Virginia’s View Challenge #2

V.V. Challenge #2Hi there! Today I have the pleasure of joining my sweet friend, Virginia and her second challenge. This month’s theme will most likely be as popular as  last month’s watercolor theme. Stencils are all the rage right now and I had a couple of ideas that I wanted to try so here goes.
Virginia's View Challenge #2The first card uses the new Mom stencil by Simon Says Stamp and some masking and ink blending.
Virginia's View Challenge #2This second card features a fun technique that I’ve been wanting to try ever since I saw it on Donna’s amazing blog. Here’s a little video to show you how I made these cards.

Be sure and head over to Virginia’s challenge blog to see some of the fabulous entries so far. I hope you feel inspired to get out your stencils and play along! Thanks so much, Virginia, for having me and thanks for stopping by!

31 thoughts on “Virginia’s View Challenge #2

  1. Awesome techniques, Laura! LOVE your rainbow stripes on the first card – so cool! And I love how your second card turned out! I need to try that too – beautiful results!

  2. You are such a talented and sweet card maker, Laura! I am truly blessed to know you and met you…thank you SO much for the inspiration that you give us in this new challenge blog! PS: I totally would make you Egg Roll every week if I live close by…

  3. OK, so I guess the next road trip will be to Canada for some egg rolls, right?!? Or to surprise Cristina at one of her downtown book signings : )

    You’ve surprised me … I’m usually a fan of the clean and graphic lines like your first card, but your second one with the wispy leaf impression completely stole my heart.

  4. Well done, Miss Laura! I LOVE how your water stencil stamping turned out–thanks for the shout out! I’m smitten with the first card and all that rainbow goodness!

  5. These cards are amazing, Laura. Love the bright colors on the first card and the technique on the second card! 🙂

  6. Gorgeous cards! And I still regret missing meeting up with all of you that day – I was in Chicago, too, and spent the afternoon with Kelly, but my daughter and I had a ‘date’ at American Girl when you all met up for dinner! Love these techniques – I’m still working up to using a stencil, but I love that ‘wet’ technique!

  7. Gorgeous cards, Laura! I love the clean linear stripes in the first one, and how you played with Donna’s technique on the second one! Thank you so much for another fun video…I ALWAYS enjoy watching them!
    PS: Sounds like you girls had so much fun in Chicago!

  8. Two quick cards…with Stunning results and not too much effort. You are amazing! Fun storytelling too:)

  9. great cards Laura….I love the results. So happy that Virginia asked you to play along.
    I am really hoping to meet up with her at Scrapfest again this wknd here in town.

  10. Wonderful use of the stencils. Thsnks for showing us the leaf stencil technique that Donna used.

  11. Stunning creations as usual, Laura! Those bright colors, the cool technique…you’ve got it all goin’ on! And as for your video…well, the Academy should be contacting you any day now! lol. Have a great week. : )

  12. Your blog is new to me, and found it thanks to Iron Craft! After watching this video had to sponge Distress Ink on a card front, and spritzed stamps with water, using them instead of a stencil, since I don’t have any stencils. Wow! It was fun, easy and so pretty. Thanks for the inspiration, great idea & this is one of my favorite card ideas ever. Thanks! Pat

  13. Pingback: Hello Baby Card - simplysweetsbyhoneybee.com

Leave a Reply

