Operation Write Home Red Friday Bloghop

OWH Red Friday Bloghop

Welcome to my stop on the Operation Write Home Red Friday Bloghop! If you’ve gotten here without starting at the beginning, you’ll want to click HERE and start from the top. We’re turning “Black Friday” into “Red Friday” by supporting our nation’s heroes!

Operation Write Home
 is a charity that sends blank handmade cards to service members deployed overseas. They’ve sent nearly 3 million cards! That’s a lot of letters and love heading home to those who are keeping the home fires burning.

November through February are the slowest months for OWH, and that’s something we as crafters can do something about! We all have a handful of cards in our stash — we don’t even need to take a break from our holiday preparations to just write Operation Write Home on the back and send them in, right? That’ll keep our heroes busy writing home during a long winter away from home.
Be sure to read the information on the Stars and Stamps post so you send in what’s needed (no Christmas cards, no glitter, A2, etc) – and make a hero’s day by giving them a beautiful creation to write home on!

SSS-Mosaic Heart stencilSince we’re spreadin’ the love today, I thought I’d make a card using the Mosaic Heart stencil with a sentiment from the Sending Happy Thoughts set both by Simon Says Stamp. I mean, nothing spreads the love, in my humble opinion, more than a rainbow ombre heart.
SSS-Mosaic Heart stencilWhat’s a bloghop without prizes? See the Stars and Stamps post for the full list of goodies by the bloghop sponsors – and go link up YOUR love card there, too! There are prizes for both those who comment on the blogs as well as folks who share their own creation!
Your next stop on the hop is one of my all time favorite card makers, ever….Julie Ebersole.
Thanks so much for stopping by!

164 thoughts on “Operation Write Home Red Friday Bloghop

  1. OWH is a wonderful organization. I haven’t sent cards in a while, so thanks for the inspiration with your rainbow ombre heart card. You’re the best! Happy Day after Thanksgiving- I wish you yummy left overs!

  2. The heart stencil is so pretty with your shading technique and I love that some of the greeting is stamped on the base and some is on a tag! Thanks for sharing your wonderful ideas!

  3. What a treat, two of my absolute favorite things in the cardmaking world together, OWH & Laura B. ! Thanks for your support of OWH and for all the inspiration you share.

  4. This is the first I have seen the heart mosaic. So pretty. So unusual. So want to have one! Thanks for being a part of OWH.

  5. I’ve never seen that stencil but I love how you used it with inks and the sentiment. Always great cards that never disappoint.

  6. Great card. I love Write Home. Each time I make a card for this group, I think of the men and women of our military who look at my card and say “This will work’! Very rewarding!

  7. Such an incredibly heart-warming, heart-touching way to add special meaning to this day! Your card: pure delight! I’m ordering that mosaic stencil now…
    ~c

  8. Absolutely love the ombre effect here on that cute heart!! Thanks so much for sharing this means so much to our men and women overseas!

  9. I just LOVE a rainbow ombre heart and the colors you chose are just beautiful, Laura! So sweet of you to be part of the hop for OWH!

  10. What a great way to use this stencil. I have it but haven’t used it yet so thanks for the inspiration! Going to get my box together to send this week.

  11. Wow Laura! This card is just gorgeous! I love the ombre effect and how pretty and shimmery the heart is against the white cardstock!

  12. Your opinion is never humble (by which I mean we all hold you in HUGE respect) and yes, an ombre rainbow is always AWESOME! wonderful card!

  13. A fresh and cool feeling is what your cards convey to me. I have this mosaic stencil and love it! Thank you for sharing.

  14. Such a sweet CAS card! Love the ombre, really love the corner placement of the stencil, artsy, great contrast against the crisp white! Thanks for sharing your talents for our heroes!

  15. My son is currently serving in the Air Force overseas and loves getting cards in the mail! it’s a little piece of home and love from across the ocean 🙂 It sure does ease the separation from being away from family and friends:) This momma sure does appreciate all the card makers out there!

  16. SUPER CUTE card Laura 🙂
    LOVE your ombre heart, the mosaic and colors are DELIGHTFUL!!!
    … I didn’t realise that I could use my SSS inks for blending like this => NEED to try it NOW!!!

Leave a comment