Altenew 2nd Anniversary Blog Hop

Hello there! Today I’m honored to be joining Altenew for their 2nd Anniversary Blog Hop.Altenew_AnniversaryBlogHop_GraphicI’m very fortunate to have met Tasnim & Jen. They are truly special friends and I’m so happy to celebrate this anniversary with them.Altenew-Sohcahtoa & Peony BouquetMy project features three of my favorite Altenew stamp sets: Sohcahtoa, Peony Bouquet & Magnolias for Her. I stamped this colorful background inspired by this awesome geometric design.Altenew-Sohcahtoa & Peony BouquetNot sure if I’ve mentioned it here on my blog or not, but I recently taught a class for Altenew Academy called Clean, Simple & Colorful Techniques. I used these same stamp sets in the class, too.
Altenew-Sohcahtoa & Peony BouquetHere’s a video to show you how I created my card.Altenew has some special offers in honor of their 2nd anniversary:

First 100 orders : 1 free mini stamp set (Starting April 7th at 9:00 AM EST)
Orders over $75 : 1 free mini stamp set (Now through Sunday, April 10, 2016)

Leave comments along the way for the opportunity to win one of THREE prize packs valued at over $100 from Altenew!Altenew_AnniversaryBlogHop_Sponsor_0318There are 8 awesome companies who are celebrating with us, and they are offering the following prizes:

 Pretty Pink Posh : $30 Gift Certificate
 WOW! Embossing Powder : $30 Prize Pack
 Simon Says Stamp : $30 Gift Certificate
 Scrapbook Adhesives by 3L : $30 Prize Pack
 Ellen Hutson : $50 Gift Certificate
 Freckled Fawn : Gypsy Kit valued at $27
 My Sweet Petunia : Mini MISTI
 StampNation : Three 3 Month Subscriptions

Be sure to leave comments on each stop by Tuesday, April 12, 2016 at 11:59 PM EST for a chance to win! 13 winners will be chosen at random from the collective blogs in the hop list and will be announced on the Altenew blog on Apr 14th.

Here’s the blog hop order:
Altenew
Laura Bassen←you are here
Therese Calvird
Ellen Hutson
Amy Gray
Joni Andaya
Freckled Fawn
Debby Hughes
Lydia Evans
My Sweet Petunia
Kelly Griglione
Isha Gupta

Thanks so much for stopping by!


583 thoughts on “Altenew 2nd Anniversary Blog Hop

  1. I would never have thought to put this modern background with this old-fashioned flowers–looks wonderful.

  2. Anyone who doesn’t know you (someone brand new to stamping?!?) would think you put a rose on patterned paper. Most of us totally know better : ) Wonderful stamping, and I absolutely love the modern vs. vintage, and graphic vs. feminine, contrasting you have created on your card. Happy to be celebrating Altenew’s birthday with you!!

  3. Very pretty card. Your flower really pops on your awesome background. Thanks for sharing the video..I enjoyed watching your background technique

  4. What an interesting and beautiful creation. Your project sparks my creative juices! Thank you for sharing your talent!

  5. LOVE this! What patience you have to create such a fantastic background. I particularly like your advice about inks. I have many colors from many different companies. I have always mixed and matched. Thanks Laura!

  6. Pingback: Altenew 2nd Anniversary Blog Hop - Lime Doodle Design

  7. What a great background for your beautiful flower : two different styles that combine so good ! Thank you for this great idea !

  8. Stunning. You are the queen of design…I have never watched a video or seen one of your cards that I didn’t love. Throw in your wise and real-life-sense of humor…makes for a great view.

  9. What an unexpected combination, and how beautiful it works. Thank you for the wonderful
    video 🙂

    Did you get a little cold during the “making of this video” – I see some sleeves appeared ;-P

  10. When I look at the triangle stamp set, I’m not wowed… but man, when you stamp them in color in a pattern… Just Wow! So striking.. I love the flower with it also…

  11. Laura, I just love your posts. Your cards are always so magnificent, and I love your personality.

  12. I could watch your videos all day. They really encourage me to get out my supplies and try new techniques with lots of color. Love Altenew and I love seeing you show off their supplies.

  13. Gorgeous! Laura this design is fabulous! Love your mix of the graphic triangles with the flower! Wow! Outstanding, absolutely outstanding!

  14. Love your background! Oh the patience it must have taken to get all those triangles laid out just right!

  15. The triangles built up in this way are so beautiful and the flower and complementary coloured sentiment fishtail banner is just perfect. Thank you for the inspiration Laura. x

  16. I wouldn’t have thought to combine the graphic triangles with the soft floral; but you made it work with color. Lovely.

  17. Gorgeous card Laura, as always. You have such patience to stamp the triangle background and it looks great with the peony.

  18. This is an amazing card! One of my favorites. I wish you would do a video on how to use the MISTI with multi layer sets like this one.

  19. I just love your videos Laura! Your cards are always so amazing and you are so cheerful! Watching you brings a bright spot to my day! Thanks!

  20. Another fabulous card by Bassen. The triangle background carries your signature love of color to a tee. Love it mixed with the soft grey.

  21. Gorgeous card as always!! I love how you explained about the inks. Sometimes I do feel like I need to buy from everyone and every single color they have. Of course I haven’t but boy there are those times you just have that urge that you need it all and you need it now! LOL!!! Thank you for putting it into perspective!!

  22. Oh, Laura, I always enjoy your videos. Your sense of humor is the greatest! The card is lovely and I liked how you combined a graphic background with the gorgeous flower. I look forward to your next video. 🙂

  23. Love your combination of designs on this card. I really enjoy your videos because if your awesome talent and humor.

  24. I would never have thought to put a background like that with a floral – I love it! Thank you for giving me inspiration and your beautiful card!

  25. Laura, as usual you always make me smile while watching your videos. I love the card, especially the background that you have created.

  26. I love how you used the geometric shape to really make the subtle bloom pop!! Altenew’s flower stamps just keep getting better and better!!

  27. I never would have mixed triangle background with ‘frilly’ flower, but it is a wonderful combination! thanks for the idea.

  28. Hello Laura! I loved your Clean & Simple boutique class and of course LOVE Altenew products!! Your geometric card is amazing due to the playful use (and design) of the geometrics and the loveliness of the peony. I believe it was through Altenew that I have become a fan of yours too.

  29. Peony bouquet is my favorite as well and I do have the dies. Thanks for the video showing us another way to design a card using these beautiful flowers.

  30. Oh Laura, I love this! I am a HUGE fan of bright happy colours too and this does it for me! Always look forward to all of your videos, I learn SO MUCH! Gosh, I love this Atlenew set, so beautiful!

  31. Laura, your geometric background is so perfect it looks like patterned paper, but anyone who’s familiar with your style knows better. And your beautiful flower looks so realistic. Always enjoy your blog posts and videos.

  32. What u did with a simple triangle is amazing! Great idea to go on google & look for images! I love watching your you tube videos, u r just so much fun! Thanks for the great card & all your fun videos.

  33. I like the contrast of the soft, delicate flower against the bold, geometric background. You are so creative!

  34. Oh man. I just had a flashback to high school Geometry class with the Sohcahtoa reference. Love your background! And as always, love your bright, cheery colors.

  35. As usual, your card is so colorful and elegant, I love it. Thank you for sharing your talent with us.

  36. I admire the patience you have stamping all these triangles in different colours! Well worth the effort though… Great video and beautiful card.

  37. I always love your color selection, no different with your triangle background. Your card is lovely!
    Thanks so much, I really enjoy your videos.

  38. Laura, you have the touch. I would not have thought of combining geometrics and florals, but you did it and it is GORGEOUS.

  39. What a beautiful and cheery card design. It would work for many occasions and that is the type of card I like. Just a switch of sentiments and you are good to go. Love how you colored it and that great background is perfect with it.

  40. You created a great background for your card. I enjoy your videos. Thank you for including one for the hop.

  41. Laura, you made it look so easy, I love the background. Thanks for the video showing the great technique and sharing your talents.

  42. The card is beautiful – I hope it finds a home with someone who appreciates all that hard work! Thanks once again for a fun and informative tutorial.

  43. THANK YOU for a great video and cool card. Thanks also for saying get the colors you want and not just the brand!!!!

  44. Beautiful card! Love the hand stamped patterned background in fun cheerful colors! At first I thought an embossing folder created the background wow! Thank You for sharing and the helpful video!

  45. That peony stamp is one of the prettiest large flowers I have seen. Thanks for showcasing it with that interesting background. Also appreciate that you did a video.

  46. I was so happy when I saw you were on this blog hop and I wasn’t disappointed. Your card is gorgeous and the colors are beautiful. Isn’t it amazing what Altenew has accomplished in just two years? Great company! 🙂

  47. Lovely card, Laura. The geometric design combined with the floral made your card very interesting. Enjoyed the video as always. You are a hoot, girl.

  48. Very cool card and I simply love how you were inspired by an image which you then went ahead and recreated and executed perfectly! Just lovely!!

  49. Fantastic card Laura! Thanks for the video too and for the smile you always manage to squeeze out of me no matter what kind of day I’m having. Love ya girl, almost as much as Altenew’s stamps. 🙂

  50. Your Altenew class was awesome, Laura; thoroughly enjoyed it. This card has a great layout and looks fun to do.

  51. WOWOW!!! This card is absolutely DINOMITE!!!!!! I LOVE the colors, the design and the stamping of the flower. You made it all look so easy! Thanks so much for sharing.

  52. Laura, I just love the colors you used on your card! Bright & happy, and bold enough to work with that triangle pattern. Great job on the fussy-cutting, too. Thanks so much for the video!!! 😀 ~ Andrea

  53. Beautiful, I wouldn’t have thought that the geometrical background would work with the flower but it does. Amazing!

  54. Your videos are so entertaining. Love the triangle background and the Altenew stamp set. I just received my first layering stamp set, and I’m struggling to figure out how to line up the layers properly. I never thought I needed a Misti, but your video is making me think I need one after all!

  55. Laura
    I just love your cards. Always bright. I always get a laugh while watching your videos. I am a huge fan.

  56. Thank you for reminding me about the lovely peony stamp set. I had forgotten about it!! Your card is lovely.

  57. I always enjoy your videos – you make me smile! What a great card you made…lots of work, but so totally worth it.

  58. I just love geometric cards and your triangle pattern is beautiful. And as usual your card is stunning. TFS!

  59. I love your triangle pattern in the background. I would have never thought to add the flower to this, but it’s gorgeous. So very pretty!

  60. Love the background and the video showing how you made it. I also like bright colors and the peony stamp is my favorite. Beautiful card.

  61. Man Laura, you just said something that resonated with me….yeah, the light bulb finally lit up, which was to buy the colors you like and not to worry about getting the whole darn set! Guess I’m a wee bit slow LOL. Anyway, I always love your cards Laura and this was is no exception….just gorgeous! TFS

  62. ABSOLUTELY FABULOUS card Laura!!!
    LOVE your GORGEOUS peony, LOVE your AWESOME triangles background and CHEERY colours too
    THANK YOU for sharing your INKY INSPIRATION and video 🙂

  63. Such patience! As I fought with my inks tonight I am going to take to heart what you said…..buy the ones you love! Time to go shopping.

    Thank you for sharing a beautiful card.

  64. The triangle idea is cool. I’m a vibrant color person too. I don’t like neutral tones, very boring, but this is so happy and bright. Loved your use of color

  65. Love that card. Your background is amazing; the composition is just perfect. Thank you so much for making the video; I really enjoyed watching.

  66. Dang! Didn’t think I
    was ever going to
    get to the bottom
    of the comment
    list. Love this
    background and
    the pretty flowers.
    Carla from Utah

  67. Fabulous card – I love the background! You must have the patience of a thing-that-has-a-lot-of-patience!

  68. Love the bright colours you used and the triangles do make an awesome pattern, Altenew do come out with some great stamps. 😊

  69. Fabulous card, Laura! I love the combination of the graphic, hard lines of the background with the soft flowing lines of the peony.

  70. Wow, Laura! Just as gorgeous as ever! it’s really very dangerous for me to visit your blog because you always make me want the products you use! 🙂 Really though, you’re very talented and such a joyous woman. God bless you.

  71. Laura, wow, and Altenew wow, How beautiful are these combinations. Loooove them….. T xx

  72. I love your cards, style, and videos! Im quickly becoming a major fan of Altenew as well. Thanks for sharing your talent!

  73. Omg your card is beautiful, I love the unique combination of the geometric background with the magnolia. Very inspiring, love the stamps and the colors.

  74. I love your background. It looks like you worked and planned so hard at it. I also love bright fun colors. Great job, can’t wait to try it.

  75. I’m so glad you showcase your love for the geometric designs because its sheds a whole new appreciation of them for me. Great card & video as always!

  76. Would not have thought to use the flowers and geometric background together, but yours is lovely ! Thanks for sharing !

  77. Beautiful card, geometric background with just a few triangles in color makes it great contrast to such a beautiful flower.

  78. Love how you combined the graphic elements with the more romantic look of the flower…great inspiration…thank you!

  79. Love your bright and colorful cards! they’re always so amazing! and i especially enjoy your commentary!

  80. Your are rocking again Laura! You give it your all in the video. I just love to watch your videos, gets my juices flowing. The card is beautiful!

  81. I love how you used the distinct lines of the triangles and softness created by the flower. I never thought of doing that but it looks great and the card is so colorful. Altenew stamps are so versatile and fun to play with to create outstanding images.

  82. Love your beautiful card. Laura, your videos always inspire me and bring a smile to my face!

  83. Fabulous card Laura. Loved your video. Do you know the meaning behind the name of your Altenew triangle stamp set? (hint: my engineering husband got a big smile when he overheard your video)

  84. I really appreciated the “buying inks you love” tip. Thanks for removing the pressure! So loved the triangle pattern. TFS!

  85. Love the graphic background combined with the lovely, old fashioned bloom. Also thanks for the great video. I always love watching them as you give so many wonderful tips and make the videos really interesting.

  86. Laura, I love watching you on Youtube. You are so much fun!! The Sohcahtoa stamp set is my current favorite so I love to see great new ideas on how to use it. Thanks for sharing with us.

  87. Laura, I love your work and I always really enjoy watching your videos! I need to take one of your classes for sure!

  88. I love the geometric background with the organic shape of the flower. The colors are too perfect for spring!

  89. Beautiful card. Love the mix of the geometric pattern and the flower. I like the same color palette as you do.

  90. So glad you talked about your “mixed” palette of inks from various companies. I taught a class on Saturday using Hero Arts layering orchid set and didn’t get my HA ink pad shipment in time so I had to punt with what I had in my studio and it worked out great for the students but not something store owners are fond of me doing….!! Oh well…loved this design, Laura. Gave me a great idea for a class.

  91. Laura, you are one of my favourite stampers and I always love your use of colour, simplicity and pure genius in bringing it all together. Thanks for all you do.

  92. I always love watching you, and that alone brings a smile to my face every time! Thank you for sharing a part of your life with us.

  93. Beautiful card; love your background and appreciate your great video showing the process. Thanks again for sharing your talent with us.

  94. I love your background. I always enjoyed your youtube video. You cracked me up all the time. The Peony stamp set is also my favorite from altenew.

  95. I always look forward to your videos because your commentary is so entertaining! I want to create a geometric background too with my stamps but looks a little time consuming for me 😉

  96. wooooww this is a BEAUTY
    I never combine geometric with flower
    and you did it so pretty so adorable so gorgeous
    I am speechless Laura
    this is a masterpiece of you
    love love love

  97. That background pattern is so much fun!! I loved your video (as always)! Thank you so much for sharing!!

  98. Pingback: Altenew’s A Year In Review Blog Hop | Doublestick Heaven

Leave a Reply

