Caring Hearts Bloghop

PrintHi there! Today I am very honored to be joining some fabulous ladies for the Caring Hearts blog hop. This is Day 2 of the hop. You can head over to Vera Yates blog to find Day 1.

Here’s a little bit more about the Caring Hearts blog hop…
The holidays are just around the corner, filled with opportunities to celebrate with family and friends. But during this special season, many of the elderly who live in nursing homes may be alone and missing their families. Wouldn’t it be awesome to bring smiles to their faces and brighten their holidays? That’s what the Caring Hearts Card Drive is all about! This wonderful card drive was started by Vera Yates and Jennifer McGuire and is in its 5th year of collecting holiday cards to send to the elderly in nursing homes. Please join us in spreading cheer this holiday season with the Caring Hearts Card DriveClick Here for all the details, including what to send and where to send it. Note: All cards must be received by November 28, 2014. For more details, please head to the blogs of Vera Yates or Jennifer McGuire.

SSS~Melody, Abby & RyLynn Snowflake diesI’ve created a card using some of the Simon Says Stamp snowflake dies: Melody, Abby & RyLynn. I used circle die cuts to frame them as well as some ink blending with Audrey Blue, Mint & Fog. I also “smothered” them in glue and coated them with glitter…sounds like I’m frying chicken, lol.
SSS~Melody, Abby & RyLynn Snowflake dies

No hop is complete without prizes!!!
Winners will be chosen randomly based on collective comments left on the designers’s blogs. So be sure to leave loads of love for everyone! You can leave comments until midnight CST Saturday, Nov. 8, 2014.
You are also eligible for MANY more prizes by sending in cards for the card drive.  For more information, visit HERE.
 
Here’s the prize list:
Online Card Classes – class of your choice! (THREE winners.)
Simon Says Stamp – $50 gift certificates
Inspiration emporium – $25 gift certificate
Verve Stamps – $30 gift certificate
Latina Crafter – $15 GC
May Arts – 2 rolls of ribbon
Paper Crafts & Scrapbooking – 1 year free subscription to Paper Crafts & Scrapbooking Magazine
 
I also wanted to mention that I have a winner to announce for my Online Card Class Holiday Workshop giveaway….congrats to Amber Sheaves!
Thanks so much for hopping by!

329 thoughts on “Caring Hearts Bloghop

  1. Awesome snowflake card…very worthy cause! My grandchildren and I have taken and made cards for and elderly care unit here locally…those people love the attention and especially when children visit!

  2. Love the colors and the faded effect. I have seen the Simon Says snowflake dies use before by others, but your desing is by far my favorite.

  3. What a fabulous card with the glittery snowflakes and the hint of ink blending. Thanks for this fabulous opportunity to participate in the card drive. I’m hoping our Daisy girl scout troop can be involved with this good cause too!

  4. Would love to send cards from Cape Town to support your wonderful drive…but the Post Office is on strike so not sending (or receiving) anything lately via post…thank goodness we have the internet 😉
    Thanks for inspiration!

  5. Pingback: winter flower christmas card and blog hop » Lime Doodle Design

  6. I participated last year and can’t wait to get to my craftroom to make a few to send this year . . . I sent 5 last year. Might up that this year as it is such a great cause!!! LOVE the smowflakes!!

  7. The snowflakes are cheerful and colourful. A really nice card Laura. My cards to Caring Heart are in the mail. Thanks for supporting this drive. I have enjoyed entering each year.

  8. Such a gorgeous card! This is the first I’ve learned of this awesome card drive and I will definitely be taking part!

  9. I love the various creative elements you used in this card – shaded backgrounds for the snowflakes, the way they’re framed in the circles, and the dimension.

  10. STUNNING! STUNNING! Did I say STUNNING! You always amaze me with your beautiful cards and I love this for a Christmas card. Simple but so elegant.

  11. I would case this card if I could find my circle punches. They’ve disappeared into the abyss of my craft room! A truly lovely card. I love the way you “fried” up your snowflakes!

  12. Again such beautiful cards in this Blog Hop – And yours is a winner. Thanks for sharing and caring about a great cause.

  13. I love paper snowflakes… real ones are nice, but they’re so cold and they don’t last long in Florida. Love this card format.

  14. Gorgeous card! I will definitely have to CASE this for some of my own cards. Great cause, too. I’ve donated cards locally to facilities where family have stayed. It’s always so nice to see the smiles on their faces!

  15. So elegant. You always come up with some of the most wonderful idea’s and they turn out so good. Love this card and I am sure it will make someone besides me smile. TFS

  16. So beautiful and love how you created the circles to add snowflakes and color in them! Plus I love the sparkle.

  17. I have to start making some cards for this card drive! This is such a great cause, and I would love to be a part of that… Your card is truly stunning. Love the glitzy snowflakes and the soft colors 🙂

  18. Such a pretty card! Thanks for all the info on the card drive! I’m packing up a HUGE stash and will be sending them to Anita (who is practically my neighbor 4 hours away) for distribution!

  19. Hi Laura,
    I love the way you used the circle with the flakes. It’s so wonderful to get some inspiration from some really awesome crafters to refresh old idea’s and get some new one’s. Your card is absolutely stunning. TFS!
    Hugs and Happiness,
    Briana C.

  20. Totally and completely GORGEOUS, as always! Your snowflakes really pop with that little touch of color and yummy glitter…so pretty, Laura!

  21. I love this card. Your snowflakes came out so beautiful. Great inspiration for the cards I am going to send. So excited!

  22. I never met a snowflake I didn’t like and yours are wonderful. How creative to put them in a circle like that. Well done.

  23. Beautiful card. This would be great to mass produce and using punches instead of dies. Thanks for the inspiration.

  24. This is such a beautiful card. I love the snowflake dies & stamps…every one of them are different. I can’t wait to try this card.

  25. This card drive is a great idea and I participate somewhat by making cards and sending them to those I know in nursing, assisted living and retirement homes in my area. We have quite a few from my church and some others that I know too. I do know they are so appreciative that someone thinks of them! I love your card and this would be a great example of one to send.

  26. I love the snowflakes in the circles! Such a lovely card! Your work is always so inspiring! Thanks for sharing and I will definitely be participating in the Caring Hearts card drive this year!

  27. This card is beautiful! It will certainly make the recipient smile, which is the whole meaning behind this card drive!

  28. A simple but beautiful card. Love those snowflakes. Love the soft colors to offset the flakes. Thanks for sharing.

  29. Really beautiful card. I love the way you made the circle backgrounds variegated from dark at the bottom to light at the top.

  30. I am relatively new to this card making obsession. I love the idea of a card drive for the elderly. Beautiful card too. Your color and blending are always fabulous

  31. We were a part of delivering cards last year and the cards were fantastic and all the residents LOVED them immensely! Such a great thing to do!

    Awesome card you made!
    ~God bless~

  32. Love your card, the snowflakes look great on top of the blended background!

    Such a great cause to support!!

  33. I love your doing this for nursing homes and so I adopted the one my Aunt is living in. Instead of sending the cards to you for distribution I’m going to make bookmarks for all the residents. Since they can’t be blessed with food, if they still read they will have something to mark their book with. If they don’t read they can put it on their dresser to look at knowing someone cards. “)

  34. Love the card with the blended ink backgrounds. Such a great cause. So many elderly wait for visits and mail especially during the holidays!

  35. What a great, simple card! Love the glittery snowflakes, and how you framed them with the cut-out circles. Also love your ombre inking behind each snowflake. The way the sizes increase down the card almost mimics the idea of falling snow. Tfs!

Leave a Reply

