy they could be => THANK YOU for sharing your video tutorial and creative inspiration 🙂

  51. Am I the only person who sees the mother full-card cover and hears Stewie from Family Guy? Am I horrible?! LOL But, the cards are FABULOUS. I love the watercolor background!

  52. OMG Laura you’ve done it again wowzers I love both of your cards they are beautiful and amazing you’ve blown me away and left me in awe of how you achieved your watercolor backgrounds. You are just so creative and talented and sure did one amazing and creative job and love how you used SSS new goodies. YOU so ROCK!!!

  53. Great water color technique Laura. Love your style and love your videos…you always make me laugh!

  54. Wow, great cards-you made that look so easy! I’ve always wanted to try watercolor but thought that I wouldn’t do well at it like other people do but now I think I will try it because of your tips-thanks so much! Thanks for the story too, really funny and enjoyable– glad you clarified about the Black Forest-never been there, so I wouldn’t have known. I didn’t really think you were there living like a caveman tho, LOL! TFS!

  55. When I saw these dies this was what I wanted to do with them and Wow I can’t wait to give it a try.

  56. Love the watercolor backgrounds on these cards. I will have to whip out my watercolors and try this!

  57. What great dies for cards for moms and dads. Your watercolor background…so easy to do, yet so beautiful. Thanks.

  58. You have such a great use of color. I love your use of such beautiful and vibrant colors. So pretty.

  59. You make me laugh!! Love your use of watercolors – simple yet really effective. Thanks for sharing.

  60. Love the Black forest area of Germany–very pretty! Great water coloring–amazing what a little ol’ fashioned water coloring can do for a background!

  61. I haven’t really been bit by the water color bug yet, I’ll have to try this though. Seems like a great way to start! Thank you for the inspiration.

  62. This is perfect – I love to see a fast, fun and not to mention easy card as I am such a procrastinator. Thanks for a great set of cards!

  63. First time I have watched a video using watercoloring. Very pretty and looks quick and easy. That’s what I like! Thanks for sharing.

  64. Your cards are awesome, as usual! I don’t think you have made a card I didn’t love! The wc background colors on these are amazing!

  65. I love your techniques with watercolors and the backgrounds set off the dies perfectly! Thanks so much Laura!!!

  66. Love the simplicity of the cards – watercolor effect is cool and the dies are quick. Thank you.

  67. I haven’t done any watercoloring since grade school, but you may have finally inspired me to give it a go. You make it look so easily and doable and STUNNING! Thanks for the inspiration.

  68. Ooh, I like the watercolor look. And so easy. Thank you for sharing, and the fun story about your son and Schwartzwald.

  69. Your watercolor backgrounds are absolutely fabulous! Just beautiful! (I can’t wait to see the new SSS ink colors!)

  70. What else can I say about these watercolour backgrounds that hasn’t been said here already ?They are pure ink genius

  71. Love of each one set!
    My favorites:
    Expectant Mother Stamp & Die Set
    FATHER’S & MOTHER’S DAY Stamp Set
    BUTTERFLY DRIFT Craft Die
    STARS PARADE Craft Die
    Thanks for sharing this awesome projects!

  72. These dies look fantastic against your watercolor backgrounds. I really appreciate watching you make your backgrounds because I think it helps me paint better. I bought your same watercolor set the first time I watched you use it. It’s really great!

  73. OH MY GOODNESS! you are brilliant. amazing. wonderful. i am so in love with your cards!!!!!!!!!!! My jaw hit the floor when I saw these 🙂

  74. Wow…what a wonderful release and blog hop…so much to see and do…loving all the products and creations. Thanks for sharing and inspiring me.

  75. Such pretty cards – love the water colored backgrounds. Great tutorial too.
    isoscia at aol dot com

  76. Laura, your watercolor backgrounds look so great and so easy. Just got some Tim Holtz paper, and I can try them. Can’t wait. Thanks for sharing.

  77. I love watching you work, you make it look like it’s going to be “messy” and it turns out great. Loving the watercolor. I’m going to be trying that.

  78. These cards are so great! I love the die cut card front backed with the watercolors. This is a technique I’m going to have to try. Nice that it’s quick, too.

  79. I especially love the backgrounds on these cards! Thanks for your wonderful ideas!
    someluckydog at gmail dot ocm

  80. I LOVE water coloring! It’s my new favorite technique! Thanks for all the inspiration!!!

    Happy Easter!!!!!

  81. Pingback: blog hop simon says stamp new release | The Daily Marker

  82. Pingback: blog hop simon says stamp new release

Leave a Reply

