Life is Beautiful

Hello again! Today I’m back with the Papertrey Ink team for our second group post featuring the new Life is Beautiful stamp set and coordinating dies.PTI~Life is BeautifulJust when you thought you thought the butterfly trend was over, Nichole revives it with these fabulous images and sentiments. My first card is a super simple one. I wanted to really showcase the butterfly images with fun overlapping colors.
PTI~Life is BeautifulMy next card focuses more on the coordinating dies. I layered some die cut butterflies and framed them using the new Instant Photo 1 die.
PTI~Life is BeautifulI used some PTI papers as well as some scrap papers and heart embellishment from an older Studio Calico card kit. This card was inspired by the amazing Claudia Shadler. I just love her creations so much.
PTI~Life is BeautifulFor my last card, I used the smaller butterfly die to create a stencil to use with embossing paste.
PTI~Life is BeautifulI stamped the card front using the Background Basics: Super Chevrons in soft stone ink.
PTI~Life is BeautifulI used the PTI ink refills to color my embossing paste, and smeared each color on one at a time. I finally broke down and bought those palette knives. Up until now I’ve been using a gift card to apply my paste because I’m a redneck and thought I could get by without all the highfalutin utensils. I have to say, the palette knives are mucho mejor! So much easier and more efficient.
PTI~Life is BeautifulI should mention that I layered about three of the butterfly die cuts to get some thickness and adhered it to the paper with temporary adhesive. After I smoothed out the paste, I carefully pulled up the butterfly with my highfalutin tweezers. Another purchase that I never knew I couldn’t live without.
PTI~Life is BeautifulSo, so cool, isn’t it? And talk about getting more mileage out of your dies, right? Gotta love that.
PTI~Life is BeautifulI can’t wait to see what the rest of the team came up with. I just know it’s gonna knock my knickers off. Let’s go check them out!
Nichole • Betsy • Dawn • Heather • Melissa • Laurie • Maile • Erin • Danielle • Ashley

49 thoughts on “Life is Beautiful

  1. Beautiful cards – I love the big bold butterfly! I can’t imagine butterflies not being in style anymore – they are like the “jelly” to spring’s “peanut butter”….lol. Which leads me to my question – just who are these people that tell us when something is trendy or not trendy? I bet they the same people that used to tell us that we couldn’t wear gold & silver jewelry at the same time!! 😉
    BTW some of the best mixed media artists use a gift/credit card instead of a palette knife so you are in good company!!

  2. Three amazing projects (oh, how I love those Soft Stone backgrounds)! And that last card… WOW!! A brilliant use of dies, embossing paste and those highfalutin utensils!

  3. I am WOWED by each of these cards! I’m so going to copy them each…especially the stencil one!!! Thanks, Laura!

  4. Oh Laura, that last card is gonna give me sleepless nights until I can find some time to craft and case it totally….It is droolworthy

  5. I was hoping to see some use embossing paste with these new butterflies! Love the ombré effect you created using your new highfalutin utensils!! You crack me up Laura!

  6. Oh, wow, Laura, all of your cards are so fabulous! I can’t wait to get these dies and try that embossing paste technique! I guess I need some reinkers now, too…..

  7. Love all the creative ways you used the butterfly dies! Your creations are absolutely beautiful!!

  8. Always beautiful and inspiring! I don’t know which I love more but I do know I’m going to CASE them!

  9. My, oh my. The embossing paste butterfly is stunning. And just so you don’t feel alone…I thought I could live without that highfalutin’ tweezers too. I was so wrong!

  10. I hope butterflies don’t fall out of fashion–I love them and they lend themselves so well to endless interpretation–as you so masterfully demonstrated. These cards are all delightful and inspiring. Always have to remember that nearly all my card recipients don’t read the card blogs so they don’t know what’s trendy and what isn’t. Swarms of butterflies coming their way. I’m gonna have to try that embossing paste. Even ombre isn’t getting old when I see it used this way.

  11. Just WOW Laura! Many beautiful ideas and good tips to get more use out of the products. And a new word to learn, I just want to keep coming back for more. Thank you for sharing your talent.

  12. Love all of your beautiful butterfly cards, Laura! I especially like how you used your cut out butterfly die as a mask with the embossing paste!! I don’t think butterflies will ever go out of style–their beauty is remarkable and their meaning in life is that of transformation and eternal hope. I Love those butterflies!! Fabulous cards today, Laura!! XOXO-Shari

  13. Laura you are the best!!! These cards are amazing!!!! I can’t wait to play with with these products! Your butterflies look like they will fly off of your cards, so life like!! I have some questions for you regarding your photos. What type of camera do you use, where do you shot your photos, what time of day do you shot your photos and/or do you use a lightbox?

  14. LOVE!!! The paste is so cool, but that second is my favorite, love all the layers to the butterfly!

  15. You have showcased these butterflies so beautifully, Laura! And I thought I didn’t ‘need’ another butterfly stamp and die set…what was I thinking? I love all of your cards, especially how you used the 2-toned embossing paste…WOW!
    Thanks for making me smile with your ‘Redneck’ comment…I’m so happy for you that you added some highfalutin tools to your arsenal 🙂

  16. As always, this post is choke-full of inspiration! I adore all of the butterfly cards, but the last one with the embossing paste is just so awesome!! LOVE!

  17. I always get a laugh when you use words like ‘redneck’ and ‘highfaluten’, oh and by-the-way your designs today are awesome (same as every other day really LOL!) x

  18. Oh, so pretty! My fave is the last with the embossing paste–I do hope you saved that butterfly!

  19. All beautiful cards. Thanks for showing different ways of using the same stamps and dies.

  20. Butterflies revived is right! Love how the just stamped card and how the images frame it so beautifully and the embossing past is beyond awesome!

  21. Beautiful! Thank you so much for sharing this. The idea and the colors are just great. I really need to get some reinkers!

Leave a Reply

