PTI~Phrase Play #8

Hi there! Today I’m joining Papertrey Ink as we highlight some of the new September release. I’m featuring the new Phrase Play #8 stamp set with coordinating die.PTI~Phrase Play #8For my first card, I created a background using the Ombre Builders stamp set, and then I layered up the “joy” die cut to give it some thickness. This card could be a really fun congrats card for any situation, don’t you think?
PTI~Phrase Play #8I really wanted to show how this die can be used in many different ways and for many different occasions.
PTI~Phrase Play #8For this next card, I went all Christmas-sy. Instead of using the positive, I used the negative part of the die cut. I tilted the die cut, cropping off the edges and added a sentiment from the new Keep It Simple: Christmas stamp set.
PTI~Phrase Play #8And for my last card I trimmed the “joy” right out of the Phrase Play #8 die and used it as a stand alone word die cut. I layered three together for thickness and framed it inside an oval adding a few flowers from the Friendly Flowers stamp set.
PTI~Phrase Play #8Funny story behind this card. I needed a dot for the “j”. I just didn’t feel that the star was a good fit for my sentiment and theme, so I went searching for a dot the right size. Easier said than done, but then low and behold I found the perfect little dot amongst my Seasonal Stitching: Ladybug dies. One of the dots on the ladybug was the perfect size to dot my “j”. Ok, that wasn’t really a funny story, but you would’ve laughed if you saw me when I discovered this. Let’s just say I had a moment:)
PTI~Phrase Play #8Make sure and check out Nichole’s blog to see more of the September release. You’re gonna love it! Thanks so much for stopping by!

64 thoughts on “PTI~Phrase Play #8

  1. LOVE both your cards AND your funny story…I get pretty excited over the smallest things too! :0) Been loving your Make it Monday videos too and am so glad you and your creativity are part of the PTI team now! :0)

  2. Very versatile die with a happy message. Sometimes it’s the little things that make us so happy! I love, love, love that ombre background. Gorgeous.

  3. I love today’s cards with the Joy die. The ombré builder stamp set is a treasure. What an awesome background you made!

  4. I am really loving the joy phrase play. Your work is making it clear that it is very versatile and certainly not limited to the holiday season. Thanks for your inspiring creativity!

  5. Love this phrase play set, and all your “joyful” cards!
    And the first one blew me away. Must practice those ombré stripes! Wowza!

  6. You are such a wonderful addition to the PTI team! I would have loved watching you create that ombré background. The majority of what I’ve seen with the ombré trend got boring really fast – so much of it seems to be a minor variation of what I saw five minutes earlier. Not so with the beauty you posted here! This is the first time I’ve seen a project that has made me think it could be a lot of fun to play with the set. The biggest stumbling block would be in trying to figure out just how you did it. Thanks so much for sharing your wonderful creations with us, as well as the joyous spirit you bring to the party!

  7. Laura, I love, love, love your cards – as always!! And your posts always leave me smiling! You are so down to earth and real. ; ) Loving your MIM videos too, hope there are lots more in the future.

  8. You sure know how to bring ‘Joy’ into your cardmaking, Laura! I love how you paired this die with the Ombre’ Builders stamp set, and your Christmas card is stunning! My fave is the last one…especially knowing what you went through to get just the ‘right dot’ for this card! I completely understand how you felt when it came together, too 🙂

  9. I love this new phrase play, and you really showed it off so well! LOVE that background you created on the first card and I’m loving the sentiments!

  10. What fabulous cards Laura!! I LOVE the ombre one at the top and your story about how you found the dot for the J was cute. I was thinking how I could adapt that die too for an all occasion card and what I could use for a dot. You answered it for me!!

  11. That striped background you stamped is gorgeous! At first I thought it was some awesome patterned paper but it’s even cooler that you made it! Love the jaunty angle of the second card and those flowers look gorgeous against the soft stone cardstock of the third card.

  12. Pingback: Joy | Cardography

  13. Pingback: Crossing Lines at TAWS (video)! | Lostinpaper

Leave a Reply

