Fusion Challenge

Happy New Year everyone! Today I have the honor of joining my sweet and talented friend Michelle at the Fusion Card Challenge. They are celebrating their 1st Anniversary. Here is this week’s inspiration.20150101 Fusion First Birthday
As soon as I saw the chalkboard, I knew I wanted to us the Chalkboard Birthday stamp set by Simon Says Stamp & Hero Arts.SSS-Chalkboard BirthdayI smooshed some Distress ink onto an acrylic block to use as watercolors for the loosely painted background. I also added a DIY satin flower that I made by cutting some circles of satin fabric and melting the edges over a candle.SSS-Chalkboard BirthdayMake sure and check out the Fusion challenge to see all the fabulous guests & cards they have over there! Thanks so much for stopping by!

30 thoughts on “Fusion Challenge

  1. Gorgeous take on the sketch and photo, Laura! Love the elements that you incorporated into this design! Wish you and your lovely family a Happy and Healthy 2015! xoxo

  2. Amazing…such a clever girl you are. Using a candle to create that rose is brilliant and it looks so lovely against that back…neat little collage effect.

  3. Happy new year to you and yours. I just love your work and your wonderful personality enhances all that you do. Love your videos.

  4. After seeing your amazing body of work over the years, it’s crazy how I’m always so impressed with your projects. I was in love with the freshness of your card when I saw it posted, and now that I’ve learned you MELTED THE EDGES OF THE SATIN to MAKE your own flower … woah. Two huge thumbs up!! Happy New Year, Laura!

  5. what wonderful techniques you used on this beautiful card Laura! love the background and pretty satin flower! thanks so much for joining us in the Fusion Challenge as Michelle’s guest DT!

  6. Really beautiful take on the Inspiration photo, Laura! I love your ‘smooshing’ technique on your background and your flower is so pretty! I went way too literal on my interpretation…boo!

    Sending you and your beautiful family my best wishes for a very Happy New Year!!!

  7. Such a gorgeous card, Laura! Love the softness of your background, and those gold stars add such an elegant touch! LOVE IT!

  8. Laura, I love your smooshed background and that flower is amazing. Thank-you so much for being my guest at Fusion! And thank-you for your friendship over the years! Happy New Year! I can’t wait to see what the year brings for all of us crafty folk. 🙂

  9. You have that magical touch on ur cards 🙂 love the soft water color wash n vellum. So happy to have you join in the Celebration with us at Fusion!

  10. This is lovely. Love the smooshing look. The only way i could try melting ribbon over a candle would be with firemen standing by. Great job.

Leave a Reply

