Mama Elephant-Ella & Friends

Hi there! Today I’m sharing another project on the Mama Elephant blog using the Ella & Friends stamp set.Mama Elephant-Ella & FriendsThis is very similar to the card I made for the March Stampede, but I changed up the elephant and bunny on this one. The way that bunny fit onto the trunk of the elephant was too good to be true, and that cutie patootie umbrella is my favorite part.
Mama Elephant-Ella & FriendsHere’s a little video to show you how I created my card using my favoriteย smooshing technique.

Thanks so much for looking!

46 thoughts on “Mama Elephant-Ella & Friends

  1. Laura,
    Love everything about your card, stamp set, color combination, smooch effect and yes, the cutting…looks like you used a die.
    Beautiful!!

  2. Love it so much!
    your cards are always so cute and fun..gorgeous background too!
    love to get your blog updates..makes me happy to see your cards and get inspiration!

  3. Cute, cute stamp set! I love your videos and the fun and stories. This is an adorable card. I must try that smooshing and dabbing. I like the fun look of that.

  4. Thanks SO much for doing this video. Love this technique with the acetate and can’t wait to try it!!! Beautiful colors and adorable card.

  5. Oh Laura! I had to laugh when your were talking about your daughters, I have a just turned 14 year old and the drama never ends in this house lol! It was SO different with my 18 year old son, and I’ve got to tell you he was a breeze compared to the cyclonic hormonal daughter I’m now trying to get through her teen years! LOVE LOVE LOVE this card!!

  6. Laura, I LOVE your card…the adorable Ella and the cutest little bunny with the tiny umbrella are irresistible! it was fun watching the video of you “smooching” the colors onto the card stock. SWEET!

  7. I love this so much, Laura! I will be trying the “new” smooshing technique today! I use the old technique I learned from you all the time. Thank you so much for inspiring and teaching us. You are awesome!

  8. When I saw the pic of this card, I was soo hoping you where going to have a video! Yay! I LOVE this card, too cute. Love the smooshing on acetate technique, the results are fab. Thanks for the awesome video:) btw you could NEVER ‘bore me to tears’… EVER! ๐Ÿ™‚

  9. Your smooshing looks so cool on the background, Laura! I love your design (of course), and how you fussy cut everything to make it just perfect!
    Two adolescent girls at the same time? Yikes! Thanks so much for the video…I really enjoyed it!

  10. Just adore the way you describe you thought process while stamping and creating a card. The bunny sheltering his pal from the rain makes me smile. As does this precious card. You know, you’re some kind of genius. Gotta try this smooshing technique for which you’re so renowned. As for teenage and preteen angst, I hear you. Had 4 (yes, 4) between the ages of 11 and 15 at one time. Wasn’t sure my husband, nor I, were going to survive the glut of estrogen and accompanying drama.

  11. I’m not sure if I watch your videos for the technique or for your commentary ๐Ÿ™‚ You crack me up every time! The card is adorable and I love the smooshing/dabbing technique. I gotta try that. Good luck with your teenagers!

  12. Oh my gosh, I have a billion things going on with contractors and getting our house ready to be put on the market, but I just HAD to stop by and let you know how amazing this card is!!! Your smooshing technique never looks old. This really has to be one of my favorite recent cards of yours. Visually amazing, and it also tells a nice story. So well done, Laura!

  13. Ahhh, the acetate gives you more “controlled smooshing”! Must give this a try, and that cutie patootie umbrella is my fave, too!

  14. OMG! I L-I-V-E for your videos! I L-O-V-E them! You know what I love most about them? Your comments….so hilarious, so down-to-earth, so real life, so true, so e.v.e.r.y.t.h.i.n.g!!!!!! Your comment about the bunny using her umbrella to shelter her elephant friend is just absolutely precious. The cute image and the smooching background and the coloring…so Laura! Thanks ever so much for sharing yourself with us.

  15. Genius idea and execution!! Love that burst of COLORS and the the little Ella holding the bunny is just too adorable! You. are. amazing (kind of).

  16. OMGolly, Laura! This is one of my many favorites designed by you. Dang it anyway. Now I have to buy this stamp set, too! I adore your videos. Thank you for that extra time it takes to do them for us.

  17. great technique Laura! ๐Ÿ™‚ gotta love those distress inks and smooching ๐Ÿ™‚ What a cutie patootie that elephant is….great card for a friend needing to know you have their back ๐Ÿ™‚

  18. Ha! This card is almost too cute to be allowed! How do you keep coming up with these great ideas?! Love the smooshing demo – I’d been wondering how you do it, and thanks for saying right out loud that there’s nothing wrong with “fussy cutting”. Yes, dies are great fun, but I personally can’t afford dies for every stamp set I buy. And trimming can be an almost Zen thing, don’t you think? If you take your time & don’t try to hurry, it’s a great way to relax – “Be one with the paper, Grasshopper”!!!
    Thanks again – and remember, the Teens don’t last forever… it just seems like it at the time!

  19. Laura, you crack me up. How do you get your kids to take you seriously? Love this elephant/bunny card with your smooshed background and great color choices. A little dab will do ya…here and there. Great video!

  20. I’m so glad you put a tutorial up of this! I saw your other ME card and was wondering how you made it. Adorable card and might I add that you are the best fussy cutter that I’ve seen. That’s not an easy feat!

  21. Oh my gosh! This card is so cute!! Loved those stamps all stacked up like that – not sure I’d have seen that combo until you did it! Thank so much!

  22. Laura, I absolutely adore hearing from you on videos.. I love the pouncing with the acetate ,totally cool. I wanted to tell you ,I have five kids and 13 grandchildren and I know about hissy fits ( lol boys do them to just rougher ) and I actually find even with all my dies that too fussy cut something is actually therapeutic ,and believe me ,they grow up so fast .Please don’t take anything too awful serious ,just keep loving them and protecting them .because it happens so fast, the growing up it goes in a blink of an eye I’m not kidding.. ( I can totally attest to it ) please .. Believe me .. I love your Energy.. Keep up the great work..you make me smile when I listen and watch to your tutorials .never stop being the wonderful you !!!thanks .. Your friend

  23. Can I just say, I love you?! Seriously, I adore your videos! Listening to you is such a joy, Laura and this card is absolutely adorable – love how your smooshing and dabbing turned out! I am sooooo excited to meet you this weekend! โ™ฅ

  24. You’re awesome… I hope you know that ๐Ÿ˜€ When I need a smile, I always go to find one of your videos. And I’ve got an almost 15 year old, so I know about hissy fits.

  25. I adore this card you made Laura an love the smooth w/ placement effect you used. Really love how you placed the bunny on his trunk in this card , ADORABLE!

  26. Pingback: You Inspire Me! |

  27. Pingback: Mondo Magnolia Ink Smooshing | From The Woman Cave

  28. Pingback: Thinking of you today! |

  29. Soooooo cute! I love the background, I love the little bunny with the umbrella, I love the sentiment. I LOVE THIS CARD!! Thank you very much for the video! ^_^

Leave a Reply

