Introducing Chicken Scratch

Hi there! I’m back with Papertrey Ink for our first group post featuring the new Chicken Scratch products designed by Erin Lincoln. I have to admit. I had never heard of chicken scratch embroidery before, but boy oh boy have my eyes been opened to this amazing craft. Some of the designs are incredibly intricate and would take such skill and patience to create. The idea of translating this into card making is pure genius.PTI-Chicken ScratchI used the Cover Plate: Chicken Scratch die on my front panel and then one of the tiny little squares from the Chicken Scratch stamp set to create this fun pattern. Oh the endless possibilities here for patterns and colors. I layered up the new Noted “hello” die for my sentiment and adhered it over some loose silver thread along with a few glossy accent dots.
PTI-Chicken ScratchI tried to dig a little deeper into the stitching on this next card. I’m not sure this even qualifies as chicken scratch stitching, more like red-neck chicken scratch, lol. I used the Cover Plate: Chicken Scratch die again to form my grid of holes and then stamped a few gingham rows using the Chicken Scratch stamp set in Hibiscus Burst & Orange Zest.
PTI-Chicken ScratchI embossed a sentiment in white from the Friendly Flowers stamp set as well as stamping a subtle gingham pattern on the Aqua Mist panel using the Background Basics: Super Gingham stamp set and Versamark ink.
PTI-Chicken ScratchI’m convinced that these chicken scratch crafters are true engineers & artists. Talk about patience. This took a few tries to get a pattern that I liked with colors that went well together. I added a few extra holes with my retractable needle tool to give me more options to fan out aqua floss and the pink in the center.
PTI-Chicken ScratchCheck out the Papertrey Ink blog to see what the rest of the design team has created using these new Chicken Scratch products.
Nichole • Betsy • Dawn • Heather • Melissa • Laurie • Maile • Danielle • AshleyAmy
Thanks so much for stopping by!

27 thoughts on “Introducing Chicken Scratch

  1. Wow! You definitely used your “stamping super powers” on the “Hello” card. I love your color choice–very energizing.

  2. Wowie, your first card makes me smile! Love the bright colors and putting the hello in the white area really makes the sentiment pop! You’re a rock star!

  3. Love your Hello card! How did you color each square?? Masking with a small square punch/die? The second one looks more like the traditional chicken scratching but with an updated pattern. When I was a child we did quite a bit of this work on the material. What a wonderful rendition of it on paper!

  4. Wow, you sure knock the Chicken Scratch Embroidery out of the ball park….love love your projects today! I love this huge dose of pure COLORS and PATTERNS goodness! Merci!

  5. I’m loving these products, so many possibilities and ways to use them, loving your stitched card!

  6. I grew up with this kind of embroidery, and have done a lot of it. I even do different cross-stitch to this day, but have NEVER heard of it called chicken scratch. I guess you learn something new every day — either way, awesome cards!

  7. Beautiful color combos and patterns, Laura! Love both cards, especially how you created the subtle pattern on your background on the 2nd one…very pretty!

  8. Of all the fun ideas I saw on the PTI post today, your “hello” card is absolutely my fave! I also love the subtle backgound on aqua mist on the second card and the pretty stitching. I always love to see what your creative brain tells your hands to do!

  9. Hi Laura,

    I am beginning to believe that you do have SUPERPOWERS…your Hello card is simply OUT OF THIS WORLD!!!!

    Cariños,
    María Alba

  10. Lovely cards. Is it strange that I look at the cover plate and all the squares it creates and think pencil boxing?

  11. I do so love seeing what your Super Powers have created and am never disappointed! I love gingham and the multi-color gingham is my fav & so is your card! So well done!

  12. How in the world did you create such lovelies??? I just cannot for the life of me figure out how you created these two fabulous cards. How did you get the colors so perfectly contained within each square? It’s all so intriging….I went to see what was on Erin’s site, but still cannot envision how you accomplished your cards. I think I can figure out the stitching one, but the first “hello” card…OMG!!! Both are so beautiful….just like you!

  13. Very creative and colorful! Do you have any tips on how to place the silver thread, and once placed, how to adhere it? I’ve wanted to use it, but it becomes quite messy and not so pretty LOL.

Leave a Reply

