Mama Elephant-Birthday Wishes

Hi there! Today I have a project on the Mama Elephant blog featuring the Birthday Wishes stamp set as well as the Classic Stripe Cover creative cut.Mama Elephant-Birthday WishesI blended several Mama Elephant pigment inks to add color to my two panels. After stamping the birthday sentiment on both panels, I die cut the blue panel with with the Classic Strip Cover die and then adhered it over top of the pink panel, lining up the sentiments to look as one. Mama Elephant-Birthday WishesHere’s a quick video to show you how I created my card:

This is such a cool effect and really showcases both the gorgeous scripty sentiment as well as the fun Classic Stripe Cover die. That’s all for today, folks! Thanks so much for stopping by!

shop at mama elephant:

shop at simon says stamp:

43 thoughts on “Mama Elephant-Birthday Wishes

  1. Fabulous card – I do love those colors together and then the sentiment in black. Gorgeous!! – thanks for explaining how you did it!!

  2. Beautiful card, wonderful technique, and fun video – you always crack me up! Love your red-neck Misti!

  3. Hi Laura, my name is Jeanne. Been following you for a few months and love your work. I have a hard time with blending so I welcome the tips. If I could offer my opinion on the misti since you mentioned it – the stamp press worked great for your greeting today, and you really didn’t need the misti. I love the misti, but sometimes it’s not worth getting it out and setting it up just for one image/greeting. I find it most helpful when making multiple cards with same/similar design. Thanks again for sharing your creativity with us.

  4. Gorgeous! I love the way those inks blend together. This post just cost me about $50! I had to have those stamps, that die, and those yummy inks from Mama Elephant.

  5. Thank you for another great, informative video. Love the vids! Love the blended colors on your gorgeous card. Absolutely perfect! (No matter how many times you started) love it!

  6. What a beautiful card!! At first glance I wondered if you got that look by stamping both pieces together – after putting the die cut layer on – but no, your video and explanation of how you achieved that look were terrific! Thanks so much!

  7. Well, dear me. Those colors are fabulous together…hope your are doesn’t hurt. And who needs a MISTI when you can align a sentiment so well without it. Re-neck or not, looks perfect to me.

  8. You are so creative and hilarious at the same time. I love your videos with your spontaneous “tutti frutti alla rootie” comment.

  9. I found you over at Online Classes and fell in love with your silly sense of humor. You just make me smile all over. I also love the cards you make and your very clear instructions. Thank you!

  10. Love this card and the colors are gorgeous and I like the way you stamped the sentiment on both and they lined up great. Thanks for sharing.

  11. Hi Laura, I think at your level of stamping and coloring – NO MISTI IS NEEDED. Your cards live through your coloring and your videos through your humor – both even better than a not so much needed tool. Thanks for this wonderful card, now my wishlist is longer than ever!

  12. What a cool card–love how you did the slats and background, love your videos. I don’t have a Misti tool either, kinda rigged one up using my stamp press, fun foam and an old cutting mat from electronic die cut machine. Showed to hubby–and he said, “Huh, looks like the thing you used to make wedding invite’s for daughter’s wedding”. Yep–letter press platform, tried it, works great for stamping! Duh!

  13. Whoa, just out of curiosity I looked at the Misti. Gulp. I can see what your joke is about. Guess I was lucky to find something similar in a thrift shop for next to nothing. Maybe if you were doing a bazillion cards that had to be the same it would be worth it, but I couldn’t justify that hefty price tag.

  14. Who would have thought????? Two stamped images precisely matching…ONLY you! LOVE this card. The ink blending is awesome….both colors just complement each other so beautifully. Thanks so much for sharing!

  15. Genius ideas Laura! Heading to my craft room to try this technique. BTW, I broke down and got a Misti. Love it. Use it more than I thought I would.

  16. I think I squealed a little, when I saw you had a video today. ^_^ Thanks so much for taking the time, and I LOVE your card. So pretty!

  17. WHAT? The Color Queen has Blender Blunders???!!! Hard to believe…. But thanks for the encouragement to keep trying. I got some of those great pigment inks, and you’re right – they’re like BUTTAH!! I’m kickin it up a notch. Oh, and thanks for the tip on the Red Neck Misti!

  18. Gorgeous blending with your inks and I love how you showcased this sentiment with the cover die! Stunning card, Laura!

  19. I so love your cards. Your colors and blending are super and I love colors. Nice idea to stamp the sentiment on both panels. And love the sequins…bling is good. This is a great design. I need that die. Great job!

Leave a Reply

