Cold Hands, Warm Heart Blog Hop

chwhhop
Hello there! Today I am very excited to be joining Simon Says Stamp for their Cold Hands, Warm Heart blog hop. If you are following the hop then you should have arrived here from the one of my favorites, Jennifer McGuire’s blog. This is a super duper fun winter release. I love products that make you smile and allow you to make cards that make others smile. This new Ugly Sweater stamp set is absolutely hilarious. I’m not sure what’s better, the images or the sentiments. They both just make me laugh.
SSS~Ugly SweaterI had so much fun creating my custom ugly sweaters with all of the fun little images that come in the sets as well as the coordinating dies. I did some masking, Copic coloring as well as adding details with a white Signo gel pen and glossy accents. I know some people who would totally wear sweaters like these and wear them with pride. I say, “More power to ya, honey. Get your ugly on and work it.”
SSS~Ugly SweaterNext up is the Build a Snowman stamp set with coordinating dies. I also used the new Festive Chevron stencil for the background. with some Sea Glass ink.
SSS~Build A SnowmanHow adorable is this snowman holding the strand of lights? I added some googly eyes and drew the smile with my Multiliner pen. The snowy hill was also created using the new Stitched Slopes & Hills dies.
SSS~Build A SnowmanAnd my last card features the new Snow Gear stamp set as well as the coordinating dies.
SSS~Snow GearThis one here definitely got my Canadian hockey lovin’ husband’s approval. This card kinda reminds me of our basement. Just times the gear by ten. We have a whole corner full of hockey sticks, pucks, skates and gear for days down there and it all smells like…well, it smells awful to put it nicely. They have so much fun using all of it, so it’s worth the smell, I guess?
IMG_3244
Skating on the pond is what we do best during the holidays, and getting new gear for Christmas is always on the wish list.
SSS~Snow GearSimon will be giving away a grab bag Prize Pack to 1 commenter on each blog hop hostess’s blog. The giveaways for the prize pack will close at 1:00pm EST on Friday, October 10, 2014. A complete winners list will be posted on the Simon blog on Friday October 10, 2014. Leave me a comment for your chance to win!!!
grabbagYour next stop on the hop is the incredibly talented and wonderful Sandy Allnock. Thanks so very much for stopping by!

What I used:

New stamps:

New dies:

New Stencils:

New inks & accessories:

755 thoughts on “Cold Hands, Warm Heart Blog Hop

  1. Pingback: Video: Layering Texture Paste + Blog Hop + Giveaways! | Jennifer McGuire Ink

  2. Wonderful cards! I especially enjoyed the ugly sweater card 🙂 thank you for the chance to win some new stuff from SSS.

  3. Ugly sweaters – too, too funny! I also love the other two cards, especially the Snow Gear set – great for a stellar hockey playing niece!

  4. Dang it, Laura! You can always turn a “I can live without anything” release into a “oh gosh, I gotta have that” release!!

  5. I love all your cards! The ugly sweaters are fun, and I love the strand of lights with the snowman. And I think it’s really cool you could create the one with the gear that’s such a fit for your family.

  6. Laura, your work is so clean, precise, perfectly executed – you are just brilliant! I love them all. Thank you for sharing!

  7. Love love your cards, as always, but i just love love your Ice skating card and the hockey stick. Just great.

  8. ugly sweater(s)… Who can not like this…live in Florida now and we always go to the ugly sweater neighborhood party and sweat a lot…….this makes me laugh.

  9. Laura i just love your work you are such talent, thank you for sharing your beautiful cards and for the chance to participate in this giveaway!!!

  10. Great ugly sweater card! I know someone who wears them. New one each year. =X.
    What a beautiful family you have! Lucky girl!

  11. I love your cards. Funny thing is that I remember back when I thought “Ugly Sweaters” were really pretty and stylish.

  12. Oh what fun cards! Love the ugly sweater one…just so much fun! My sister-in-law is one that loves those sweaters! Your blog is always a fun place to visit.

  13. I love that photo of your kids! And your cards? All fantastic!! Love that ugly sweater set – so much fun and your coloring is amazing, Laura! ♥

  14. This Ugly Sweater set is just too much fun! You have a beautiful family Laura; I love that you often share a little part of your private world with your followers. Thank you!

  15. Great cards with the great new Simon stuff. Love the layers on the new gear card and your sweaters look very wearable:)

  16. I know too well the smell you mentioned, I have 4 boys who loved playing hockey! Your cards are so delightful.

  17. Your ugly sweaters really are ugly! LOL I don’t think I would ever have figured out how to effectively use that fancy chevron stencil. Thanks for all the ideas.
    tonilea

  18. Love love the card with the skates. My great niece took her first skating lesson and this will be perfect.

  19. Laura, your argyle sweater really made me laugh! They are all great. The ice skates card is a wonderful card, too.

  20. Laura, that snowman is adorable! And the second card with the skates and hockey sticks is perfect for your family.

  21. I may just have to get the new gear stamp and dies. What a cute card! I also have a Canadian hockey lovin’ husband so I totally know what you mean!! Thanks for sharing.

  22. Love the colorful sweaters, the background to the snowman card and great hockey card minus the smell of your basement!

  23. The ugly sweater card made me giggle! And i love the picture you shared! My 6 siblings and i had a lot of similar gear for our winter skate parties on the lake near our home! So fun and winter is on its way! 🙂

  24. Absolutely nothing ugly about those sweaters!! Also love the use of hockey gear for a christmas card – very original

  25. OMG Laura talk about the best cards ever….first off Love the pic of everyone on the lake oh what fun they are having and I can so picture you out there skating I’m sure you all do have a skatin’ great time and the card you made with the skates, hockey stick & puck is funtabulous!!
    Love your sweater card OMG I swear I’ve had a few of the thru the years LOL and felt really cool wearing them too. Super fun card and awesome stamping and coloring. Your Frosty card is adorabs. I just love Snowmen they rock my winters. YOU just rocked my Day!!

  26. Loved all three cards. Love the snowman, the ugly sweaters and the snow gear I just adore. Great release ideas.

  27. Cute cards. I like how you filled empty spots with holly on the ugly sweater card. The light string on the snowman and the simplicity of the hockey card. Thanks for sharing.

  28. Ooooooh. I saw the sweater card in the sneak peak and that it the reason I have been counting down the days for this release. I ADORE this card and the other one as well. 🙂

  29. Oh my gosh…the ugly sweater stamp set just makes me laugh! I’ve gotta have it! The skates bring back so many carefree childhood memories. I still have my skates, with the pom poms tied to the laces. Hahaha! Love the photo of your kiddos. What a handsome family!

  30. Love your cards, I really like the chevron behind the very cute snowman. I think I’d like to try this! Your sweaters are pretty awful. My aunt used to wear the red snowflake vest by the way.

  31. That string of lights is the cutest thing ever. I can see them in all clear, several strings, done in the summer like they do in backyards down here in the south.

  32. Such great examples of the new SS Cold Hands Warm Heart release. The Build a Snowman stamp set and dies are my fave!

  33. Great cards, Laura! I must admit that I am in the ugly sweater camp, but not as much as I used to be when I was a corporate trainer. I loved to see the students try to hide their “amazement” at my holiday outfits. Ha-ha!

  34. Loved that post – you’re a hoot Laura! Probably theeee most impressive one layer cards I’ve seen…thank you for sharing your talents!

  35. Love the cards! tfs… I have several ugly sweater wearin relatives who would get a kick out of that card!

  36. Your posts always delight me as much as wearing my ugly Christmas sweater. Thanks for making me giggle and inspiring me with your awesome cards.

  37. So glad you revisited the ugly xmas sweater issue!! We all need the reminder to laugh our way towards the holiday season!! 🙂

  38. Ugly sweaters are the best sweaters! Gives the older generation another reason to wear our ole sweaters again!! lol Thanks

  39. Love your cards! Neat how the stencil on the snowman card gives the impression of trees in the background. Thanks for the great ideas!

  40. The ugly sweaters set is very funny. We did an office party a few years ago with this theme and it was hilarious!!! Love your coloring.

  41. What a nice variety in your trio of cards. There are so many new, fun stamps being previewed on this blog hop! Thanks for the opportunity to win some wonderful new toys!

  42. What beautiful cards you’ve created here. Thank you for sharing these. The little snowman with his string of lights it adorable. I love the hockey gear dies.

  43. What beautiful cards! Wow, how I so love the sweater card. Beautiful coloring and designs you’ve added to the sweaters. Just georgous!!! That snowman is just the sweetest. Just love you’re ideas.

  44. LOVE the ugly sweater card! So fun, and of course I was totally psyched to see the hockey stick/puck….you have to talk to Simon about those skates though! We need some hockey skates!!!

  45. Gahh!! I Love all these cards, especially the snowman one, I love the accents on the lights, so realistic! LOVE!

  46. Your cards always touch my heart and make me sigh or make me laugh like the ugly sweater card which I must say has excellent coloring. You are very talented and a wonderful person.

  47. I like each and every card you’ve created for today’s blog hop. Each card is so different yet skillfully created. Great jb.

  48. The cards are adorable! The sweaters really aren’t ugly (very cute). Love the skating card, you create the feel of skating! Snowman is really fun. Love the tree feel you got with the stencil.

  49. You are such a riot, Laura! I can hear you saying…”Get your ugly on and work it”! LOL!
    Your cards are absolutely GORGEOUS! I can’t even pick a favorite, but I will say that your kids’ photo just melts my heart! There’s nothing in the whole world like a bunch of happy kids! Thanks so much for enabling us with all these wonderful new goodies 🙂

  50. Always a delight to read your blogs and listen to your videos! Thanks for sharing the pix of the kids! Back to the cards — the ugly sweater card is simply adorable. You really make the stamps rock. I do admit to really loving the string of lights with the snowman.

  51. I LOVE that snowman card! That neat stencil background give is a real graphic feel! REALLY neat! And your family picture is awesome-makes me a little wistful though since I don’t have one. I enjoy yours though. 🙂

  52. Such great cards!! Your “Get your ugly on and work it” comment made me laugh. As well as the anecdote about the smelly corner in the basement! Your blog, as always, was lovely to stop at! =)

  53. LOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOVE your cards..oh my that first one so super fun!
    and love the new goods too!

  54. Terrific cards!!! I especially like how you used the Festive Chevron stencil as a background on the snowman card. The picture of your kids brought back great memories of skating on the lake when I was growing up. 🙂

  55. That last stamp set you used is perfect for you and your family! Even the sentiment if they’re getting new hockey gear! Pretty cool (:
    By the way… very cute cards!!

  56. Love the sweaters…………I remember when we wore them and no one thought they were ugly LOL! Boy am I old. LOL LOL LOL can’t stop laughing.

  57. This is the season to be uglyyy. MAY all ur sweaters be UGLY and BRIGHT …….All ur cards are great and so the stamps by SSS

  58. A really great family photo. I love the build a snowman set and its a nice size to make a focal point on a project. The ugly sweaters are definitely the bomb.

  59. Your ugly sweater card is just too funny for words. It is so bright and colorful. How could anyone not just laugh as soon as they opened that in the mail. I know I would. Fantastic job!

  60. Your cards are always created to perfection and I love all of them. I love how you decorated the “ugly” sweaters and the gear card is very cute. My favorite has to be the snowman…but as I said all the cards are perfect.

  61. I love using multiple stamp sets to make a card and I love the sentiments on your cards. They are so cute……….

  62. Love the skating pic….can’t skate anymore on ponds since I moved…..miss it!
    Tx for cards & inspiration!

  63. Love, love, LOVE that they came out with the hockey stick and puck! Thanks for sharing and for the chance to win!

  64. WOW….love your sweater card. Wish you had a video showing how you colored these. The snowman is really cute….both cards are amazing.

  65. You’re such an inspiration with EVERY release of ANY and ALL new products! Love your work!!!
    Absolutely think the ugly sweater card is the best!

  66. I Love how you popped up some of the sweaters it really makes an impact. Oh and the Lights with the snowman, Oh so Cute! Very Nice Cards!

  67. Hi Laura!
    AWESOME CARDS! Love the beautiful Copic coloring and design of each card! Thanks for sharing…Have a fabulous day! 🙂

  68. Ha, ha totally agree, there is something about the ugly sweater set that warms the heart.
    Thanks for making me smile this morning:-)

  69. I sooo dig the ugly sweater card and the skates one. I’m all into winter and miss having real cold, snowy and bright winterdays here in Germany. Thanks

  70. Such lovely cards. I was super excited to see a hockey stick thrown into the mix of stamps and dies and I love your use. Plus the snowman and sweater cards are excellent too.

  71. Wow! You did some beautiful coloring. Your cards are so crisp and fresh looking. I will be checking out your blog in the future. “-)

  72. The ugly sweaters has to be by far my favorite of the release! I love the way you colored them! Your cards are always so nice and clean. LOVE THEM ALL!

  73. Laura- you so crack me up! Leave it to you to mention the smell of the hockey yuck!
    Your cards are brilliant, as always!

  74. You have a lovely family. I love the ugly sweater stamp/die set. My best friend is very into ugly sweaters. I am so grateful that she hasn’t felt the need to gift me one. Thank you for sharing your cards.

  75. Love all your cards but especially the ugly sweater card n of course the snowman. Sure wish u had videos of them! Love your videos, they crack me up!

  76. Love your winter gear card and your family on the ice. I’m from Alabama and can’t even being to imagine skating on ice not in a rink. Most of the winter I don’t even wear a coat.

  77. Love all the stamps and cards, but the photo of the kids with the hockey gear and the mention of the lovely “smell” made me giggle, and remember my growing up years in MN, of course lots of hockey playing there!

  78. These cards are adorable. The ugly sweater card reminds me of the closet full of sweaters I used to have. The snowman card is so cute I love the lights. Most of all I like the crispness of the simple cars with the ice skates and hockey stick, that is something I don’t see everyday on a card. Loved them all.

  79. I still have a bunch of “ugly” Christmas sweaters. I love them and love your cards-beautiful coloring. The hockey card is really cute too.

  80. Hahaha I am sure everyone has one of those “bright” sweater somewhere in the closet!! Love the snowman and skate card Laura!!

  81. You really went to town with these stamps and dies! I love the bright fun colors and the little touches of glossy accents are perfect! Thanks so much for sharing!

  82. Love them all! The snowman is adorable & the winter gear is so bright & cheery. The ugly sweaters make me smile!

  83. I love these! The ice skating card is my favorite. I’ll have to get those stamps. And of course the ugly sweater card is priceless!

  84. Cute cards. I thought my favourite was the ugly sweaters, but now I’ve seen the snow gear and snowman I’m not so sure.

  85. Adorbs, Laura, especially your hockey-loving family…the ugly sweaters (IRL) not so much. Those parties got really old fast for me but then maybe I’m just a party-pooper. Great job as always, Laura!

  86. All great cards! Love the ugly sweaters, the sweet snowman and all the snow gear (love that sentiment)!

  87. Great cards Laura! Those ugly sweaters make me laugh too. The Canadian in me adores your last card…awesome!

  88. I really like the use of the stencil and the color on the card the the snowman. It reminds me of the aurora effect in the sky of “Rudolf the Red-nosed Reindeer”. Very well crafted cards!

  89. I don’t care what anyone says, I think those sweaters are cute and I would wear them if I had them. Great cards today. I love them all.

  90. Great job on all your cards. I love these sets. Your kids look like they are having a great time! I’m in Texas and we only get a few days of snow/ice if we’re lucky.

  91. Love your 3 different cards – all so fabulous in their own ways. Great pic of the hockey loving kids too – totally cute.

  92. LOVE the ugly sweater card, too funny. LOL And the sweet snow man with his Christmas lights and the hockey gear. Locker room smell? Is it worse than the “earthy” hunting clothes smell? You know, like you’ve been holed up under a stump. HaHa! And the Scent Away laundry detergent and dryer sheets smell just like it. And when all of the hunting clothing is in the suburban, I’m like, why did I even comb my hair? I’m going to smell like a tree stump when I get out… I wouldn’t get away with using any Lysol, but you might. 😉

  93. Awesome cards! I just love the Build a Snowman stamp set! Your snowman is the cutest!! Thanks for the inspiration!

  94. I adore your cards! Love the stencilled background on the snowman card- I want that stencil!! 🙂 Hockey is such a fun team sport; glad your kiddos love it…(say this Canadian lady!).

  95. Oh goodness, your cards are just adorable! I cant decide which one is my favorite…the ugly sweater one or the snowman with the lights….it’s close!

  96. I love each of the cards you make, Laura, but I must say the hockey stick & skate card stole my Canadian heart this time around. Great job!

  97. I must have smell-a-vision because I am sure I can smell your basement Laura 🙂
    LOVE the FUN & FABULOUS cards you have shared with us today!!!
    I think I could spend weeks stamping & coloring ugly sweaters!!!
    Your snowman is so cute with his googly eyes & strand of lights, LOVE the Festive Chevron background too, another MUST-HAVE!!!
    THANK YOU for sharing your CREATIVE INSPIRATION!!!

  98. It is way to hot here for ugly sweaters and I am now jealous of how great it wold have been to dress my kids in them and have fab photos. xx

  99. I love all the cards but the ugly sweater is hilarious. You kids are beautiful. Thanks for sharing that picture. They look like they are having lots of fun!

  100. I love all of your cards! BUT the hockey skates card and post got me the most! Being a Hockey Mom to 3 boys, I can totally relate to everything you said (especially the equipment smell in the basement! ) lol! TFS!

  101. I think that these cards may be my favourite on the blog hop, especially the sweater one. But the snowman and skating ones are so adorable. I didn’t realize how much I needed those stamp sets in my life until I saw how you used them haha.

  102. My three brothers were hockey players and I sure remember that smell!! The ugly sweater set is so funny and your snowman is sooooooo cute-Love him!! Love the family pic too, great memories to keep!

  103. That ugly sweater set just fascinates me! I would’ve never thought of some of the creative ways I’ve seen on this blog hop to use that set.

  104. Love all your cards–but really love, love, love that snowman holding the string of lights!! Thanks for sharing your talents and for the chance to win.

  105. Your cards are SUPER cute!! I love the colors you used, especially on the ugly sweater card. Thanks for sharing.

  106. I just love the snowman card with the string of lights. And, as a Florida resident, let me just say I’m in love with the hockey picture!

  107. You’ve given your kids a wonderful life with the love of hockey and the exercise and fun they get with it!! Good job Mom!! That you endure the smell shows that your are a GREAT mom!!!! Love your cards too!! Hugs, H in HeaLDSburg

  108. three fun cards – I am a sucker for the snowman one – although I don’t want the “snow” to start falling yet thanks for sharing

  109. I love your card, and it’s aways so much more fun when stamp sets and dies have a personal link! Your ice hockey husband suddenly has his own stamp set, yay!!

  110. I kind of like those sweaters. I don’t consider them ugly, just seasonal. 🙂 Love each of your cards and enjoyed seeing your “home team”!
    ❤ J

    jwoolbright at gmail dot com
    HerPeacefulGarden.blogspot.com

  111. These cards are my fav from the hop. I only wish to be this lucky to win it 🙂 It would be perfect for my hockey player (boyfriend) 🙂

  112. Thought of you and yours when I saw those hockey sticks! Never invite me to spend the night in your basement, though. Love your ugly sweaters. What a fun idea. And just FYI, did you see the link Jennifer M. has on her Fun Finds post about Mr. Hottie (Matthew M.) and Ellen’s spoof of his commercial? Methinks you would love it.

  113. Loved all the cards! The Ugly Sweaters card is so bright and cheerful. The snowman is just too adorable. And the colours and sentiment on the third card are gorgeous!

  114. Love, love, LOOOOOOVE the “New Gear” card! I am always on the look out for sporty cards that I can make for the boys, men and sporty types in my life.

  115. Love these cards! My favorite is definitely the little snow man with his little string of lights! thank you once again for sharing with us 🙂

  116. I love your ugly sweater card! Each year at my husband’s work Christmas party, all the ladies try to find the gaudiest sweaters around & wear them. Then the men vote on who has the worst. It’s a riot. All of your cards are beautiful but that one’s my fave!

  117. What a cool prize! Love the pics with the kids ready for the big game. My hubby is from Niagara Falls and that’s all they do up there. Here the winters are on and off but he did get to play at the local skating rink in his forties again. Great memories triggered from your posting.

  118. Loved the new gear card and the picture of your kids! I live in ND and this is what winter fun looks like here as well!

  119. Always such a pleasure to visit your blog to discover the fantastic projects you create and to soak in the creativity!

  120. The googly eyes make the snowman card! I’m always afraid someone will try to renounce my Canadian Citizenship when I think … I hate hockey!

  121. Your cards are great. I love the subtle use of the chevron stencil on the background of the snowman card. Very inspiring…

  122. Hard to choose a favorite – all three are amazing and so different. I hope you NEVER get tired of stamping cause we’ll never get tired of watching you. :0)

  123. Hi Laura, I’m so happy to meet you and to get a chance to see all three of your great cards. I have to tell you I owned that brown sweater with the Christmas tree on it. lmbo. I also hated it from the moment I made the mistake of buying it for week full of fun at work. Hehee. I also think that is one of the cutest snowmen cards I have seen. He’s just so sweet with his strand of lights. Then, I love your cards with the hocky gear. It is simple, but it packs a big punch. Great pictures of the family. Unfortunately I know exactly how your room smells. hehee My baby brother was in every sport there is and boy oh boy did that gear smell up our house. However, you truly can’t put a price on memories and your card has really brought back some great ones for me. Thanks so much for sharing. Hugs Lisa G

  124. Adorable ugly sweater card… although it’s hard to find the ugly in it, haha! And I love the googly eyes on the snowman, adorbs ❤

  125. WOW!!!! Laura, I cannot pick a favorite of your cards! They’re ALL FABULOUS! From the Ugly Sweaters to the Stenciled Snow man card to the Gear card! WOW!!!!!!!!! 😀

  126. I like all your cards – they are so cute in different ways. The sweater card is bright and cheerful and makes you chuckle; the snowman is sweet and it’s nice to see a hockey stick to go along with girl’s skates, along with that cute verse.

  127. I am completely in awe of your ink blending skills Laura! And I really love the ugly sweaters card, although there’s no chance we’ll be wearing sweaters in Australia in Christmas!

  128. Awesome cards, Laura. I have a skater in the family so it is my fave of this release. Thanks for the inspiration!

  129. Your cards are always so witty and comical! I enjoy your art of stamping and coloring! One can never get enough of ugly Christmas sweaters! This is by far my fave!

  130. All wonderful cards, Laura! Love the bright colors in your “ugly sweater” card. And that subtle background in the second sets off the snowman perfectly. I would have sworn that snowman was a chipboard sticker! And that awful punny greeting in the last one–“Happy New Gear”? Groan! LOL Thanks for sharing & for bringing a smile to me on a stressful day!

  131. Laura, I rarely comment on these posts where you have a THOUSAND comments, mostly because I wonder if you’ll see my comment amongst the thousands…anyway, I’ll give it a go. I saw your “Happy New Gear” card on Pinterest, and I thought, “Laura B would LOVE this!”. When I clicked on the link, it was your card. I really did laugh out loud. A very, very cool card! 🙂

  132. Pingback: PTI~Festival of Lights & Keep It Simple: Hanukkah | Doublestick Heaven

  133. Pingback: 2014 Holiday Cardmaking Trends | Paper Crave

Leave a Reply

