Mama Elephant and Operation Write Home Blog Hop

OWHME blog hop graphicToday I’m joining Mama Elephant & Operation Write Home for a fabulous blog hop. If you are following the hop, then you should have arrived here from the lovely Kathy Racoosin’s blog.

We’re so excited to be partnering this summer with Operation Write Home – they are a nonprofit that sends beautiful handmade cards to our service members so that they can write home to their families. Isn’t that just the best? There’s no Hallmark store in the desert, so this is a pretty important gift we can give them as crafters!

Our “In My heart” set was inspired by the mission of OWH; we know that many of those serving overseas have little kiddos at home that they write to. So we designed cute little kids and sentiments to express just how much those little folks are missed! The drawings are done in such a way that they can be adapted to different ethnicities too, making this a really flexible set. We’ll be donating 20% of the proceeds of the stamp sets sold on our retail site from now until July 31st – we really want to help them fundraise for all their efforts!

We also know you’ll want to join in on the mission to serve the troops – be sure you visit the OWH website and read all the guidelines carefully….you’ll learn about why glitter is dangerous to send, so leave the stickles behind when making cards for heroes! Lots more information is available on their Welcome page – tons of questions are answered there! And they have a fun YouTube show each weekday with project info, tutorials, and more – check it out HERE.

Here’s another look at the outstanding new In My Heart stamp set. I am completely in love with it and even more so now when I think about how it can encourage our troops through OWH’s mission.

IN MY HEARTI wanted to create a more patriotic card for the hop, so here’s what I came up with:
Mama Elephant~In My HeartI used the new Starburst Cover die for my starry background. Before I die cut the background, I blended in some Salty Ocean for a gradient night sky. Then I used the Landscape trio dies for the hill. For the tiny flag, I used a printable found here and scaled it down by 50% and then glued it onto a chopped off toothpick.
Mama Elephant~In My HeartYou’re next stop on the hop is the talented Ashley Marcu. Here is the complete blog hop list:

Thanks so much for hopping by!

 

52 thoughts on “Mama Elephant and Operation Write Home Blog Hop

  1. Wonderful card for the troops! I used to send them batches of cards, too! I haven’t in awhile; I really need to start doing that again.

  2. Love, love, love this idea for an “Any Hero” card! I’m planning to CASE it for an OWH card making party that we’re hosting in August. Thanks for sharing.

  3. OMG talk about a tug at my heart strings. Your card is so precious and adorable and woie what impeccable coloring skills. Girl you are so clever, creative and oh so talented.

  4. Such a darling card, and perfect for OWH, Laura! Love your cute little flag…so clever, and your scene is so sweet!

  5. Such a wonderful card and idea with the little flag and toothpick! Very inspiring indeed! Thank you for sharing!

  6. Such a sweet scene! Great idea to use part of a toothpick for the flag. I just love everything about this card. Thanks for the inspiration!

  7. Love the flag – guess I could wrangle a flag sticker for a similar look. Will HAVE to get that starry night die cut! Thanks for being part of the bloghop today.

  8. Adorable card I love your sky it looks like that time of night when you have just a bit longer for the fire works to boom, boom, boom!!

  9. What a great card! I love all of the wonderful details you added from the die cut starry sky to the little flag in the focal image’s hand. Just too sweet!

  10. Pingback: blog hop for a great cause plus a few tips

Leave a Reply

