Celebrating 5 years with Paper Smooches

PS-5th-Anniversary-bannerPaper Smooches is celebrating their 5th Anniversary this month!
I am excited to be a part of a special blog hop!Paper Smooches-Thank You dieMy project features the new Thank You Die. I paired it with the gorgeous Roses Die.Paper Smooches-Thank You dieI blended some Picked Raspberry, Spiced Marmalade & Blueprint Sketch onto a panel of Tim Holtz watercolor cardstock and then flicked some water onto it. I also smooshed my distress inks onto an acrylic block to make watercolors to flick onto the panel. Then I adhered some Dazzling Diamonds glimmer paper to fun foam and ran the Roses Die through my big shot to make a quick and dimensional glittery die cut.Paper Smooches-Thank You die Here are the details:

  • Just leave a comment on any of the blogs listed below for your chance to win a prize!
  • Each blog has a different prize to win!
  • Deadline: You have until midnight PT on Wednesday, February 24th to leave a comment.
  • Winners will be announced on each blog on Thursday, February 25th.

Please hop on over to these fabulous designers blogs to see their Paper Smooches creations…and see what you could win!

Betsy Veldman
Jennifer McGuire
Jocelyn Olson
Kay Miller
Kristina Werner

Thanks so much for stopping by!

880 thoughts on “Celebrating 5 years with Paper Smooches

  1. Your card is beautiful Laura! I have been trying your technique of using the foam when die cutting different elements instead of cutting a million different times to achieve the dimension…works like a charm every time, so thank you, thank you for that great tip! :0)

  2. Oh Laura, you BRING IT every time. What a great card. Happy Anniversary to Paper Smooches! Loving the new release.

  3. I love your card! Great idea to pair the shimmer paper with fun foam for a nice dimensional rose! Thank you for sharing!

  4. Hi Laura. As usual your card is beautiful. I love the stripe at the bottom. It really makes the rest of the card stand out.

  5. I just love every card you make. Hurts my wallet! LOL, but my daughter’s friends love the selection of stamps and dies !

  6. So beautiful! I’m working on my ink blending technique, but I have a lot more practice to do. Thanks for the inspiration.

  7. Yay! Paper Smooches! Congratulations. Laura, your beautifully blended background (Try saying that three times fast.) shows off your glimmering rose to perfection. Such a pretty card!

  8. Your blending technique is awesome (as usual). Love the Paper Smooches’ products you used on a gorgeous card…great design.

  9. Love your card!! Love the background so much too!! Makes me want to try ink blending again…mine looked like some sort of horrific industrial accident!!! 😨

  10. Beautiful ink blending, those three colors work well together; and the rose die in glitter card stock is lovely. Thanks for the chance to win.

  11. As usual, your blended ink background really makes this card special. I aspire to be able to do the blending as well as you do. Thanks for another lovely card.

  12. Laura, as always, I love the design and colors of all of the cards you make! Die-cutting the rose die with glitter paper and foam is a brilliant idea and I’ve recently starting doing this with all of my intricate die cuts. I personally don’t mind the edge of the foam aligned with the cardstock (most card makers like to trim the foam piece smaller than the die cut). TFS Laura and a HUGE congrats to PS (Kim) for their 5 yr accomplish! -Thanks PS for the awesome products!

  13. HI Laura, your card is gorgeous, as usual. I love this rose die and it has many uses-birthday, mother’s day, sympathy, spring, etc.!

  14. The background of your card is beautiful! I love making backgrounds with the distress inks. Also, using the glimmer paper and foam to make a die cut is a great tip. Thx for sharing.

  15. I like this nice bright card. I also love the die cut “thank you”. I am trying to accumulate word dies because I don’t have any.

  16. Hi Laura! Your card is adorable! I love your background! I’m always so excited to see what you make and to learn from you. Happy Anniversary to Paper Smooches!

  17. Laura, I love how the colorful background makes these wonderful PS die cuts really shine on this card! The flowers and the words are so eye-catching! Great design, Laura! Great products, Paper Smooches! Happy Birthday!

  18. Such a gorgeous card Laura and I love the mixed background colours. Great tip to use fun foam before die cutting to get the dimension – so much easier than stacking several card die cuts!

  19. I really like the thank you scripting die for this card! May have to purchase that one! Love your background as well as the splatter results by flicking! Thanks for sharing!

  20. I really want to work on blending – you always inspire me to try it and then… I try one color or two of the same family… this is very pretty!!

  21. Really beautiful card, I love how you did the roses dye, it really pops with your beautifully coloured background. Thanks for sharing.

  22. Gorgeous, Laura. You manage to work some rainbow magic into every project! Love your glittery rose outline, and the mult-icoloured splatters. Thanks for colouring my day with a smile.

  23. Gorgeous card, Laura! I love how you blended those pretty colors on your background…it really makes the die cut elements pop!

  24. Beautiful card! I loved the color choices! That rose die is quickly becoming one of my favorite dies! Thanks for sharing!

  25. Beautiful card! I love the background colors. And your card just reminds me that spring is near. You don;t have to have all those layers to make the card beautiful. Thanks for the inspiration.

  26. I find that I’m looking to use word die cuts like this card more and more. They just have that extra dimension a card needs sometimes. Thanks for your inspiration!

  27. For some reason, the combination of water droplets and Ink splatters look especially great on your card. Paper Smooches has fun products, and I offer my congratulations.

  28. It’s so much fun to see new techniques and tricks that each of the blog hop participants share. Thanks for sharing yours. I love that you added the glitter paper to the foam and made a die cut from it. I’ll have to try that. Thanks again. Beautiful card.

  29. This card has everything I love and makes it work (watcolour, bold colours, simple graphic image and sentiment and even a hint of glitter). 😍

  30. I love your card! I love the colors you used on the background, I need to pull out my distress ink pads and play. I also like how you used the dazzling diamonds glitter paper for your rose.

  31. Hi Laura ~ Another fantastic card!! Playing around with with Distress Inks is my absolute favorite and I love the way you used them here. The sparkly die cut done in white adds the perfect touch to this colorful background! Thanks for sharing.
    #sharehandmadekindness

  32. Wow factor with the use of those two dies over the watercolor background! That rose die is ssssooo gorgeous. Going to have to add that to my die collection!

  33. Awesome sponging – no surprise there – and the splatters? perfect. But OH do I love that glittering rose and that POP of black – swoon! Fingers, and toes, maybe eyes, crossed!
    =] Michele

  34. Wow! I wish I could do colour blending like you do, you are amazing! I love he card, just beautiful. Thank you for the inspiration 💐

  35. Gorgeous card and I love the background which seems to be my favorite these days. Thanks for sharing.

    Linda D.

  36. Beautiful card Laura! I love the confetti colored dots and the glittery rose…and the background…and the sequins…and the water splotches…and the striped accent paper…it’s just a great card from top to bottom! Thanks for the inspiration!!

  37. What a beautiful card, The background blending work is so smooth and made with lovely colours. The sprinkles make it even more interesting. And the glittery rose and the sentiment just look wondeful on this background.

  38. Laura, I think you and Betsy Veldman are my favorite designers out there. Top two, at least. For me, your use of color is always what blows me away. You never disappoint. All of your cards are inspiring. When I grow up, I want to be like you. ha-ha. I’m probably older than you (46). =)

  39. Good morning.

    I really enjoy your daily post but find the Paper Smooches site very difficult to navigate. I see the flashing pictures of stamps etc & try to find them. When I click on the item the menu comes up so I click on
    *sentiments* nothing happens. What am I going wrong? I can never find anything I am looking for.
    Help please.

    Thanks
    Kerri

    >

  40. Dang, how is it a couple of paragraphs and pictures and you have a STUNNING card, and when I go to try and make it, it’s brown? or my glossy accents bottle is clogged? or (and here’s a big one) my shiny cardstock SCRATCHES or gets MARRED??? whyyyyyyy? be honest, how long did this card take you??!!

  41. Such beautifully made cards! I’ve recently become inspired by you, and others on this blog hop, to start card-making 😀 As I don’t have any stamps yet, this would be the perfect way to start a collection (and what a great company!!) Thanks for the giveaway opportunity! ❤

  42. Laura, again you provided a stunning card for this blog. Love the color combo and I especially like the flower die. Great card. 🙂

  43. Love it! Are you still working out? (Just kidding!) I really want a Thank you die, and this one would work beautifully to add to my collection. Thanks so much.

  44. Gorgeous background, and the little flicks of colors sure add a lot of detail. I really like how your diecut flower turned out against the background too. Thanks for sharing!

  45. This is a very pretty card; I love the background. Thanks for sharing your technique. I never would have thought to add shimmer paper to fun foam!

  46. I love your ink blending – I mean, really, I LOVE your ink blending!!! Wish I had half your talent for color combos.

  47. Gorgeous card! I love that you paired the beautiful combination of colors in your blended background with black and white! So classy and stylish!

  48. Every time I die cut fun foam it smooshes down and never looks as good as yours lol. Love the color splashes added to the water splashes.

  49. I love how you used the Dazzling Diamond paper with fun foam to create the beautiful rose! Nice! Also really like the way you did the background…I’m excited to try that! Thanks for sharing!

  50. Pretty card! Great idea for cutting out the rose. I also want to thank you for your tip of putting color on an acrylic block then flicking that on the paper. First I have heard about that technique. I will have to try it!

  51. Love your signature inking. I gleaned some valuable info form your post. Adding the foam to the paper before diecutting. Why have I never thought to do that before? I’ve been cutting them separately and they never match up because the foam smooshes down. Duh!

  52. Love your card Laura and love your energy. I also love Paper Smooches so it’s a win/win/win situation when I visited your blog today!

  53. Love the colors you chose for the background, so fun!
    The rose die is so cut, I can only imagine the possibilities with different yardsticks or using the negative space pieces, etc. to get different looks!

  54. Your card is so beautiful. I have just been learning to watercolor and find this card to be so inspirational, thank you.

  55. Looks like these word dies are one piece each. I like that much better than when they’re broken apart (a la Paper Smooches “celebrate”). Very nice card, Laura

  56. Your background blending is so natural looking. Wish I could do similarity. Practice, practice. Thank you for a lovely card.

  57. That rose die is my FAVORITE!!! Paper smooches never disappoints on the cuteness and sentiments to match! 🙂 I can’t believe it’s been 5 years. They were one of my first clear stamp purchases. Thanks for the chance to win.

  58. That rose die is my FAVORITE!!! Paper smooches never disappoints on the cuteness and sentiments to match! 🙂 I can’t believe it’s been 5 years. They were one of my first clear stamp purchases. Thanks for the chance to win.

  59. word dies are so awesome. I love using them on cards, they seem to add just a little extra added something, just when you need it.

  60. I just LOVE Paper Smooches! This card is stunning…. adore the white die cut sentiment with the black sentiment. Thanks for the inspiration and chance to win. 😀

  61. You blending is always perfection! Love how you cut the rose out of fun foam to give it extra dimension–Such a nice touch! 🙂

  62. I’m 71 yrs old and NOT a jealous bone in my body. But, I am….jealous of your blending techniques. I so wish I could accomplish this on my cards. You said to keep practicing and I am…to no avail. I’ll keep at it. I want to make beautiful creations just like you do. Love this card, I gotta say.

  63. What a fabulous display of the sweet Paper Smooches, Laura. This is SO fun and so pretty. Thanks for sharing and inspiring.
    Blessings,
    Karen Letchworth

  64. Wow! I really love the design of this card and the colors you’ve used are beautiful. Your ink blending is so smooth I thought it was airbrushed at first … truly inspirational! Thanks so much for the chance to win and Happy Birthday Paper Smooches!

    Hugs,
    Snoopy 😀

  65. I love the simple design and beautiful colors on your card. I adore your style and how everything is always colorful and clean. Stunning!

  66. I know you’re last on the list, but I’d have saved you for last anyways. You just don’t disappoint me. This is a very soft card, but you’ve still made it colorful & sparkly! What a gift you have and are! Thanks for sharing!

  67. Thank you Laura! I always learn something new each time I visit! Fun foam + adhesive = YAY!!! Beautiful background. I want to flick water and paint like you ♥

  68. Happy Anniversary Kim and all the design team members! You make so many people happy each and every day! Thank you for another beautiful year! Keep it coming:)

  69. Amazing card, Laura! And congratulations on five fabulous years of creativity with Paper Smooches, Kim; you have many fans and I’m one of the biggest!

  70. Like so many have said, the card is gorgeous. Love the background. Mine always v one out too muddy. Love how vibrant yours is. And the white die against it is fab.

  71. Love your beautiful background. Thank you for letting us know how you made it.
    Your rose is stunning glittered and raised on the foam.

  72. Absolutely beautiful! Loving all the soft shades of bold colours (that sounds impossible, doesn’t it? Well, you manage!) and how luxuriously shimmery it is! 😀

  73. Beautiful Rose die and Happy 5th to Kim and her wonderful team of card designers. The colors are always a draw around that sparkle rose….

  74. This is such a beautiful and relaxing card. You just want to keep looking at it and I really like the sparkly rose. THanks for sharing and keep up the good work!

  75. The rose dies are so popular right now. I really like how you’ve added the rose to such a beautiful, soft background. Thank you for sharing.

  76. Love, love, love your watercoloured background, Laura! Mmm-m-m-m – just makes me feel good! The perfect backdrop for the fabulous rose die!

  77. You have to love the tools that PAPER SMOOCHES gives us to work with ! and Laura your creativity is awesome ! Simply love everything about the card ! Love how the gray/black striped decorative paper picks up on the black dye cut thank you ! love the background color too !

  78. This has been a great hop. Love your tip of adhering the foam to your card stock before cutting with the die. I’ll have to try that, but first get the die!

  79. Great job on this beautiful card, Laura! I really love the dies and how you used them here. Thanks so much for participating in this fun and inspiring blog hop. Keep up the good work!

  80. What a beautiful card! I love the blending of those colors! I have that rose die but hadn’t used it yet, but I’m inspired now 🙂

  81. Always handy to have some thank you cards laying around that’s for sure haha. Nicely done and tell P-smooch happy 5th bday. Very smart cutting the foam too.

  82. As always, a beautiful card. Love the blended background and the use of the glitter paper rose to add some pizzazz! Great design! TFS

  83. Your card is so lovely Laura. I love the color combo. I wish my blending looked that good. Practice is the key, and elbow grease is the key right. Love the beautiful dies. Thanks for the inspiration.

  84. Such a pretty card! I love the Distress ink colors that you used and I have to get that rose die. Thanks for sharing.

  85. Beautiful background. The dimensional rose is so pretty. Good idea to adhere the glimmer paper to foam adhesive. I need to find a place where I can buy a stack of white foam pages.

  86. This is a beautiful card Laura, the rose die is just gorgeous( I will be adding this to my collection) and the colour combination a divine.

  87. Absolutely beautiful!!! I love watching and learning from your videos. I am a new paper crafter with limited resources but there’s love in every card I make. Thank you for sharing and being an inspiration. Thank you for the opportunity and chance to win and hopefully add to my supplies. Blessings

  88. What a cute card.. love the way this is laid out too. I have just purchased my first ever Paper Smooches die-cut (Big Balloons) and I can’t wait to make a card with it. Such cute images/designs… I love the smile too. They think of everything as these balloons even come with a confetti die.

  89. Always look forward to your cards and once again another beautiful card. Thanks for sharing and the chance to win.

  90. I took your Craftsy class and when I read your blog I can hear your happy voice. The contrast in colors is surprising. Thanks for sharing.

  91. Laura, I am always blown away by your use of color!! The placement of the sparkled floral die cut over those colors is genius! I love taking an online class that you are teaching, as your style is so relaxed natural that I am immediately at ease with all my thumbs while I try to emulate your deft movements as you demo techniques! You rock!

  92. I’m always amazed when I see your cards – you have the greatest colors and the most eye catching cards. You always make me smile when I listen to you – thank you for sharing…

  93. It’s clear that the 780+ people before me took all the ‘good’ comments, so, I’ll say ‘ditto’ what they said and add: thank you for alllll the time, energy and creativity you invest to bring us inspiration and joy, be it through your cards, your posts, your videos. Your upbeat personality and delightfully quirky sense of humour (no one sings Hot Lips better than you)…how fun you are to be around!
    ~c (carol)

  94. Hello! This is Marina, from Spain. I wanted to tel you that I think yours is the most beautiful colour combinations (or at least one of my favourites) of all times! That card looks simply gorgeous. Thank you so much for your daily inspiration. Best regards, Marina

  95. What a gorgeous card! I love the simple elegance of the die cut. It really pops out of the beautifully blended background.

  96. Love the color blending background. Also like how thin the thank you die is and the medium you cut it from. Cute card. TFS

  97. What a beautifu and soft card, would made a lovely card for many occasions !
    Happy anny !
    Happy anny paper smootches

  98. Gorgeous card, Laura! I swear I have to flip through 800+ comments to add mine. You are just too popular I guess. 🙂 I bought white fun foam to add dimension vs. so many layers stacked on top of one another.

  99. Your background is just amazing and love very much the diecuts!! Great design, very elegant and perfect for any occasion!
    Thanks for the chance to win, too!

  100. Beautiful card! Wonderful use of dies. Seems like it would be a quick but very appreciated card. I love it and will definitely use the techniques you used.

  101. Laura, I love how you can make even some of the simplest designs look so beautiful!! Thank you for sharing your gift! Thank you Paper Smooches for the giveaways!!

  102. This card is so pretty! I can envision the flower being used a number of ways with a variety of sentiments. Paper Smooches, you did an awesome job with this release! I would love to have them all!

  103. Very cool background! Love the addition of the color flecks. Interesting that you added the glitter before you die cut. I’m guessing that rolling it through the Big Shot helps it to really stick to the cut out.

  104. Sweet. Thanks for the “thank you” card tutorial. New to card making and love the dimensional work. Gives me some idea’s and thanks Paper Smooches. Happy Crafting!

  105. Pingback: SSS-Churches dies | Doublestick Heaven

Leave a Reply

