SSS-Among The Stars blog hop

Among the Stars 928x408 Blog HopHi there! I’m very excited to be joining Simon Says Stamp for their Among the Stars release blog hop! You can see the full release HERE.
SSS-Stacked Stars die & Shine On stampMy project features the fun new Stacked Stars die & Shine on Stamp set & coordinating dies.
SSS-Stacked Stars die & Shine On stampI love this encouraging sentiment so much! I die cut the sentiment out with one of the new Basic Banners dies. I blended a soft background behind the stars using Cracked Pistachio, Peacock Feathers, Salty Ocean & Blueprint Sketch. I added some flicks of water with my Mini Mister & white flicks with Copic Opaque white ink.
SSS-Stacked Stars die & Shine On stampHere’s a video to show you how I created my card.

Simon Says Stamp will be giving away a new surprise product that will be released later this year on every stop of the hop. Leave me a comment for your chance to win!!! Winners will be announced on the Simon Says Stamp blog on June 20th.

Your next stop on the hop is one of my very favorites, Kathy Racoosin!
Thanks so much for hopping by!

shop the new release:

what I used:

623 thoughts on “SSS-Among The Stars blog hop

  1. A fabulous card as always…. and Oh Mama bear — so hard. I’m sure he will do great and what a gift to him to let him chase his dreams. Big hugs. And thank you for the inspiration.

  2. Love the card!! I know jow hard it is to let go. But i can pretty much promise you they always come back home . Youll be fine mama bear.

  3. Beautiful card! And how exciting for your son!! As a mom of 8, (with some married and out and some still at home) I know how hard it is for you, but all you can do is pray and let him go like you said and he’ll always come home to his mom, trust me on this one!!
    I also think you just sold me on this set!

  4. A wonderful card!
    I love to hear the stories about your life. I also have some Mama bear feelings because our 19 year old daughter is currently doing an internship in Scotland, whereas we are home in the Netherlands. A bit scary, but with whatsapp we have contact almost every day. And it is so rewarding to hear she is coping just fine.
    It was also nice to hear you were equally impressed by Mount Rushmore and Yellowstone with its Old Faithfull, we were there in 1998 and loved it to.
    Keep making video’s of you creating, it’s very inspirational!

  5. Love your cards. Your videos always make me smile as they are not only creative and informative but you are so much fun! Thanks so much.

  6. Just dropped my teen daughter at airport for a trip to Spain. College next year…. Getting older by the day!

  7. Gorgeous card. And I love your story and of course can relate and recall the first time I left my daughter at a sleep away camp. I was a mess. But it gets easier with time.

  8. Oh dear Mama Bear.. Hugs and kisses to you from Sweden..But.. Your card is fabulous.. I love light ink-blending, I love new die,I love sentiment.. I just love Everything. Thanks for the super super great video!!

  9. I understand your anxieties. My daughter got a job in Australia. And I really feared she would never come back. At least Calgary is drivable. The card is beautiful. as usual. Wish him well with his dream.

  10. Love the card, love the sentiment, and love your videos. Congrats & best wishes to your son.
    P.S. I have been practicing my ink blending trying to do exactly like you do in your videos & it still looks like crap.

  11. I love everything about this card. It is uplifting, love the foam stars and soft blending. It’s hard to let them leave the nest but oh my, what a wonderful opportunity for him.

  12. I am lovin’ the “star” theme of this release – that Stacked Star die is fabulous, and really pops off the page with your amazing blended BG

  13. Love every part of it!! The contrast between the cute yellow moon and the smooth background is awesome!!

  14. Your card is so beautiful as always. Your ink blending skills are amazing! I, too, love your stories from the monkey to the simple pistachio.

  15. Gorgeous, Laura! Amazing stars and the perfect sentiment! Stay strong. It’s such an exciting opportunity for your son! ♡

  16. Like the soft colors with the striking sentiment focus. As far as what am I looking forward to this Summer I’m hoping to go to the StockYards in Ft Worth TX which I’ve never been to and trek to the Dallas & Ft Worth Zoos. Have a Bee-utiful day!
    Melissa
    “Sunshine HoneyBee”

  17. Congratulations and good luck to your son! Awesome! Thanks for showing us (again) your ink blending method!

  18. Sorry Laura just had to add (watched the video…was so excited to see your card I jump commented there!
    LOVE the card as always and big hugs….I’m sure he’ll do fabulous things and make you super proud! 😀

  19. I love your card. They always turn out so awesome. Sorry to hear momma is having to let go but it will be ok. Trust me. Good luck to your son.

  20. Love your card as I always do and your videos just make me smile and laugh out loud! They are so fun! Your ink blending is so good and your tips are so helpful, however mine never turns out like that! Your inspiration will keep me trying! Good luck to your son, sounds like an awesome opportunity.

  21. I always love your cards, (even though I don’t comment very often). 🙂 I have a new blog post today casing one of your recent sailboat cards. I know exactly how you feel .my son went to college and my daughter is now living in a group home….so I became an empty nester in one fell swoop! So hard for us moms!! Hang in there!

  22. I love these dies and stamps, so much fun! Thanks for giving all of us a chance to see your designs and maybe win some of these cool new itemsite. Have a great day Laura!

  23. Your video was so much fun to watch. Congrats. to your son! I totally understand Mama’s heart, though. Love your card!

  24. You are really funny in your videos! LOL..my little guy just finished 1st grade and I can’t bear to think about him leaving my nest (mama bear only has one cub) but your trip sounds fantastic..I absolutely love this card…and I will use your suggestion to TAP TAP TAP off the excess ink before blending (my cards always fall into the “splotchy” category).

  25. As always, beautiful card! Enjoy your vacation!! 🙂 and try not to worry the entire time about leaving your baby behind!! 🙂 TFS!

  26. Beautiful card and story. Just do you know….it NEVER gets easier to ‘let them go’! We’re happy for their successes and so proud of them, but can’t they just stay young and need their mamas….LOL

  27. I LOVE your videos! They always make me feel as though you are sitting across the kitchen table while we craft together. The card is lovely. Best of everything to your son!

  28. Love it Laura! I hope you guys are chowin’ down on some delicious food up there in Canada!?! Haha! Congrats to your son and I hope you will be able to manage!

  29. Love your card, always love to here you stories. I always get such a kick out your videos and they make me laugh when I here your stories. Anyway Simon has done it again, another great release!

  30. I love your ink blending & ink splatters! Great video…and have fun on vacation…hopefully the car ride back is less smelly…lol!

  31. Great card – as always!!! I am actually from Calgary and your son will love it! Tell him to go to the stampede!!! Wishing him all the best in Calgary!

  32. Awww, Laura! It can be so hard watching our kids grow up and spread their wings. I totally know how you feel. (((hug))) I adore your card! It’s gorgeous! Enjoy the rest of your trip and safe travels back home. 😘😘😘

  33. Girlfriend, you are the best! Loved you fabulous card. Good luck to your son. Thank goodness for Skype andthank goodnessforyou. You bring such joy into my life when I watch your videos!

  34. Laura great card. Will use your ink blending tips. Yay for the mention of Calgary and Canada. Also my brand new nephew is named Boaz!

  35. Thanks for sharing this gret card! Best of luck to your son. It’s nice that he is able to stay with family instead of boarding with strangers. Make sure you pick up some Smarties for your trip home. The good, chocolate-y kind that we have up here north of the 49th! Mmmmm! 😋 Safe travels home.

  36. Beautiful card. Moons and stars are my thang, so I’m really enjoying this release. Hang in there momma bear!

  37. Love this card. Definitely going good to try your technique for ink blending. Hopef6i have success with it.

  38. Love your card! Gotta have that sentiment! This is a great blog hop except that I’m afraid I’m going to spend way to much on the SSS site now. Thanks so much for sharing your techniques!

  39. Love your card Laura! The sentiment is one of my favorites. Change and letting go is oh-so-hard, but it does get easier with time. Good luck to your son. What an awesome release from SSS!

  40. Love all the elements to this card. Can’t wait to study it for use with other dies and stamps. Beautiful card! Thanks for sharing.

  41. Beautiful card! I love your videos! Thanks for all the stories you include – they are always so funny.

  42. Love, love, love this card. Your ink blending always inspires. Love that stacked stars die that you used as well as the stacked hearts in the release. What a great opportunity and experience for you son! Hang tough mama. You’ll be ok. He’ll be ok. Wow that is a lot of driving. Just the drive from Mt Rushmore to Yrlloestone alone is long. I’ve done that before. TFS.

  43. Love, love, love this card and this die set. I understand the “mama bear”. He will love you even more for allowing him to grow. You have given him his wings.

  44. Love this card … Thanks for sharing .. I live in Canada also in Prince Edward Island… It is never easy to let our children leave our apron strings… Thanks for sharing. Oh and… I LOVE all SSS products which I buy all the time

  45. Love your work.. I am most looking forward to warm weather and beautiful flowers this summer. It is always hard when your kids leave home but take deep breaths, and call lots. It will drive him nuts but you will feel better. Welcome to Calgary! If you ever need a card making fix you are welcome to come and use my toys.

  46. The card is so adorable and I love the sentiment that you used. Thank you for sharing your stamping tips as well.

  47. Aw…I know what you mean about letting the chicks leave the nest! Calgary is a great place, though. My late husband was raised there and I try to get up there to see my SIL often….

  48. This is an awesome new release; the stacked stars die is my favorite – I think; actually love many of them. Love, love your card with the blending in the background and the great sentiment.

  49. Love this card is wonderful. I know how you feel about your son, my two little ones are spending a month with their grandma in ND and I will stay here in TX.

  50. My ink blending NEVER looked that good. That inspired me. I have to go try it the way you did. The card is stunning. I have the opposite problem with my boys, they don’t want to leave! It’s no fun either.

  51. What a wonderful card you made with all those stars and that lovely sentiment. I think I want many on this release for future card making. I am so inspired.

  52. I love that no matter how I feel, when I watch your videos, you put a smile on my face! You are a talented lady who has a big heart and great sense of humor. You tell it how it is girl!! P.S. I love Simon says stamps!

  53. Love, love, love this card! Really, ALL your cards. My heart goes out to you…leaving your son behind will be hard. Love your stories while you stamp – they make me feel like we’re friends!

  54. Gorgeous as usual! I love all the colors. I’m a big distress ink fan. Tfs and chance to win the giveaway.

  55. I’m a star watching fan…. so of course I love your card. And it’s always so much fun to watch your videos, really great ! I will definitively get that stars die and the stamp set too….

  56. I really love the background colors, and that stacked stars die is now on my to buy list. Thanks for sharing.

  57. That is a beautiful sentiment, indeed. It is so very hard to let your children go; but, as you say, he is in good hands . . . and truth be told, beneath his excitement he is missing you and the rest of his family just as much . . . maybe, even more. Hugs to you, Laura.

  58. Laura, love your card. You are amazing–you didn’t miss a beat in either your card description or your story!

  59. Love the die and moon and always love your cards – mine are grown and gone – what a great experience for your son but plans for the summer that we were supposed to post – I’m going on my first cruise – ever – with my husband to the caribbean – this summer – he says it is a one and only trip because he will never get on a boat again, but I’m hoping that once he’s on it he’ll love it – I am soooooo excited. So basically I’m wishing my summer away because we don’t leave until September, I know that’s horrible, but I am so excited.

  60. Love this card! I am drawn to your personality, creativity, and design, always making sure to catch your videos and blog posts. Thanks for being such a positive, creative inspiration!

  61. Gorgeous card, Laura! Thanks for sharing your tips about inking the center of the card…You ROCK!!! I love this star die…I think there are a lot of things we can do with it, but my fave is the Shine On stamp set…it’s so sweet!
    I know it’s hard to let go of our kids, but the time will fly by for you!,I also hope Boaz has a great summer!

  62. Pingback: Getting the Most Out of Die Cuts + Simon Release HopNina-Marie Design | Nina-Marie Design

  63. Gorgeous card as always. Always love your videos and stories. Hope your son has a good time, I know it’s hard letting go but we all go thru it and adjust somehow.
    Dolores

  64. This release is adorable. Lots of stamps and dies to be used for a variety of projects. Sentiment is wonderful!

  65. Love Laura Bassen, loved her story and had it added to the card she made and, of course, loved the card because I love her work. Don’t ever let her go Simon!

  66. Welcome to Calgary! Best of luck to your son. I’m certain he is going to love it here. I chose the stacked stars as my favourite. Love your card!

  67. Your card is beautifully created, as always. Your son will always appreciate that his Mama Bear let him go when the time came. Though it’s hard, you will appreciate it, also as you see him spread his wings and fly! BTW- Love this release from SSS!

  68. Hi Laura! My weekend can officially start because your videos just make me so happy!!!! Your card is just adorable! I can relate to letting your babies go even if in amazing hands! He will be home pestering you with what’s for dinner in no time and you’ll say hmmm wonder If the Aunt and Uncle are ready for us to send you back for a few!!! Ha!

  69. What a great card and fabulous sentiment!!!!
    I know how hard it is to let little ones behind for a while. Just remember how much fun he is going to have and it sounds like he is going to have lots have it!! I will sing to you any time you want!!
    Let him go let him go. With a big smile on my face!

  70. Good luck and congratulations to your son. I am trying to get better at ink blending with all the videos I see of you. Thank you for the inspiration.

  71. I loved watching your video, you made a beautiful card with an excellent sentiment. Hope baby bear is doing well with his hockey and enjoying being independent, its tough letting go hey!!
    By the way I am singing, ‘Let it go’ in my head now Lol.

  72. Love the card, have always loved the saying and looking forward to buying some of the items in the release.

  73. I love your ink blending as always! Thanks for the tips on how to get smooth coverage. And hang in there! I can’t imagine having to part with my little man. Even when they grow up they are still our little babies!!

  74. Outstanding card and lovely video.What a great trip for the family. I’m sure your son will have a great experience on his adventure. He’ll be back home before you know it.

  75. Love listening to your story’s while you make à card at the same time. I recognize the mama bear …so hard for mama but so good for your Son.

  76. Yellowstone is great! Your videos are always pretty funny, keep up the good work. That star die cut background piece almost looks like lattice work for ivy or vines, so that’s what I plan to create on a card once I get my hands on it from Simon Says Stamp

  77. A fabulous card Laura!
    I hope you have a great time while you are here in Canada, it really is beautiful here! As for leaving your baby boy….Is that EVER easy??? NO! BUT, I am sure he will be fine, most likely he will do better than you:( Keep your chin up Momma!
    Thanks for sharing yet another great video/card and thanks for the chance to win!

  78. Awesome Laura, beautiful card..love your ink blending. It’s so nice to hear about your family, I hope that your heart will recover soon !!

  79. Great card. When my youngest started college, I felt so empty. I realized then that I had been in denial as my two older ones were already in college. I completely blocked that feeling when the first one started and more so when the second one started as I still had someone home. It was an extremely long 12 hour drive home. Hang in there. Good luck to your son.

  80. My problem with the ink blending is my lack of patience, I think. Yeah really have to start light and go slow. You’re a master!

  81. Love the card!! It’s always hard to let the first child go, I know, I’ve been there, done that. Mama Bear will be fine, it’s hard, but I think he’s in good hands. Sounds like a great trip, safe travels. I always love watching your videos and hearing about your family and your kids 🙂

  82. SQUEAL!! LOVING LOVING LOVING the New Release and the AMAZING Design!! THANKS for sharing the Video and BLESSING to you and your Family!! It will be a TOTAL Change for everyone, but LIFE is just that a series of changes and growths and he’s going to do GREAT!! THANKS for sharing and Safe Travels Home!! Have a FABULOUS FATHER’S DAY WEEKEND!! =) HUGE HUGS!!

  83. Very nice card. You are so funny. I love the story behind the card. Thanks for sharing and thanks for the fun foam tip.

  84. I like the soft blended background colors. And I’m really in love with the falling Stars Die! Beautiful card!

  85. I enjoyed your story. Did you make a card in this video? Ha! JK I’m thinking about Canada. We left Saute Ste Marie, MI, yesterday where we witnessed a ship going through the Soo Locks. That was something to see. We didn’t cross the river into Canada though. We don’t have a passport. Now we’re headed back to our home in Atlanta. As always your card is a keeper.

  86. What a gorgeous card! I love the blended background. The colours you chose are my favourite!
    What team is your son playing for? Is he playing for the WHL?

  87. Oh, Laura, this is awesome X3. I love your stories. Good luck to your son. I know both of you will be fine.

  88. Fantastic card! Your video was excellent, as always. Glad to hear that you enjoyed Mt. Rushmore – I keep telling people it is a must-see! Hope you had the opportunity to see the nighttime program there because it is really special when it is lit up at night.

  89. I totally love this “Space” card. I love the simplicity of it. And, the way you used the die is fabulous! (Makes me want a cutter even more!)

  90. Don’t worry, Mama Bear you’ll get through this! I speak from experience, all four of my babies are adults now. In their thirties!!! I blinked and they all grew up.

    I love your card! I have learned so much about blending ink from you, thank you!

    I hope the rest of your travels are safe and happy!

  91. Love the dies and stamps you used! The sentiment is PERFECT! Also enjoyed your story (and SONG!). I don’t think I ever watch a video that I don’t laugh as well as learn something. And you can’t be that combination! Blessings, Laura!

  92. Ohh I adore the feel of the soft background with the bold white of the die cut. This quote is one of my favourites in fact I think I listed it as so in my yearbook eons ago :D.

  93. Love this card–the background, the die cut, the sentiment, and the reason you chose this sentiment.

  94. LOVE LOVE LOVE THE CARD!!! As always your choice of colors is fabulous.
    Thanks for sharing and inspiring

  95. Lauren,
    I just love your videos!! I can always count on hearing great stories and laughing!! I love this card and love what you did with the star die and foam. As always, your blending is impeccable! I have taken the Background Check class, and I’m still practicing your techniques!!
    Anyway, thanks so much for all you do!
    -Irene

  96. As always, your card is so beautiful. Love the sentiment. They after all will always be our children. Best of luck to you and your family. Enjoy the rest of your trip.

  97. Hi Laura,

    Oh sweetie, I know how you feel, but that is what mothers are supposed to do! A sad part of life but rewarding nevertheless! Love the video and the card as usual!
    Still missing you at PTI! Thanks for the chance to win.

    Cariños,
    María Alba

  98. Your ink blending is AMAZING!!! I have gotten my granddaughters stamping by watching you videos with me. We LOVE all of your work!! Thanks for inspiring!

  99. Like all the rest – you created a gorgeous card with your skillful ink blending highlighting that great die! Wish you the best as you experience new things with family.

  100. Oh gosh! I LOVE this card! Gonna have to buy me some craft foam…have never used it before. Love to listen to family stories…thanks for sharing your life with us (and your inspiration!)

  101. This card is pure AMAZING! Honestly, I could just listen to your stories for days on end. Today’s story took me back to 1995 when we went West with our five kids and went to Yellowstone, Badlands, Tetons, Mt. Rushmore and the Black Hills. Our kids still talk about that wonderous trip. I often tell anyone who will listen, I believe every American should see Yellowstone. Nowhere else in the world will you see such amazing, glorious scenery and wildlife. Thanks for bringing back to my memory that joyous trip.

  102. Loved your card. What no rainbow at night? Ha! A beautiful soft evening stary night effect came right on thru that playful star die.

  103. AWESOME card!! I just love it! And it doesn’t look all that difficult to make! Thanks for the wonderful ideas!

  104. Beautiful card! Thanks for the video. I love the mister technique. I always think it’s such a nice touch to the background of my cards!

  105. What a hoot you are Laura, I love to hear you chatter as you color, it is a joy to watch your videos as you brighten my days. Before I forget what this all about, I love your card and that star is right up there on my to get list! Keep coming with the videos as I am going to be needing a lot of cheers in the coming future!

  106. Laura as always you amaze me with you simplicity love your take on the stacked stars die in the new release…. so I guess I’m not blending right cause i surely don’t sweat when I’m doing my ink blending. Congrats to your son and the rest of the family and have a safe drive back home….

  107. I have never watched one of your video’s before and I have to say what a delight I was. I love the card and I loved the story you shared about your son. He will be fine, and will have the experience of a lifetime… Momma bear will always be where his home is and he’ll get back to that… thanks again for the great card..

  108. I’m loving the cards I’m seeing with the stars die. I love how you popped them up. They really stand out against the gorgeous blue!

  109. Laura, I’m a Mama Bear too and I remember just leaving my boys at college was hard. The card is a great tribute to him taking this step in his life. The new SSS products are perfect!

  110. Awesome card, Your background looks so much better than mine. Guess I need more practice. Like the star die cut.

  111. Gorgeous card I think this star die is my new favourite it’s a must have for sure , thanks for sharing

  112. Your ink blending always amazes me, Laura!! I love this card. It is hard to see our “babies” grow up, but he will have a blast and you will be SO proud of him!! Hang in there!

  113. I LOVE LOVE LOVE EVERYTHING about this card! I have to have that die set! Thanks for sharing Laura! And that sentiment I used on my daughter’s graduation card last summer. I know how you feel cuz she went to college in Chicago, we live in Richfield, Ohio and it was very hard to “Let Her Go”.

  114. Love the stacked stars die. You made a wonderful card love the sentiment. Congrats to your son, he will do wonderful and you will be ok, just think he is following his dreams. Smile you did a wonderful job.

  115. I love your card. Laura, you crack me up. BTW: You missed the great state of North Dakota and Medora on your little road trip up to Calgary! (Hee hee). Hope you have a great time. Your son will have a great time, what a great opportunity for him.

  116. love this die >>> and your stories … good luck to your son and im sure you’ll be fine … thanks as always …

  117. Love this, Mama Bear! We did Yellowstone last year and it was fabulous. Hang in there–it will be fine. Thanks for sharing your great card and video!!

  118. I could listen to you all day! You are so funny and I love how you go off on tangents about your family and how you feel! So sweet! Your card is beautiful as always! Great color blending and I love that new die!

  119. Oh my!!! This is OVER THE MOON FANTABULOUS! I LOVE this card! Love the colors and the ink blending…..everything! Thanks for sharing.

  120. My heart is with you Laura. it’s hard to let go of a child (and they will always be our children no matter how old they are), especially when he will be so far away. I love that sentiment and you made the PERFECT card to go with it.

  121. Beautiful ink blending and I love how the stars look against it. Don’t worry Mama Bear he’ll do just fine. He’s going to have an awesome time in the heart of the country that I know is crazy about hockey!

  122. Love the dreamy colors and all of your techniques!! I could listen to you all day, love your genuine spirit.
    Could you please share a link or name of the sticky foam you used for the star die? Thanks you 💙

  123. Love your cards and videos! Love your stories and I completely and absolutely understand how you feel about leaving your son! Hopefully, the time will pass by fast and he’ll be back home with his mama bear lol

  124. What a gorgeous background Laura! I think this card is amazing. I’m really loving that stacked stars die. Thanks for sharing with us.

  125. Watching you create and listening to your voice overs, just makes my day. You definitely are the queen of ink blending. Pretty card 🙂

  126. There is something so spectacular about a gorgeous night sky and you certainly captured the beauty of it with your fabulous card! Your ink blending always looks so effortless and amazing…unfortunately I haven’t quite mastered that technique yet. Thanks for the inspiration! Best to you and your family!

  127. I don’t know what I like the most about your videos, the card making or hearing about your family. Thank you for sharing.

  128. Gorgeous card and the sentiment is perfect for your son’s new adventure. How great that he is staying with family Laura. So hard to let them go but as parents that’s our job so just proves you’re doing a good job girl 🙂

  129. Love all your zany chatting as you create and your ideas are so creative and cool.
    Best wishes for your son’s new adventure in life

  130. Beautiful card and sentiment. We’re moving right now–lots of stress–so I watch your videos to laugh and relax. Can hardly wait ’til my craft room is up and running again.

  131. Love the card, the ink blending and the die! How nice to hear about a young person getting to “live the dream”, even if you’ll all miss him.

  132. Laura! Where have you been all my life?! I love, love, loved your video – the technique, the great blending tips, and your amazing story! I am Canadian, East Coast – Nova Scotia, so it hit home with me. Leaving your children is so hard to do no matter how old they are! You definitely have a new blog follower in me!!

  133. Love the way you pulled these awesome SSS products together. Good luck for your son. Love the stars and moon sets

  134. Beautiful! So cool. I must get those stars! Love your work….and don’t worry about your son – he’ll be fine!

  135. Oh Laura – I just love watching your videos!!! You never fail to put a smile on my face. Love your card and, of course, your gorgeous ink blending. I can’t imagine what you are going through as a mom, but I’m sure your son will fall in love with Canada while he is here playing hockey. Best of luck to him and you!

  136. Beautiful card, and lovely story, you made me laugh out load about the state and smell of the car hehehe

  137. Beautiful card as always Laura! Your son is so very lucky to have such wonderful opportunities, but we as mom’s are the ones always left behind worrying! LOL! Best of luck to him!

  138. I love the star die! The moon and sentiment are really sweet. It’s a great card with lovely colouring. Enjoy your weekend.

  139. Love, love, love your card! This set is my fave. I just love your stories about you and your family. I know how hard it is to leave one of your cubs behind but this will be good for him and you it is also a sneak peak as to what’s ahead college there I said it. Talk about buckets of tears. It was so worth it to see the new found independence and maturity in my daughter. Now don’t get me wrong it’s no picanic for mama bear but she will be extremely proud of how well her cub did lol! Good luck and enjoy the rest of your Summer.

  140. Lovely card! Your video brought tears to my eyes. Remember those days clearly but they get easier. We can’t keep the kids young and dependent forever.

  141. Oh Laura what a lovely card. It looks like a children’s book illustration! What great videos you make. Like visits with a friend. Much love for your son’s upcoming adventures and your family’s strength.

  142. I love the card and the saying. You are right letting go isn’t easy. My oldest got married 5 years ago. I’m just getting used to it.

  143. Awww Laura – hard time ahead, but you can do it! Sending a hug your way.
    And, your card is just spectacular 🙂

  144. I love your beautiful, simple card. The colors are wonderful and the sentiment so perfect. I have the falling hearts die and look forward to getting the stars.

  145. Very pretty card. I also love that sentiment. It’s one of my favorites. I love listening to you videos. They are so fun! Try not to stress to much about you son. It’s hard, but the little birds have to fly, unfortunately. Mine have been out of the house for a long time now and I miss them and their antics. My husband and I make up for it with our fur babies and adventures of our own. Hang in there!

  146. Grogeous card and my fave stamp set of this release. AND after I botched more ink blended backgrounds this week (and thought, “This does NOT look like Laura Bassen’s stuff….!”), thanks to your video I’m ready to give it another go. Sending kids to sleep away camp–it is hard to let go.

  147. I love that everything graphical adds to the insinuation of the sentiment! I love the Shine On die set.

  148. Beautiful card. You sold the products for me. Simon Says should see big sales based on your (and all the designers’) great work. I am, ironically headed to Calgary today (not such a long drive for me from central Alberta – only 3 hours) to visit my son and his family. Still hard years later not seeing so much of him or my daughter. Just saying.

  149. Oh my great card and love the sentiments in the stamp set. And you Ms Laura are so much fun. I so enjoy all your stories and your humor, Your home must be so much fun!!! Hang in there Mama Bear it will be ok..

  150. Lovely card…your blending with the distress inks is great! I am just starting to use these and haven’t perfected that soft look yet, but I am still working at it.

  151. Great card, but as always, love the stories too! Rest assured, Canada is a great place for him to be. (from a Canadian)

  152. Super cool card loving the color scheme! You got this mama, it’s never easy letting a child go but in the long run you know it’s worth it!

    A great new release thanks for the chance to win! God bless…

  153. I love your card! I always enjoy your videos–thank you for sharing such inspiring work! As an empty nester, I’ve learned that when they come home, you will appreciate them all the more! From one Mama Bear to another–hang in there!!!

  154. You just put the star cluster die at the top of my wish list with your beautiful card. Thanks for the inspiration.

  155. Beautiful. Love hearing your life stories. I remember those days and how hard it was to let go. What a lucky youn man to have such a great mom and dad.

  156. Beautiful card, fun die sets and love the sentiment too! Good luck to your hockey playing son, and Mama bear, I DO know how hard it is to leave those kiddos and drive away–have done it a couple of times. But you can always go and visit!

  157. I always love your cards & videos – so much fun and inspirational too! Thanks so much for all you share – this card is just lovely!

  158. I love this new star die!!! What a beautiful card. Love seeing the process and listening to your vacation story along with it. How fun!!! The sentiments were great!!! Thanks so much for sharing.

  159. Laura,loved the card and the story about your son.it is ok to let go.thank you for the great lesson.

  160. This is such a lovely card! Love the ink blending and thanks for the little tip. Love the sentiment too!

  161. Great card. My son’s at his first internship this summer. He’s only 4 hours away. I feel your pain!

  162. Love this idea! Enjoy your vacation,and I know how you feel to leave a child behind. I use to have to send my son each summer to spend it with his father,starting at age 6.

  163. Super adore your blending skills. I can relate with your feelings with your son. I felt that way, too when my 14y/o son went out of town for a band competition and I couldn’t come to chaperone or follow their group. Even if I am distracted by my work, I always thought of him and call him to check on him.

  164. Love your card! It’s hard to leave your kids. I remember leaving my daughter at college but it was worse when my son left for Afghanistan. You will make it.

  165. Great card, great blending and good to hear about your family’s travels and your son’s big adventure!

  166. Oh, I understand how difficult it is to let our children go. . . I’ve been there. He will be having so much fun and he’ll be fine. Just get your mind onto something else when you start to worry.
    Love this card, btw!!!

  167. Laura, what a GREAT job on the card! I’m in love with the Stacked Stars die! Thanks so much for sharing with us again and for taking part in this exciting hop and giveaway.

  168. Love your card! I’m beginning to really like that stacked stars die; I wasn’t too sure about it at first. I know you’ll miss your son but he will have a great time being with family and playing hockey!!

  169. Love the stars on foam. Great dimension. My heart feels for you having to leave one of your babies.

  170. Thank you for sharing your wonderful card! The stacked stars is my fav but I agree with you the sentiment is so inspiring! Letting go is hard . . . I am still working on it!

  171. I love when you are making a card and you start talking about other things. You always make me smile and many times I burst out laughing at something you have said. Oh, yes, the card is beautiful.

  172. Great card. Love the sentiment and the way you die cut the stars on foam. Thank you for sharing your trip, making the video, sharing your ideas and being part of this giveaway.

  173. Love the dimension on this card and the magical feel of it all with the lovely soothing colours and this beautiful stars die cut!!! The sentiment is perfect for this awe-inspiring creation!!!

  174. I love this card, would make a nice encouraging message for a young person starting out on a new venture. Thanks!
    trishden948(at)yahoo(dot)com

  175. {{{HUGS}}} Laura I know it is going to be so hard for you to leave him behind but – WOW – wishing your son good luck and good times, it’s a wonderful opportunity for him.
    ABSOLUTELY FABULOUS card, I ADORE the stacked stars, they’re my favourite from this release!!! LOVE the DELIGHTFUL sentiment, LOVE the design with your BEAUTIFUL blended background & dimension too!!!
    THANK YOU for sharing your CREATIVE INSPIRATION and the peek into your world, it is an exciting time for you all to share together, smelly car and all 🙂

  176. love the blending tips! I watched the video twice because I like your commentary so much. lol

  177. We visited Mount Rushmore as well a few years back. Simply amazing isn’t it? Your card is a stunner as usual. Your my queen of distress ink blending that’s for sure. Remember he’s only as far away as a phone call away. Have a great summer.

  178. Beautiful card Laura. And great opportunity for your son. The Canadian Hockey blood runs strong. With technology today though not the same keeping visual contact is so much easier.

  179. Really lovely card, love the sentiment! It is so hard to let go of the kids, isn’t it. I’m still having trouble with it and mine are 26 and 24, they are both moved out, but I think about them and worry all the time. They are good, responsible young adults, so I know they’ll be fine, but they never leave me, ever. Your son is going to love this time. Thanks for the video and sharing your life with us.

  180. Laura,
    I love the sentiment on your card. You always blow me away with your soft beautiful blending. Thanks for sharing so much of yourself with us.

  181. This card is really beautiful. I love the subtle blue tones with the amazing star die. Thanks so much for sharing.

  182. I always love your cards & videos, and this one is no different! L-O-V-E love this! 😀 Great job on the ink blending, and thanks for the tips. The Copic white looks just like a sprinkling of stars, too. Hope your son has a wonderful time, and that you get through this OK! ~ Andrea

  183. Laura, your ink blending never gets old and neither do your videos. Love the stacked stars and such a cool sentiment! How exciting for your son. When he becomes a famous hockey player, can I brag that I know you? Safe travels! (We’re off to Yellowstone this week.)

  184. What a great card as always, love your cards! And I love love love listening to you! You always make me smile or laugh!!! Thanks so much!!!

  185. Love your card, as always. Thanks for sharing about your trip. It sounds like you are having a good time!

  186. Hi Laura ~ Love your card and appreciate the laughs. I appreciate your videos which are always so inspiring and I look forward to seeing them. I live in NY and my oldest daughter lives in MA (she’s 31) and I still cry every time she leaves. My son moved to NC this spring with his fiance and I still can’t talk about it. Thankfully my “baby” (who just turned 26 this week) lives a little over an hour away. I think the problem lies with LIKING our kids and not just loving them because they are our kids. Does that make sense? Stay positive and think of all the extra crafty time you’ll get!! ~HUGS~ Maggie

  187. Laura,
    You are soooo funny!. Love your card. Yes I love that song “let it go, let it go. It is hard to let your kids go, but he will be having fun and doing what he likes. Thanks for sharing this wonderful card on the road.

  188. The soft sky blending makes the stars pop. I don’t know if I can make it look as effortless as you did but I’ll sure try

  189. I love this card. The background just makes it for me. Your videos are just like talking to a friend. Thank you for that.

  190. Gorgeous card and love your ink blending (as always)! I remember long road trips as a kid with my brothers in the camper in back of our blue & white Chevy truck…some fun memories there! I’m sure your son is thrilled about this opportunity and it is true love to let your kiddos go pursue their dreams. It’s not forever, Mama Bear! They always return home! ❤️

  191. Great card. Great for graduations or starting a new job. Thanks for your videos! I always learn something new!

  192. Oh my goodness!! Awesome card! But what’s almost better is that I’m a big fan of yours and I live in Calgary!! My job life was insane lately, so I haven’t had a chance to stop by your blog and just got to it now. So I need to leave a comment 🙂 Your son will have a BLAST up here!! Did you make it to Stampede? I bet your son did 😉 Anyway, great card and don’t worry. Maybe if you’re up here and have some time (which I’m sure is limited) we can meet for coffee.. Be well, Sabine

Leave a Reply

