Paper Smooches – June Blog Hop

It’s Pep Rally week and we are here today to share a sampling of the NEW Paper Smooches JULY release with you!  TWO new stamps and TEN new dies will be available to purchase on June 30th at 8:00pm pacific time. Once our release goes live, you will find our new products HERE.  

To add extra fun to our blog hop…we are offering up a prize! 

The prize – a $25. gift code to choose what you like at the PS online store.

Here are the details:

  • FOUR winners will be chosen at RANDOM from any of the design team blogs and the PS Blog to win the $25. prize.
  • Just leave a comment on any of the design team blogs listed below or the PS blog for your chance to win!  (you do not need to comment on all blogs to qualify but it increases your changes)
  • Deadline: You have until midnight PT on Sunday, June 28th to leave a comment.
  • Please check the Paper Smooches blog on Monday, June 29th to see if you are one of the FOUR lucky winners.

A couple of our designers are taking a small hiatus to care for different things in their life. Amy Kolling is filling in for Emily and Melissa Phillips is filling in for Pamela.  We are so excited to have them join us in July!

Alice Wertz
Amy Kolling
Ashley Marcu
JJ Bolton
Kalyn Kepner
Kay Miller
Laura Bassen
Laurie Schmidlin
Melissa Phillips
Michele Boyer
Teri Anderson

To increase your chances of winning:

  • Tell us that you Facebooked about our blog hop
  • Tell us that you Tweeted about our hop
  • Tell us that you posted on your blog about our blog hop

(which means that you have up to three extra chances to win on each blog)

Paper Smooches-Flowers 2 diesI’ve used the new Flowers 2 Dies on my project and also one of the leafy dies from the new Foliage 1 dies. I had to cut four foliage die cuts and two of them were flipped over, showing the not-so-smooth side of the die cut so that I could get the mirror image and create a circular frame for my banner sentiment. Times like these call for a new, perfectly smooth cutting plate, which I didn’t have. I think next time I’m gonna buy extra cutting plates just to keep a couple nice, smooth ones for situations like these.Paper Smooches- Borders 1 DiesI created a custom curvy banner using one of the Borders 1 dies along with a sentiment from the new Best Buds stamp set.
Paper Smooches-Flowers 2 diesThanks so much for hopping by!

193 thoughts on “Paper Smooches – June Blog Hop

  1. Love this! The wreath is gorgeous and that is a super clever idea with the banner. I know what you mean about no smooth cutting plates. I love it when there are dies for both directions of a piece. I’ve also used a small wallpaper roller to smooth out die cuts before, too. It works pretty well most of the time.

  2. Very pretty, simple and cute. A matching stamp for the vines might have hidden the less than smooth die cut?

  3. Boy, I sure can related to the not-so-smooth cutting plate! It adds texture! Still, your card is gorgeous and I love the banner!

  4. A delightful wreath and love the banner!!!! Might I suggest that when you want a clean cut for both sides and you are using a well used cutting mat that you add a piece of copy paper to protect your card stock from the scratches on the cutting mat….works like a charm and keeps you from having to buy extra cutting mats. I do always keep one of my mats clean anyway to help keep my cutting sandwich flatter.
    Paper Hugs,
    Jan

  5. I have been playing with flower die cuts and I love the idea of making a wreath. This card is an inspiration! Very nice!

  6. Such a pretty card. Let me add to the chorus… your banner is sheer genius! But I am apparently the first to inquire about the surface in the picture of the banner before folding 🙂 Dying of curiosity… what is that? Its beautiful like German glass glitter!!! My whole house is black, white, and gray (expect big pops of color in the craft room) and that surface is just gorgeous! Depending on what it is, it would be fun to use for a bunch of home decor ideas!

  7. I am a lover of all things flower…so I find your card just delightful. I’d just jump for joy if someone would send me a card like this in the mail!

  8. Wow! What an amazing idea on the banner! I am feeling so inspired and I am totally going to use that trick (a lot). 🙂

  9. OMG! You have patience for sure to cut all those tiny flower pieces out of different color card stock. At first glance, I thought you cut all from white and then colored them, but no…….WOW!! I have to practice patience like you. This is such a lovely wreath and the “flowing” sentiment is just right. I love this card. Thanks for sharing!

  10. laura, your cards never disappoint. I have them saved all over the place. lol this one is so pretty. I love the way you put together things on your cards. you can tell you really thought about it as you were doing it.

  11. You always pay such close attention to the little details! This card is so sweet and so real. I love how you added the yellow daisy with the blue center! Nicely done!!

  12. Beautiful rainbow wreath, Laura. I especially like how you created the curvy banner with a simple border die. I know what you mean about reserving one cutting plate for special occasions…

  13. Love these sweet blooms and how you created your sentiment banner, Laura! Thanks so much for sharing how to make the banner…you clever girl 🙂

  14. Beautiful card. I love the idea of making your own banner. Great idea. Thanks for the inspiration.

  15. Lovely as always. I have a question if you don’t mind. I’m no longer receiving my updates when you post. I’ve checked and confirmed I’m still set up to receive them. Can you think of anything else I should be doing to fix this? Thanks so much for sharing your awesome work!

  16. Such a sweet & colorful card, Laura. Your wreath is spectacular. Just love release blog hops; there’s always so much goodness to see( & long for).

  17. Gorgeous card with such delicate florals. Apparently if you put a sheet of copy paper between the cardstock and the die, you don’t get all the nasties from the cutting plate. I haven’t tried this yet, but it’s what I’ve heard. If it works, it’s a heck of a lot cheaper than a new cutting plate 🙂

  18. I’ve been a follower of yours for quite some time and as always, I am NEVER disappointed with the wonderful cards you create! Your use of the border die to create a curvy banner is genius! I can’t buy all the wonderful products out there, so utilizing what I have in different ways is very important. I never would have thought about using a border die in this way. Thanks Laura!

  19. I know what you mean by needed a clean plate for the back of some dies! It still turned out beautiful! I love the card!

  20. I really like the wreath. The colors are so bright and uplifting. I also like the way you curved the sentiment to match the die. Terrific card.

  21. This is really cute. I love how you cut out all the little pieces and made the banner.. Thank you for sharing.

  22. Sweet CAS wreath card! Nice use of the new botanical dies. Thanks for sharing how you created the banner with the wavy border …cool! 🙂

  23. Great card. I could see myself getting a lot of use out of these dies. And thanks for sharing how You made the perfect banner!

  24. I love your colorful wreath. Great 3D effect and folk art feel. The banner is perfect for this card. Well done.

  25. Love the card, the wreath is adorable and how you made the banner is so clever, I will have to remember that one, thanks, great job

  26. SUPER CUTE card Laura!!!
    Your flowers & foliage are ABSOLUTELY FABULOUS and your sentiment banner SUPER COOL => THANK YOU for sharing your CREATIVE INSPIRATION!!!
    PS – I keep a set of plates for smoothing out die cuts 🙂
    … I have to confess that sometimes I forget and use them for cutting by mistake, might need to get some coloured ones to remind me!!!

  27. What a gorgeous card! You worked hard on this girl…putting down all of those little die cut pieces!

  28. I love these wreaths – need to use them more. fun to make them into a summer decoration.
    The banner is so pretty. Just a wonderful card.
    thanks for sharing.

  29. Amazing, gorgeous, and so well made!! Love the trick you shared about the banner – what an amazingly talented lady you are!! Thanks for sharing your tips with us!!

  30. stinkin’ cute wreath card (and I find that if I run a fingernail over the edge it makes the reversed die much smoother edged); thanx for the inspiration and blog candy opp!

  31. Gorgeous wreath! I love the color you added with the flowers. The CAS design of your card is also stunning!

Leave a Reply

