Masking Techniques with Mama Elephant

Hello! Today I have a video to share with you showing how I created both of these Mama Elephant June release projects.Mama Elephant-Sunday StrollBoth of these cards use layers of masking. This is a great way to achieve perspective while keeping it aย one-layer wonder.
Mama Elephant~Sunday SentimentsHere’s a video showing all my fancy schmancy masking secrets:)

Anyone feel like giving this masking a try? How about a giveaway to give you a kick start? Leave me a comment for your chance to win this awesome new Sunday Stroll stamp set, my favorite pair of tweezers and a pack a full sticky post-it notes.
Thanks so much for stopping by!

shop at mama elephant:

shop at simon says stamp:

104 thoughts on “Masking Techniques with Mama Elephant

  1. I love your ‘one-layer wonders’ Laura! Those images and sentiments are fab.Thanks for sharing ๐Ÿ™‚

  2. Such a great and fun video..you always make me smile..and happy with your cards and video’s ..Thank you so much Laura!
    I loved both cards when I saw them and with the first one you really got me thinking is there a stamp set with that horizon line..and for the leases??
    or did she draw it..now I know..SUPER great tip!

  3. These are just adorable! When I saw that second card, I thought to myself, “oh no she didn’t” ….but you did. You fussy cut those words! Yikes! ๐Ÿ™‚ Love your videos, keep them coming!

  4. Thanks so much for the video. I had been wondering how you did that second card since I first saw it and was so happy to see how you did that. Now I’m just one fussy cut away.

  5. Love these cards! Thanks for the video with masking instructions. I have actually masked images before but somehow I could not quite figure out how you went about masking the Hello card. Thanks for showing us your secret ๐Ÿ™‚

  6. Just discovered your website this morning and have now subscribed. So much fussy cutting, i’ll have to give it a try.

  7. This is a favorite technique for me also, I like to see how many things I can mask and get on the card LOL TFS Laura! Fun to see you- as always ๐Ÿ˜€

  8. You are amazing… you really bring these images to life! I’m loving the Sunday Stroll set — seeing a lot of remarkable cards with this set… but I also like the horizon sentiment a lot!

  9. Love the video. You make me smile. If you like the non stick scissors you should try Hobby Lobby’s store brand (Paper Studio) little non stick scissors, they are amazing they are smaller and have a super fine tip and are non stick. And they aren’t expensive. (And you can use a coupon which makes it even better.) You should try them.

  10. Your videos are always a hoot! Seriously, I appreciate your expert instruction. Both cards are just darling. Thanks much for the generous giveaway!

  11. Goodness, I don’t think I have ever seen anyone fussy cut out a sentiment. Nice work, and I enjoyed your video.

  12. I adore your cute and informative videos. Thank you for sharing your secrets and for the chance to win!

  13. I’m always so thrilled when you have a new blog post and even more thrilled when there is one of your fabulous videos to go with it. You do so many wonderful things with masking and your ink blending. Love!

  14. Wow! Your videos are truly fantastic. You are brilliant at being so concise and instructive and editing the nonessentials in your videos. Wish you did more, cause I learn so much. I guess you probably save the masks so once they are cut out you can use them over and over at least? Thanks for the inspiration!

  15. Clever tip on drawing the leashes. Glad to know there are others who actually enjoy fussy cutting. It is so relaxing to me. You do bring those sweet images to life on paper – not just in your head ๐Ÿ™‚

  16. Laura, thank you for this tutorial! I love this adorable stamp set and the cards you created using it. I struggle with masking, but love the look. You inspire me to practice my fussy cutting and get busy creating! Thanks for the chance to win! ๐Ÿ™‚

  17. These cards are just adorable! Thank you so much for sharing the tutorial and your creativity with us! Going to give this masking technique a try this weekend. Hopefully, it will be as easy as you make it look!!! Thanks for the chance to win!

  18. I need to look into these post-it notes and I love your idea of using the circle edge for the leashes. Super cute as always! ๐Ÿ™‚

  19. Awesome–so cute! You still crack me up–and how you do it all with all your kids is inspiring! Thanks for sharing this super technique and a chance to win some lovely tools!

  20. You are one of my favorite go to card blogs that I check daily. I always get so giddy and excited when I see you include a video too! Thanks for sharing your amazing techniques, talent and happiness with us! It never fails, I always end your videos with a smile on my face!! ๐Ÿ™‚

  21. These are just delightful! That’s a lot of masking and they look great. Love your videos, they always make me smile as well as inspire me.

  22. Laura, thank you for teaching me new techniques and making me laugh all at the same time. You’re a gem!

  23. Another great video, Laura ~ Thanks! Your cards are so cute…love this technique with these images!

  24. Would love to give this technique a try…must find some full sticky notes…thanks for explaining everything…your cards look fabulous…as always…thanks for the give-a-way as well…so generous.

  25. Fantastic cards! You are the Queen of ink blending and one-layer wonders! I love your videos… You are hilarious! Seriously, you have taught me (us) so many great blending tips and tricks. Thanks for the Inspiration!

  26. Absolutely adorable. I cannot believe my eyes- you fussy cut the baby duck & the hello friend. My mind may be permanently boggled. Thanks for the fun(again).

  27. Love your singing, Laura; these 2 cards are so adorable. I would love to have this stamp set to make some adorable kids’ cards to donate to a Children’s Hospital. Thanks for the chance to win one.

  28. Oh my goooooooodnessss!!!!! Your fussy cutting is simply awesome! Don’t know what else to say about that! I thought you might have fussy cut the words when I first saw this card a could of days ago, but couldn’t believe it until I saw you in action today! You are the PRO…the absolute PRO! Plus….I love your singing voice!!! Thanks so much for sharing w/us!

  29. This is some pretty amazing masking, Laura. I am especially wowed by the sentiment masking. I’ll try that for sure.

  30. I loved these two cards when you first shared them a few days ago. You are soooo sweet to teach us how to mask all those critters. Thank you. As always your videos are not just educational but sooooo entertaining!!!

  31. I’d like to sing that your video is “FAB-U-LOS” ( like you did in your video)!! Not only your ink blending is superb, the fussy cutting is amazing! LOVE the masking for both cards! Happy weekend, my friend!

  32. Oops, I forgot the “u” in โ€œFAB-U-LOUSโ€..I got all excited when I made the comment—yup, silly me.

  33. Gorgeous. I always love to see your videos. I really am going to have to try blending with the mama elephant inks. They are lovely colours…

  34. So cute! I love, love, love your videos! (In my head I’m singing that ‘cuz I love to sing when I’m alone.) I need to look for those Tim Holtz scissors now.

  35. Such sweet cards- thanks for sharing!! Love your videos for all the fun techniques and the smiles and giggles !!

  36. This has totally changed my life Miss Laura!!!!! I didn’t know you could blend with the Mama Elephant Pigment inks (and I have a few of those….). I loved the ‘hello friends’ card where you blended half of the sentiment and desperately wanted to know how you did that. So thank you very much for sharing. And I’m so going to give this a try. And never thought about using die’s to draw lines, especially the hills. So simple and yet so effective! I’m buzzing with ideas now and need to create. Just wanted to thank you so very much!!!!!

  37. You read my mind. When I saw these wonderful cards, I just had to know “How’d you do that?!” And now I know. Isn’t masking magic. Thanks Laura!!!

  38. I hope you know how much I love you! Seriously, it is such a JOY to watch you create! I know I say that all the time, but it’s true! Adorable cards, Laura! โ™ฅ

  39. Oh my goodness. That scripty greeting… amazing fussy cutting! And while we’re talking about cats on leashes. My sister has a cat (named Kitti), who had a harness and a leash. I can’t say she ever went for a walk on the leash, exactly. She more used it so she could explore in the backyard without running away. Mostly just frolicking, no directional forward walking-type movement ๐Ÿ™‚

  40. You have such patience to cut all those masks! I love your ink blending and both cards are so cute. The little girl is such a sweetie๐Ÿ˜€

  41. Wow, Laura! You are a brilliant fussy cutter!!! These cards are amazing. What I like about fussy cutting is that you can cut close to the image whereas the matching dies leave that white space. Like you, I like making one layer scene cards. BTW…I used to walk both of my cats on a leash. My cats are more like dogs than cats. LOL!!! And….one of my babies is named Bella, too. ๐Ÿ™‚ I had to stop taking them for walks because one of them is allergic to fleas. Tried the flea medications but it irritated his skin. Thanks for sharing your amazing videos. You make it look so easy. ๐Ÿ™‚

  42. Was SO happy to see an eight minute Laura video pop up in my feed. ๐Ÿ™‚ Love these cards, and love what you do. Always.

  43. Darling cards…I’ll need to look for the full sticky post-it notes. Love your shading. Always enjoy your videos…thanks for letting us in on your secrets. Quesiton…do you have separate blending pads for each color?

  44. As always, your video makes me smile…I like to save them for last, to savor the anticipation. I LOVE to fussy cut. I like the Tim Holtz scissors too, but more often I use the grey, soft handle Fiskars that squeeze to cut tiny details. They are easier on my right hand. Masking is so much fun. It truly is easy to get in a groove and get lost in the cutting. Loovvve it! Thanks for your videos and the chance to win a terrific prize.

  45. I agree with Barb, It it such a JOY to watch your vids ๐Ÿ™‚ You made me less intimidated to fussy cut! it was fun seeing how these cards came to life โค

  46. ๐Ÿ™‚ As always, watching your videos makes me smile! Fabuuulouusss, the way you sing song .. Loved both cards, especially the neat ink blending!

  47. You are just amazing! Love, love, love your videos! You inspire me to try all things with the easy tips you give! Thanks so much!

  48. Hi Laura, This is my first time to your site and after seeing how you did these two cards, I’ll be checking out all your videos. The idea of using the circle for the leash lines was so clever. I love learning new things and masking has always been a mystery to me. OMG, I wish I could fussy cut like that (I stink at it).

  49. Pingback: SSS-Happy 4th of July! | Doublestick Heaven

  50. Loved both these cards! Thanks for showing us how they were created. Love watching your videos, as much for your cards, as well as your joyful silliness! ๐Ÿ™‚

Leave a Reply

